chessbase india logo

Roto Lawyer's Cup is back

by Shahid Ahmed - 22/10/2019

After almost a three-year-long hiatus, Roto Lawyer's Cup is back with its fourth edition and this time it is called SDM Roto Lawyer's Cup. Total ₹400000 prize fund is up for grabs. GM Vishnu Prasanna and Karnataka's latest GM Girish A Koushik along with three IMs and two WIMs have confirmed their participation. Defending champion Girish will be back to defend his title which he won in the last edition in 2016. With less than two days left for the tournament, you can still register for this strong open rating tournament in Belthangady, Karnataka. Photo: Niklesh Jain

SDM Roto Lawyer's Cup Preview

By Vidya Abhaya

Chess is yet to take roots in rural areas. In order to popularise this game among rural population, especially among the youth and children, FIDE Rated Roto Lawyers Cup Chess tournament was organised in Belthangady to mark the Golden Jubilee celebrations of the Bar Association Belthangady in 2015. Rotary Club Belthangady was approached by the organisers to join hands. It was a grand success, with more than 250 participants converging at Belthangady from various nooks and corners of the country. Glamour of the tournament was the presence of GM Praveen Thipsay taking part and the local youth clinching the opportunity to interact with him and all other top players. Exceptionally arranged hospitality for the players during the entire length of the tournament was a talking point for players and their care takers who requested to continue this tournament every year with promise to turn up in more numbers.

GM Pravin Thipsay at Roto Lawyer's Cup 2014 | Photo: Vidya Abhaya

Arjuna Awardee IM D V Prasad in action in the 2016 edition | Photo: Vidya Abhaya

Yes, Belthangady is a well connected with tourist places like picturesque Coorg, Agumbe, and various temples of worship all around with Shri Kshethra Dharmasthala nearby. The popularity of the game gathered momentum with blessings of Dr. Veerendra Heggade, Dharmadhikari of Shri Kshethra, Dharmsthala patronising the organising of the game. His initiative of distributing about 1000 chess playing sets among schools in the Taluk helped to increase the popularity of the game among the children and parents. Accordingly, Rotary Club Belthangady and Bar Association, Belthangady  jointly organised the Roto Lawyers Cup 2016, FIDE rated tournament. GMs and IMs reciprocated by participating in good numbers with participation touching 300 mark in 2016. Budding local player Isha Sharma was the toast of the tournament inspiring the local youth and children taking part in good numbers. Rotary Club played very important role in successfully organising the tournament. With the popularity of Roto Lawyers Cup increasing, we had the courage to organise the tournament in 2016 also successfully.

Karnataka's first WIM Isha Sharma | Photo: Vidya Abhaya

Recognising the encouragement and support by Shri Kshethra Dharmasthala for popularising the game and successful conduct of the tournament, it was decided to rename the tournament as SDM Roto Lawyers Cup for conducting the tournament in 2019. We are confident to have good number of the participants which is being held at SDM Kalabhavan Belthangady from 24th to 28th October 2019.

Total Prize Fund ₹400000 is up for grabs | Photo: Tournament Circular

For more details about the tournament, visit here.


We are sure that besides popularising the chess in this area, it may provide a helping hand to take the younger world off from the time they spend in front of tv or mobile. Time will let us know how this game could be an inspiration to give course correction to better attitude and human values among all sections of the society.

The podium finishers of 2016 edition (L to R) - Shabdhik Verma 3rd, GM Girish A Koushik 1st and IM Nitin S 2nd | Photo: Vidya Abhaya

GM Vishnu Prasanna is the top seed of the 2019 edition | Photo: Niklesh Jain

Karnataka's latest GM Girish Koushik will be back to defend his title after winning it in 2016

Starting rank

1GMVishnu Prasanna. V4738520135030692IND2505Tn
2GMGirish A. Koushik4566720135038448IND2501Kar
4IMChakravarthi Reddy M46111201925009532IND2355Tel
5IMSai Agni Jeevitesh J5634020175070147IND2312Tel
6Senthil Maran K40776201325035681IND2274Tn
7Sekar B4678920135043743IND2198Tn
8Arvind Shastry35008778IND2192Kar
9WCMSharma Isha41142201335006665IND2182wF18-BelDk
10WIMMichelle Catherina P4043520135005736IND2123wF18-Tn
11FMRamakrishna J.5538320145008174IND2090Ap
12IMHegde Ravi Gopal7013520155000254IND2056S55Kar
13Anilkumar O.T.4077520135017530IND2006S55Ker
14Parthasarathy R4106920135073227IND1984Kar
15Varma Shabdhik4117320135067430IND1947BelDk
16Swaraj Palit4806520135014590IND1939Jha
17Santoshkashyap Hg4097020135045410IND1931Kar
18Likhit Chilukuri54622201435005456IND1926Kar
19Vigneshwaran S4402520135035252IND1917Tn
20Raghavendra V.4101820155014557IND1865Kar

Complete starting list