chessbase india logo

IM Saravana Krishnan and Md Reyan win the Marvel Chess Academy, Hyderabad twin tournaments

by R Anantharam - 23/11/2021

The players’ hunger for the Over The Board tournament after a gap of 20 months was evident from the massive turn-out for the 3rd Hyderabad Open and 4th Hyderabad Below 1600 FIDE Rated Chess Tournaments, organised by Marvel Chess Academy from 6th to 10th and from 11th to 13th November 2021 respectively. Fifth seeded international master Saravana Krishnan P of Karur Vysya Bank Tamil Nadu won the open tournament, scoring 8.5 points, conceding only one draw to IM Himal Gusain of Chandigarh. Check out a beautifully annotated game shared by the winner, IM P Saravana Krishnan. Photo: R Anantharam

Saravana and Reyan become unbeaten champions 8.5/9

Both IM Saravana Krishnan and Md Reyan scored an identical 8.5/9 each to win in Open and Below 1600 category respectively. While Saravana made a double hat-trick before scoring a draw, Ten-year-old Reyan scored eight consecutive victories before drawing his final round game as it was enough for him to secure the first position.

IM Saravana Krishnan P of Karur Vysya Bank won the 3rd Hyderabad Open tournament

Saravana scored six consecutive victories before making his only draw of the event

Ten-year-old Md Reyan of Bihar created history by winning with the Below 1600 tournament, with consummate ease.

2011 born Md Reyan receives the champion’s trophy from Mr. KS Prasad, President Telangana SCA, Sateesh Kumar, Founder of the venue, Joy International School and IA Rathinam Anantharam

Three players IM Ratnakaran of Southern Railways, Dhananjay of Chhattisgarh and ICF GM RR Laxman tied for the second to fourth place and finished in that order, based on their tiebreak scores.

Ratnakaran of Southern Railways was the runner up in the Open tournament

Dhananjay of Chattisgarh had a good tournament winning the third position. Top three rankers of the Open tournament. KS Prasad, President of Telangana SCA is at the left of Saravana and Ratnakaran is flanked by Mr. Sateesh Kumar, Chairman of the Joy International School

Two consecutive draws in the fifth and sixth round against very low-rated players had a telling effect on the Buchholz score of RR Laxman, pushing him to fourth place.

Lower tiebreak score pushed GM Laxman RR to fourth place

Laxman was held to a draw by Tamil Nadu youngster Arnav Maheshwari, which was a setback for him in the fifth round. A similar situation to the other Railways player Ratnakaran, against Arpan Das of West Bengal, in the sixth round. It resulted in Saravana Krishnan, Himal Gusain and Kaustuv Kundu (not the IM) of West Bengal to score six wins in six rounds. As Saravana and Himal drew against each other, Kaustuv emerged the sole leader by beating CM Kushagra Mohan of Telangana. Saravana took Kaustuv on stride in the eighth round, but Himal lost unexpectedly to Utsab Chatterjee of WB, paving way to Saravana’s success.

IM Saravana Krishnan Vs IM Himal Gusain was a draw

An interesting game of Saravana, annotated by himself

The runner-up K Ratnakaran accepted the draw against Arnav Maheshwari of TN in a slightly better position.

A total of 550 players including a GM and three IMs participated from various states across the country, between 6th to 10th November 2021.

Final Standings

Rk.SNoNameTypsexFEDRtgClub/CityPts. TB1  TB2  TB3  TB4  TB5 Rpw-we
15IMSaravana Krishnan P.IND2312K V B8,552,557,054,000,0822281,40
24IMRatnakaran K.IND2314S Railways8,053,057,549,750,0720420,22
39Dhananjay SIND2152CT8,052,056,049,000,0820431,09
41GMLaxman R.R.IND2430ICF8,050,555,046,000,072021-0,20
511Arpan DasIND2131WB7,552,557,545,000,0719631,21
63CMKushagra MohanIND2351TG7,550,554,544,250,071899-0,42
77Utsab ChatterjeeIND2239WES7,549,553,543,250,0719540,39
823AFMPawar HarshitU15IND1909DEL7,547,551,542,000,0718170,29
913Sri Sai Baswanth PIND2057AP7,547,051,042,500,061793-0,02
1022Dhanush Ragav N SIND1916TN7,547,050,540,500,071724-0,53
112IMGusain HimalIND2414CH7,056,061,046,000,062022-0,68
1228Arnav MaheshwariU15IND1863TN7,054,558,542,000,0619341,42
136Kaustuv KunduIND2311WB7,052,556,540,000,071967-0,17
1410Srihari LIND2142PY7,051,055,041,750,061792-0,44
1580ACMIyer ArvindU13IND1558MAH7,050,554,537,250,0517552,29
168CMNiraj SaripalliIND2188GA7,050,054,039,500,061722-0,93
1765Chidvilash Sai SurapaneniU13IND1631TG7,049,552,536,500,0717981,89
1875Hriday PanchalU15IND1571DEL7,048,551,536,000,0716711,74
1926Mahendra Teja MekalaU15IND1892AP7,048,051,037,000,061670-0,42
2060Devansh SinghIND1644MP7,047,551,038,250,0617061,07

