chessbase india logo

Aronyak Ghosh wins 46th Ciutat de Badalona Open 2022, Anuj Shrivatri second

by Shahid Ahmed - 15/08/2022

IM Aronyak and IM Anuj Shrivatri both scored 7/9 each at 46th Ciutat de Badalona Memorial M Castella Open 2022. Aronyak edged past Anuj due to better second tie-break score. They faced each other in the sixth round which ended in a draw. Four players scored 6.5/9 each. They are - IM Dylan Isidro Berdayes Ason (CUB), Saurabh Anand, Ritvik Krishnan and IM Filemon Cruz (PER). They secured third to sixth place according to tie-breaks. Top three prizes were €1000, €700 and €400 along with a trophy each. This is Aronyak's first tournament victory in Spain. He is sponsored by Sadhana app. Photo: CE Sant Josep

Aronyak's first triumph in Spain

Aronyak secured fourth place at 38th Andorra Open. He won the next event at Badalona. Currently, he is undefeated in 27 Classical games in Spain. His present unbeaten streak in Classical tournaments is 37 games.

Champion - IM Aronyak Ghosh 7/9 | Photo: CE Sant Josep

Runner-up - IM Anuj Shrivatri 7/9 | Photo: CE Sant Josep

Second Runner-up - IM Dylan Isidro Berdayes Ason (CUB) 6.5/9 | Photo: CE Sant Josep

Aronyak - Rein, Round 5

Position after 15...Bd6

Find out why 15...Bd6 is a big mistake by Black.

Aronyak scored an unbeaten 7/9

4th Saurabh Anand 6.5/7 | Photo: CE Sant Josep

5th Ritvik Krishnan 6.5/9 | Photo: CE Sant Josep

7th Vedant Pimpalkhare 6/9 | Photo: CE Sant Josep

Rutuja Bakshi was the top Indian female finisher at 11th place 5.5/9

A total of 51 players including 2 GMs, 8 IMs, a WGM and a WIM took part in the Group A from eight countries across the world. Category B (Below 1950) witneseed the participation of 106 players. The tournament was organized by Cor de marina Badalona Chess Club from 2nd to 10th August 2022 at Centre Civic La Salut Av Marques de Sant Mori Badalona, Spain. The time control was 90 minutes + 30 seconds increment from move no.1.

Replay all Open A games

Final standings in Open A

Rk.SNo NameTypsexGrFEDRtgRtgNClub/CityPts. TB1  TB2  TB3 
IMAronyak GhoshIND25120India70,523202479
IMAnuj ShrivatriIND24130India70,523082479
IMBerdayes Ason Dylan IsidroCUB24890Cuba6,5023302427
Saurabh AnandBIND22110India6,5023162340
Krishnan RitvikC-16IND19680India6,5022642271
IMCruz FilemonAPER23160Alcoi6,5022552368
Pimpalkhare VedantBIND21410India6022612301
WGMChernyak ViktoriaAwFID22390FIDE6022122288
Anustoop BiswasBIND21450India6021612233
GMGonzalez Perez ArianESP24292409Valencia6021422234
Bakshi RutujaCwIND20480India5,5023302222
Paredes Lagos Anthony JavierBPER21600Peru5,5022502261
IMVidarte Morales ArturoAPER22912381Mollet, Club D'escacs5,5021962233
IMTorres Rosas Luis CarlosAMEX23230Mexico5,5021912228
Sudarshan BhatCIND20250India5,5021772138


Related news:
Aravindh Chithambaram victorious at 50th La Roda Open 2024

@ 01/04/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Dama Negra Chess Club invites you to VIII Semana Santa Open 2024

@ 27/02/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Indian chess players face robbery in Sunway Sitges Apartments

@ 24/12/2023 by ChessBase India (en)
Gran Hotel Bali 2023: Mitrabha Guha clinches Blitz Nocturno, third in Open A, Sham R wins Aficionados B

@ 16/12/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Subhayan Kundu wins 5th Sant Adrià Open 2023, Franco Valencia Angela second

@ 10/09/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Omar Almeida Quintana wins 47th Badalona City Open 2023, Kaustuv Kundu second

@ 01/09/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Vignesh N R wins 11th Pontevedra Masters 2023, Sarayu Velpula scores IM, WGM and WIM-norm, finishes second

@ 24/08/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Himal Gusain clinches 9th Ciudad de Oviedo Open 2023

@ 13/08/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
ईरान की खिलाड़ी सारा खादेम को स्पेन ने दी नागरिकता

@ 28/07/2023 by Niklesh Jain (hi)
Abhijeet Gupta wins Orillas de Mar Open 2023

@ 14/07/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Alexandr Fier wins 49th La Roda Open 2023, Aravindh Chithambaram second and Pranav Venkatesh third

@ 12/04/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Titas Stremavicius wins 43rd San Sebastian Open 2023, Swayams Mishra second

@ 09/04/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Bristy Mukherjee wins Tata Steel Chess Festival 2022 Women Rapid

@ 21/12/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Aronyak Ghosh wins Tata Steel Chess Festival 2022 Blitz Open

@ 18/12/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Kushal dominates 19th Gran Hotel Bali Aficionados B, Aditya Varun Gampa second in Group A and Blitz

@ 14/12/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Saidakbar Saydaliev clinches Benidorm Open 2022, Ajay Karthikeyan third

@ 12/12/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Arvinder Preet Singh clinches XIX Calvia Amateur Open 2022

@ 18/10/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Gukesh and Harikrishna clinch Spanish Honor League for C A Solvay

@ 25/09/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
S L Narayanan wins 23rd Sants Open Barcelona 2022, Vaibhav Suri second

@ 14/09/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Ernesto J Fernandez Guillen victorious at 4th Sant Adria Open 2022, Anustoop Biswas second

@ 29/08/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Vignesh N R dominates 47th Ciudad de Sevilla Open 2022

@ 13/08/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Platon Galperin wins 10th Pontevedra Masters, Leon Luke Mendonca third

@ 02/08/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Dylan Isidro triumphs at 22nd Sant Marti Open, Aronyak Ghosh third

@ 25/07/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Aravindh Chithambaram wins 41st Villa de Benasque Open 2022, Raunak Sadhwani third

@ 16/07/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Aronyak Ghosh clinches 3rd SDDM Cup All Bengal Open Rapid 2021

@ 29/12/2021 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Ilmars Starostits dominates 15th International Open GEMA63

@ 28/01/2020 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Vitaliy Bernadskiy wins XXXI Roquetas de Mar Open 2020

@ 19/01/2020 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Pablo Glavina is the winner of IX Open Ciudad de Alfaro

@ 13/11/2019 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Sebastian superb at XVI Calvia Amateur Open

@ 22/10/2019 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Harikrishnan and Anuj finish in top 10 at Sitges Open 2019

@ 09/08/2019 by Niklesh Jain (en)

Contact Us