chessbase india logo

IM Rahul Srivasthav clinches Telangana State Senior convincingly 8.0/8

by Shahid Ahmed - 13/04/2021

Top seed IM Rahul Srivasthav P scored 8.0/8 to win Telangana State Senior FIDE Rated Open. He finished a full point ahead of the competition. Second seeded Bharat Kumar Reddy Potluri scored 7.0/8 to finish second. Seven players finished at 6.5/9, Aditya Varun Gampa secured the third position as he had the best tie-break. A total of 216 players took part from various districts across Telangana in this four-day eight round Swiss league event. Telangana State Chess Association provided financial aid worth ₹20000 each to former National Rapid champion G V Srinivas Rao and M Y Raju. Photo: FA Chandra Mouli

Rahul finishes a full point ahead

Western Asian Youth & Junior Blitz U20 Gold medalist and top seed of the tournament - IM Rahul Srivasthav P won the Telangana State Senior FIDE Rated Open for the first time on 3rd April 2021. He won all his games and made a 100% score of 8.0/8. He finished a full point ahead of the runner-up Bharat Kumar Reddy Potluri 7.0/8. Seven players scored 6.5/8, out of them 14-year-old Aditya Varun Gampa was placed third according to the tie-breaks

Champion IM Rahul Srivasthav P 8.0/8 | Photo: FA Chandra Mouli

Rahul completely dominated the competition with a 100% score 8.0/8

Runner-up Bharath Kumar Reddy Potluri 7.0/8 | Photo: FA Chandra Mouli

Second Runner-up Aditya Varun Gampa 6.5/8 | Photo: FA Chandra Mouli

4th Rajashekar B 6.5/8 | Photo: FA Chandra Mouli

Replay few games

Chief Guest of the prize distribution ceremony was former cricketer Mr. Abdul Azeem (He was the first player from the South Zone and the seventh Indian to score a triple century in Ranji Trophy). Along with him, Mr. K V V Sharma, President, Andhra Pradesh State Chess Association. Mr. K S Prasad, President, Telangana State Chess Association, Mr. A Jayachandra, General Secretary, Telangana State Chess Association and Mr. Ch Ravindra Patel, Treasurer, Telangana State Chess Association were present. Telangana State Chess Association provided financial aid worth ₹20000 each to former National Rapid Champion G V Srinivas Rao and M Y Raju.

Photo Gallery

Top 4 (L to R): Bharat Kumar Reddy Potluri, Aditya Varun Gampa, IM Rahul Srivasthav P and Rajashekar B | Photo: FA Chandra Mouli

Top boards in action | Photo: FA Chandra Mouli

Women at the top boards | Photo: FA Chandra Mouli

Rajashekar and Rahul fighting side by side before facing each other in the final round | Photo: FA Chandra Mouli

Raghav Srivathsav V en route his victory in the final round against Shaati Majumder | Photo: FA Chandra Mouli

Former National Rapid Champion G V Srinivas Rao receives financial aid of ₹20000 from Telangana State Chess Association | Photo: FA Chandra Mouli

M Y Raju receives financial aid of ₹20000 from Telangana State Chess Association | Photo: FA Chandra Mouli

U7 Boys 3rd - Aadhyan Kukudala 4.0/8

U9 Boys 3rd - T Hanshit 4.0/8

A total of 216 players participated from various districts across Telangana in this four-day eight-round Swiss league event. The tournament was organized by Telangana State Chess Association from 31st March to 3rd April 2021.


A special thanks to Chief Arbiter of the tournament FA Chandra Mouli for sharing wonderful photos, info and games from the event.

Final Standings

Rk.SNoNameTypsexFEDRtgPts. TB1  TB2  TB3  TB4  TB5 
11IMRahul Srivatshav PIND24578,041,546,046,000,08
22Bharat Kumar Reddy PoluriIND22727,039,042,036,500,07
34Aditya Varun GampaU15IND19376,543,546,535,750,06
47Rajashekar BIND17346,542,046,035,750,06
55Shanmukha PulliIND17766,541,544,533,500,06
63Raghav Srivathsav VIND20996,539,042,033,250,06
711Sarath Chandra KIND16856,538,040,532,000,06
810Krishna Karthik NIND17136,536,539,530,250,06
918Chidvilash Sai SurapaneniU13IND16246,534,037,529,250,06
1013Sai Mahati AF15wIND16596,040,043,028,000,06
1112Khire IshanU15IND16836,039,042,030,750,05
129Kheerthi GantaF15wIND17306,038,041,025,500,05
136Sreehith Reddy RU15IND17446,037,041,026,000,06
1422Sushanth KamabathulaU13IND14766,036,540,528,250,05
1527Surya AlakantiIND13796,036,539,026,500,06
1670AFMPavan Karthikeya Varma GunturiU09IND06,034,035,524,500,06
1737Ravi MadduruIND12086,033,536,021,000,06
1850Nihal ParvathaneniU11IND11376,032,535,525,250,05
1966Bhavishya AnubotulaF15wIND10266,031,032,519,500,06
2041Sri Charan SandipaguU13IND11726,027,529,521,000,06


Related news:
Bharat Kumar Reddy Poluri wins 3rd Marvel Rating Open 2024

@ 20/05/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Srikanth Myakala dominates 1st Karimnagar Below 1600 Rating Tournament 2024 with a perfect 9/9

@ 05/02/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Ramkumar prevails at 2nd Marvel Below 1600 Rating Tournament 2023

@ 17/01/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Bharat Kumar Reddy Poluri victorious at 1st Marvel Rating Open 2023

@ 10/01/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Viresh Sharnarthi and Shreya G Hipparagi are 36th National Under-13 Open and Girls 2023 Champions

@ 19/12/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Shubham Kumar wins SLAN 1st Below 1600 Rating Tournament 2023

@ 17/09/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Kandi Santosh Sai Karthik dominates 1st Telangana Gurukulams Below 1600 Rating Tournament 2023

@ 28/06/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
10-year-old Samuel Stephen Noble dominates 1st V4 Chess Below 1600 Rating Tournament 2023

@ 16/02/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Kushagra Mohan wins 1st Bishan Singh Memorial Rating Open 2023

@ 16/01/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Interview with India's 74th GM Rahul Srivatshav

@ 11/06/2022 by Himank Ghosh (en)
15-year-old Kheerthi Ganta becomes the first girl to win Telangana State Rapid and Blitz 2022

@ 25/04/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
IM Saravana Krishnan and Md Reyan win the Marvel Chess Academy, Hyderabad twin tournaments

@ 23/11/2021 by R Anantharam (en)
Arjun Erigaisi clinches Masthanaiah Rapid Rating Open 2021

@ 01/05/2021 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Laxman wins Pearl City All India Open and a brand new Maruti Alto 800

@ 13/09/2019 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Balancing chess and education - Sai Agni is Telangana's sixth IM

@ 12/03/2019 by Nongsha Angom (en)
Saravana Krishnan wins Tetrasoft Open 2018

@ 24/10/2018 by Praful Zaveri (en)

Contact Us