chessbase india logo

Saidakbar Saydaliev clinches Benidorm Open 2022, Ajay Karthikeyan third

by Shahid Ahmed - 12/12/2022

IM Saidakbar Saydaliev and IM Bobir Sattarov, both Uzbeks scored 7.5/9 each. Saidakbar won the Benidorm Open A according to tie-breaks, Bobir was placed second. IM Ajay Karthikeyan S defeated IM Ernesto J Fernandez Guillen (CUB) in the final round to finish third 6.5/9, edging past two more players who finished with the same score. The top three prizes in Group A were €5000, €3000 and €1200 along with a trophy each. 14-year-old Derin Goktepe (USA) won the Group B (<2000) with a perfect score 9/9. 17-year-old Simhadri Sai Hrushikesh scored sole 7.5/9 to finish second. He is gaining a whopping 259.2 Elo rating points. Ilamparthi A R finished third in Blitz scoring 7/9. The tournament had a total prize fund of €42000. Photo: Ismael Nieto/Benidorm Chess Open

Simhadri second in Group B, Ilamparthi third in Blitz

Indians claimed a place on the podium in each of the three events. IM Ajay Karthikeyan third in Open A (>2000) 6.5/9, Simhadri Sai Hrushikesh second in Group B (<2000) 7.5/9 and Ilamparthi A R third in Super Blitz 7/9. The top three prizes in Group B were €3000, €1500 and €1200 along with a trophy each. For Blitz it was - €300, €150 and €120 each respectively.

Benidorm Open A winner - IM Saidakbar Saydaliev (UZB) 7.5/9 | Photo: Ismael Nieto/Benidorm Chess Open

Benidorm Open A runner-up - IM Bobir Sattarov (UZB) 7.5/9 | Photo: Ismael Nieto/Benidorm Chess Open

Benidorm Open A second runner-up - IM Ajay Karthikeyan S 6.5/9 | Photo: Ismael Nieto/Benidorm Chess Open

Benidorm Open B winner - Derin Goktepe (USA) 9/9 | Photo: Ismael Nieto/Benidorm Chess Open

Top 3 in B U2000 (L to R): 2nd Sai Hrushikesh Simhdri 7.5/9, 1st Derin Goktepe (USA) 9/9 and 3rd Guillaume Mallewaey (FRA) 7/9 | Photo: Ismael Nieto/Benidorm Chess Open

Benidorm Super Blitz winner - Johan Sebastian Christiansen (NOR) 8/9 | Photo: Ismael Nieto/Benidorm Chess Open

Benidorm Super Blitz second runner-up - Ilamparthi A R 7/9 | Photo: Ismael Nieto/Benidorm Chess Open

Ilamparthi A R suffered his sole loss in Blitz against the eventual champion - GM Johan-Sebastian-Christiansen | Photo: Ismael Nieto/Benidorm Chess Open

The fantastic well-lit and spacious tournament hall at Hotel Melia Benidorm | Photo: Ismael Nieto/Benidorm Chess Open

The beautiful trophies won by the prize winners | Photo: Ismael Nieto/Benidorm Chess Open

The Indian players who took part in this event | Photo: Ismael Nieto/Benidorm Chess Open

The tournament was organized by Tour Sport Promociones Deportivas and Caballo Blanco from 3rd to 11th December 2022 at Hotel Meliá Benidorm in Benidorm, Spain. A combined total of 177 players including two GMs, nine IMs, two WGMs and two WIMs in Group A and B, took part in the nine-round Swiss league event from 26 countries across the world. The Blitz events took place on 7th and 8th December 2022. The time control for the Classical event was 90 minutes + 30 seconds increment, for Blitz it was 3 minutes + 2 seconds increment.

