chessbase india logo

C R Ritvik triumphs at 4th Marvel Below 1800 Rating Tournament 2024

by Shahid Ahmed - 25/05/2024

C R Ritvik, Arnav Pradhan and Velugoti Yathin Reddy scored 8/9 each at 4th Marvel Below 1800 Rating Tournament 2024. Ritvik won the tournament due to better tie-breaks, Arnav and Velugoti were placed second and third respectively. Both Ritvik and Arnav remained undefeated. They drew their final round game against each other. The total prize fund of the tournament was ₹600000. The top three prizes were ₹75000, ₹50000 and ₹40000 along with a trophy each. The three-day rating tournament was organized by B Rajashekar at Johnson Grammar School in Hyderabad, Telangana from 6th to 8th May 2024. This is Ritvik's first rating tournament triumph of the year. Photos: Marvel Chess Academy

Top three score 8/9

Arnav Pradhan and C R Ritvik were the coleaders 7.5/8 each heading into the final round. They drew their game. Ritvik won the tournament and Arnav finished second. Velugoti Yathin Reddy defeated Mahendar B to finish third.

Champion - C R Ritvik 8/9

Second Runner-up - Velugoti Yathin Reddy 8/9

Top 3 (L to R): 3rd Velugoti Yathin Reddy 8/9, 1st C R Ritvik 8/9 and 2nd Arnav Pradhan 8/9

C R Ritvik scored an unbeaten 8/9 and gained 42.8 Elo rating points

Inaugural first move

Players in action

The tournament hall at Johnson Grammar School in Hyderabad, Telangana

A total of 507 players took part from all over the country, one from Kenya and two from USA in this three-day nine round Below 1800 Rating tournament. It was organized by B Rajashekar at Johnson Grammar School in Hyderabad, Telangana from 6th to 8th May 2024. The time control of the event was 30 minutes + 30 seconds increment per move.

Final standings

Rk.SNoNameTypsexFEDRtgClub/CityPts. TB1  TB2  TB3  TB4  TB5 
114C, R RitvikIND1719TG8545951,7507
224Arnav, PradhanU15IND1681TG852,553,545,7507
315Velugoti, Yathin ReddyU13IND1708AP8495246,5008
45Majhi, FakirIND1770OR7,5556048,0007
520AGMKaryasheel, PIND1698TG7,550,555,545,7506
627Kesavan, GIND1665TN7,5505442,5007
710Rama, Anjaneyulu R V S SS55IND1729TG7,547,55242,7507
851Ranade, MayankIND1615MH7,546,548,537,7507
94Druvesh, DondapatiU15IND1776AP7,54650,541,7507
101Shanmukha, PulliIND1796TG752,557,543,5006
1144AFMHarshvardhnachari, UttaradiU15IND1619AP752,556,541,5006
1241Mahendar, BIND1621TG7525641,5007
1331Viswajith, Sai BU15IND1663TG750,55541,0005
142Suresh, DuvvalaIND1785TG75054,540,0006
1534Sathyachith, E MU13IND1645KL749,55440,7506
1639Tushar, BanerjeeIND1634WB749,553,538,5007
1718AIMRohan, Kumar GourabathuniU13IND1705TG74951,538,0005
1821Nagasri, SaikanthIND1689AP748,55339,5006
1942Sree, Rama Anjani Kumar KU13IND1621TG74850,536,2506
209Srikara, DarbhaIND1731KA747,55238,7506
2128Ravi, PalsuleIND1665MP7475037,0007
2216Khillo, PurnaIND1706OR746,55037,0006
2381Mihir, Chandra LokeIND1569TG74650,537,7506
2476AIMMakam, RamlikithU13IND1578AP7454836,7506
2540Chakravarthi, S.V.C.S55IND1632TG74448,536,5007


Related news:
Bharat Kumar Reddy Poluri wins 3rd Marvel Rating Open 2024

@ 20/05/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Srikanth Myakala dominates 1st Karimnagar Below 1600 Rating Tournament 2024 with a perfect 9/9

@ 05/02/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Ramkumar prevails at 2nd Marvel Below 1600 Rating Tournament 2023

@ 17/01/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Bharat Kumar Reddy Poluri victorious at 1st Marvel Rating Open 2023

@ 10/01/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Viresh Sharnarthi and Shreya G Hipparagi are 36th National Under-13 Open and Girls 2023 Champions

@ 19/12/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Shubham Kumar wins SLAN 1st Below 1600 Rating Tournament 2023

@ 17/09/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Kandi Santosh Sai Karthik dominates 1st Telangana Gurukulams Below 1600 Rating Tournament 2023

@ 28/06/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
10-year-old Samuel Stephen Noble dominates 1st V4 Chess Below 1600 Rating Tournament 2023

@ 16/02/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Kushagra Mohan wins 1st Bishan Singh Memorial Rating Open 2023

@ 16/01/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Interview with India's 74th GM Rahul Srivatshav

@ 11/06/2022 by Himank Ghosh (en)
15-year-old Kheerthi Ganta becomes the first girl to win Telangana State Rapid and Blitz 2022

@ 25/04/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
IM Saravana Krishnan and Md Reyan win the Marvel Chess Academy, Hyderabad twin tournaments

@ 23/11/2021 by R Anantharam (en)
Arjun Erigaisi clinches Masthanaiah Rapid Rating Open 2021

@ 01/05/2021 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
IM Rahul Srivasthav clinches Telangana State Senior convincingly 8.0/8

@ 13/04/2021 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Laxman wins Pearl City All India Open and a brand new Maruti Alto 800

@ 13/09/2019 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Balancing chess and education - Sai Agni is Telangana's sixth IM

@ 12/03/2019 by Nongsha Angom (en)
Saravana Krishnan wins Tetrasoft Open 2018

@ 24/10/2018 by Praful Zaveri (en)

Contact Us