chessbase india logo

Arvinder Preet Singh clinches XIX Calvia Amateur Open 2022

by Shahid Ahmed - 18/10/2022

Arvinder Preet Singh scored an unbeaten 7.5/9 to win XIX Calvia Amateur Open 2022. He finished a half point ahead of the competition. The former World Amateur champion drew with the eventual runner-up Paul A Hutchinson (ENG) 7/9 and defeated the second runner-up, FM Juan David Becerra (COL) 7/9. This is his first tournament triumph since November 2018 when he won the National Amateur championship. The total prize fund of the tournament was €5720. The top three prizes were €1300, €800 and €600 along with a trophy each. Arvinder was the sole Indian participating in this event and he surely made his presence felt. Photo: Calvia Chess Festival

Arvinder's first tournament triumph since 2018

Five days before FM Arvinder Preet Singh starts his quest to regain the World Amateur title, Arvinder Preet Singh got into tournament shape in a perfect manner by winning the XIX Calvia Amateur Open 2022. He played solid games without giving any chances to his opponent and scored an unbeaten 7.5/9 to win the tournament. He also gained a valuable 73.2 Elo rating points. One thing is for sure, Arvinder is going to be a strong contender to win the World Amateur title again.

Champion - FM Arvinder Preet Singh 7.5/9 | Photo: Calvia Chess Festival

Top 3 (L to R front row) - 3rd FM Juan David Becerra (COL) 7/9, 1st FM Arvinder Preet Singh 7.5/9 and 2nd Paul A Hutchinson (ENG) 7/9 | Photo: Calvia Chess Festival

FM Arvinder Preet Singh scored an unbeaten 7.5/9, finished a half point ahead of the field and gained 73.2 Elo rating points

Arvinder - Juan David, Round 4

Position after 20...Bf6

FM Arvinder Preet Singh (2022) defeated the top seed of the tournament, FM Juan David Becerra (COL, 2296) by showing a very nice positional understanding. 20...Bf6 was played to put the king into safety at g7 square. There is no immediate win for White, yet he can gain decisive advantage. Try to think like Arvinder and figure out what he played here and the reasoning behind it.

FM Arvinder Preet Singh in action | Photo: Calvia Chess Festival

The tournament hall at Sala Palmanova in Calvia, Spain | Photo: Calvia Chess Festival

A total of 149 players rated below 2350 took part from 29 countries across the world. The tournament took place at Sala Palmanova in Calvia, Spain from 8th to 16th October 2022. It was organized by IO IM FT Sergio Estremera Panos. The time control of the tournament was 90 mins for 40 minutes + 15 minutes + 30 seconds each from move no.1.

Replay all games

Final standings

Rk.SNoNameFEDRtgPts. TB1  TB2  TB3 
142FMSingh Arvinder PreetIND20227,548,541,552
232Hutchinson Paul AENG209775042,554
31FMBecerra Juan DavidCOL229674941,553,5
417FMVoiteanu GabrielROU215474840,552,5
516Garcia Fernandez VictorESP2157744,53747,5
613De Boer BasNED216574336,547,5
731Hoffmann MaxGER20986,550,543,554,5
85Schnabel RalfGER22246,549,54253,5
911Aguado Doncel Pablo LuisESP21746,546,539,551
102FMMartinez Pla XavierESP22926,544,53848
1119FMViskelis DariusLTU21376,54437,548
1224Tscharotschkin MichaelGER21236,5433647
1320Asensio Ramos Enrique FernandoESP21376,540,53544,5
1421Thakoerdien JerrelNED2135645,53950
154Ventura Bolet AlexandreESP2229645,538,549,5

Complete standings


Official site

Tournament Details

Calvia Chess Festival fb

Related news:
Vincent Blom decimates Arona Chess Festival Blitz Open 2024, Savitha Shri third

@ 08/07/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Aravindh Chithambaram victorious at 50th La Roda Open 2024

@ 01/04/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Dama Negra Chess Club invites you to VIII Semana Santa Open 2024

@ 27/02/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Indian chess players face robbery in Sunway Sitges Apartments

@ 24/12/2023 by ChessBase India (en)
Gran Hotel Bali 2023: Mitrabha Guha clinches Blitz Nocturno, third in Open A, Sham R wins Aficionados B

@ 16/12/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Subhayan Kundu wins 5th Sant Adrià Open 2023, Franco Valencia Angela second

@ 10/09/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Omar Almeida Quintana wins 47th Badalona City Open 2023, Kaustuv Kundu second

@ 01/09/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Vignesh N R wins 11th Pontevedra Masters 2023, Sarayu Velpula scores IM, WGM and WIM-norm, finishes second

@ 24/08/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Himal Gusain clinches 9th Ciudad de Oviedo Open 2023

@ 13/08/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
ईरान की खिलाड़ी सारा खादेम को स्पेन ने दी नागरिकता

@ 28/07/2023 by Niklesh Jain (hi)
Abhijeet Gupta wins Orillas de Mar Open 2023

@ 14/07/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Alexandr Fier wins 49th La Roda Open 2023, Aravindh Chithambaram second and Pranav Venkatesh third

@ 12/04/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Titas Stremavicius wins 43rd San Sebastian Open 2023, Swayams Mishra second

@ 09/04/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Arvinder Preet Singh writes "Road to a World Chess Title"

@ 23/03/2023 by Himank Ghosh (en)
Kushal dominates 19th Gran Hotel Bali Aficionados B, Aditya Varun Gampa second in Group A and Blitz

@ 14/12/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Saidakbar Saydaliev clinches Benidorm Open 2022, Ajay Karthikeyan third

@ 12/12/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Gukesh and Harikrishna clinch Spanish Honor League for C A Solvay

@ 25/09/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
S L Narayanan wins 23rd Sants Open Barcelona 2022, Vaibhav Suri second

@ 14/09/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Ernesto J Fernandez Guillen victorious at 4th Sant Adria Open 2022, Anustoop Biswas second

@ 29/08/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Aronyak Ghosh wins 46th Ciutat de Badalona Open 2022, Anuj Shrivatri second

@ 15/08/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Vignesh N R dominates 47th Ciudad de Sevilla Open 2022

@ 13/08/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Platon Galperin wins 10th Pontevedra Masters, Leon Luke Mendonca third

@ 02/08/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Dylan Isidro triumphs at 22nd Sant Marti Open, Aronyak Ghosh third

@ 25/07/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Aravindh Chithambaram wins 41st Villa de Benasque Open 2022, Raunak Sadhwani third

@ 16/07/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Ilmars Starostits dominates 15th International Open GEMA63

@ 28/01/2020 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Vitaliy Bernadskiy wins XXXI Roquetas de Mar Open 2020

@ 19/01/2020 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Pablo Glavina is the winner of IX Open Ciudad de Alfaro

@ 13/11/2019 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Sebastian superb at XVI Calvia Amateur Open

@ 22/10/2019 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Harikrishnan and Anuj finish in top 10 at Sitges Open 2019

@ 09/08/2019 by Niklesh Jain (en)
Punjab's Arvinder Preet Singh becomes National Amateur Champion

@ 19/11/2018 by Niklesh Jain (en)
Singh is King!

@ 17/06/2018 by Sagar Shah (en)

Contact Us