Final Standings in A (>2000)

Complete standings

Final Standings in B (<2000)

Complete standings

Super Blitz

Complete standings


Official site

Related news:
Vincent Blom decimates Arona Chess Festival Blitz Open 2024, Savitha Shri third

@ 08/07/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Aravindh Chithambaram victorious at 50th La Roda Open 2024

@ 01/04/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Dama Negra Chess Club invites you to VIII Semana Santa Open 2024

@ 27/02/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Indian chess players face robbery in Sunway Sitges Apartments

@ 24/12/2023 by ChessBase India (en)
Gran Hotel Bali 2023: Mitrabha Guha clinches Blitz Nocturno, third in Open A, Sham R wins Aficionados B

@ 16/12/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Subhayan Kundu wins 5th Sant Adrià Open 2023, Franco Valencia Angela second

@ 10/09/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Omar Almeida Quintana wins 47th Badalona City Open 2023, Kaustuv Kundu second

@ 01/09/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Vignesh N R wins 11th Pontevedra Masters 2023, Sarayu Velpula scores IM, WGM and WIM-norm, finishes second

@ 24/08/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Himal Gusain clinches 9th Ciudad de Oviedo Open 2023

@ 13/08/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
ईरान की खिलाड़ी सारा खादेम को स्पेन ने दी नागरिकता

@ 28/07/2023 by Niklesh Jain (hi)
Abhijeet Gupta wins Orillas de Mar Open 2023

@ 14/07/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Alexandr Fier wins 49th La Roda Open 2023, Aravindh Chithambaram second and Pranav Venkatesh third

@ 12/04/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Titas Stremavicius wins 43rd San Sebastian Open 2023, Swayams Mishra second

@ 09/04/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
A special study by Ilamparthi on his 14th Birthday

@ 28/03/2023 by Himank Ghosh (en)
Ilamparthi tests Gukesh from Dusseldorf to Hamburg!

@ 01/03/2023 by Sagar Shah (en)
Ilamparthi wins WR Chess Juniors U-14 Boys and Blitz 2023

@ 27/02/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
13-year-old World U-14 Champion Ilamparthi A R becomes India's latest International Master

@ 22/02/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Kushal dominates 19th Gran Hotel Bali Aficionados B, Aditya Varun Gampa second in Group A and Blitz

@ 14/12/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Ilamparthi A R wins Mrs. Meera Memorial Rapid Rating Open 2022

@ 22/11/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Arvinder Preet Singh clinches XIX Calvia Amateur Open 2022

@ 18/10/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Gukesh and Harikrishna clinch Spanish Honor League for C A Solvay

@ 25/09/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
S L Narayanan wins 23rd Sants Open Barcelona 2022, Vaibhav Suri second

@ 14/09/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Ernesto J Fernandez Guillen victorious at 4th Sant Adria Open 2022, Anustoop Biswas second

@ 29/08/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Aronyak Ghosh wins 46th Ciutat de Badalona Open 2022, Anuj Shrivatri second

@ 15/08/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Vignesh N R dominates 47th Ciudad de Sevilla Open 2022

@ 13/08/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Platon Galperin wins 10th Pontevedra Masters, Leon Luke Mendonca third

@ 02/08/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Dylan Isidro triumphs at 22nd Sant Marti Open, Aronyak Ghosh third

@ 25/07/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Aravindh Chithambaram wins 41st Villa de Benasque Open 2022, Raunak Sadhwani third

@ 16/07/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
IM Srijit Paul wins Benidorm Open 2021 in a close finish

@ 13/12/2021 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Talent Test with Ilamparthi - 12 positions for the 12-year-old

@ 04/04/2021 by Sagar Shah (en)
Ilmars Starostits dominates 15th International Open GEMA63

@ 28/01/2020 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Vitaliy Bernadskiy wins XXXI Roquetas de Mar Open 2020

@ 19/01/2020 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Pablo Glavina is the winner of IX Open Ciudad de Alfaro

@ 13/11/2019 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Sebastian superb at XVI Calvia Amateur Open

@ 22/10/2019 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Harikrishnan and Anuj finish in top 10 at Sitges Open 2019

@ 09/08/2019 by Niklesh Jain (en)
10-year-old Ilamparthi wins 30th CUSAT Open Rating tournament and creates history

@ 29/05/2019 by R Anantharam (en)
Delhi GM 2019 Round 1: 9-year-old Ilamparthi stuns the first GM of his chess career

@ 10/01/2019 by Niklesh Jain (en)
Ilamparthi A R and Sneha Halder win 32nd National under-9

@ 26/09/2018 by Shahid Ahmed (en)

Contact Us