Complete standings

In the Below 1600 category, the ten-year-old boy Md Reyan of Bihar scored eight consecutive wins and settled for a draw in the final round to create an astonishing record. His stint with the trainer from Ukraine has paid rich dividends. The 2011 born boy has gained 170 rating points from this tournament.

Ten-year-old Md Reyan in full concentration

Hriday Panchal kept pace with Reyan until the sixth round and had to suffer defeat against the champion in the seventh round, but managed to climb up to score eight points.

Hriday Panchal of Delhi is the runner-up. From left Rajashekar Bagavatula the organiser, IA Rathinam Anantharam, Hriday Panchal, Sateesh Kumar and KS Prasad

Vishwanath Kannam of Telangana and S Haridev of Tamil Nadu also scored eight points but the former secured the third spot.

Vishwanath Kannam of Telangana won the third place

The venue was Joy International School, Miyapur, Hyderabad, the management of which helped the organisers Rajashekar Bhagavatula and Ms. Kranti Lakshmi in a big way.

Recently titled WCM Kheerthi Ganta of Marvel Chess Academy with Sateesh Kumar, Rajashekar Bhagavatula and the Tournament Director Kranti Lakshmi

A total of 700 players took part from various states - Andhra Pradesh, Assam, Bihar, Chattisgarh, Delhi, Goa, Gujarat, Haryanan, Odisha, Karnataka, Kerala, Madhya Pradesh, Maharashtra, Puducherry, Punjab, Rajasthan, Tamil Nadu, Telangana, Uttar Pradesh and West Bengal, along with Canada and Germany from 11th to 13th November 2021.

Final Standings

Rk.SNoNameTypsexFEDRtgClub/CityPts. TB1  TB2  TB3  TB4  TB5 Rpnwwew-we
1104Reyan Md.U11IND1333BIH8,553,556,553,250,08181076,52,254,25
24Hriday PanchalU15IND1571DEL8,054,058,050,000,081651987,220,78
315Vishwanath KannamIND1540TG8,052,557,048,500,081613876,390,61
476Haridev SU11IND1381TN8,049,052,044,500,081578875,131,87
5136Adharsh KU11IND12777,552,056,044,500,07166986,52,324,18
611ACMIyer ArvindU13IND15587,551,555,545,250,06156786,56,190,31
752Chandra Prakash SankarIND1448TN7,551,053,542,750,07146475,55,200,30
880Dhiraj PatilIND13717,550,054,542,750,07159586,53,952,55
98Shirodkar AayushIND1563GOA7,549,051,538,250,07156986,56,260,24
1020Narayan IyengarIND1515KAR7,547,550,539,750,07154286,56,110,39
1112Gopinath PIND15467,546,049,540,750,07153986,56,370,13
1244Vamsi Krishna RIND14697,546,048,536,250,06146686,56,450,05
13121Surendiraa A SathishIND1298TN7,544,548,542,500,071449552,352,65
1469Dhruva ThotaU13IND14037,543,047,540,000,07139586,56,390,11
15196Sidharth SreekumarU11IND1193KL7,050,053,540,750,061572751,303,70
16109Patil DivyaF13wIND1325MH7,049,053,037,000,071460531,801,20
17108Gowtham BU15IND13267,049,052,535,750,06143975,53,851,65
19329Madhvendra Pratap SharmaU09IND1043MP7,048,552,038,000,071466751,223,78
2010Samyak DharewaU13IND1561WB7,048,052,541,250,05140875,55,98-0,48

Complete standings

About the Author

Prof. Rathinam Anantharam is an A-grade international arbiter. Member of FIDE Arbiters’ Commission, Chairman of Titles Commission in All India Chess Federation, Vice President of Tamil Nadu State Chess Association, Chief Arbiter for six world championships, many Asian, International and National Championships.


The article was edited by Shahid Ahmed