chessbase india logo

Himal Gusain clinches 9th Ciudad de Oviedo Open 2023

by Shahid Ahmed - 13/08/2023

IM Himal Gusain scored an unbeaten 7.5/9 to win 9th Ciudad de Oviedo Open 2023. He finished a half point ahead of the field. Seven players - FM Stanislaw Zylka (POL), FM Jonas Prado Lobo (ESP), IM Vladyslav Larkin (UKR), IM Milosz Szpar (POL), FM Pablo Lopez Varela (ESP), GM Daniel H Campora (ARG) and GM Neelotpal Das scored 7/9 each. They were placed second to eighth according to tie-breaks. Neelotpal also remained undefeated. He was the only other Indian taking part in the event. He also made a top ten finish. The top three prizes were 1000€ + 1 year Chessable PRO Membership + 200€ Voucher for Chessable Courses, 800 € + 6 months Chessable PRO Membership and 600 € + 3 months Chessable PRO Membership. Photos: Official site

Himal's fourth tournament victory in 2023

Five players - FM Pablo Lopez Varela (ESP), FM Stanislaw Zylka (POL), IM Himal Gusain, Boris Cherkasov (KAZ) and IM Vladyslav Larkin (UKR) were at 6.5/8 each. Pablo drew against Zylka, Himal defeated Cherkasov and Larkin drew against IM Georgios Gkoumas (GER). Thus Himal became a clear champion 7.5/9. Zylka and Jonas were placed second and third respectively according to tie-breaks. This is Himal's fourth tournament triumph of the year, second consecutive in July after he won 14th Vaujany Open 2023 before this.

Champion - IM Himal Gusain 7.5/9

Runner-up - FM Stanislaw Zylka (POL) 7/9

Second Runner-up - FM Jonas Prado Lobo (ESP) 7/9

Himal - Pedro Antonio, Round 6

Position after 20.Qxe6!

IM Himal Gusain (2399) made an exciting queen sacrifice 20.Qxe6! White's position is so good that he can afford to sacrifice his queen as a minimum, he can always get it back which he did in the game. 20...fxe6 21.Nfg5+ Nf6 22.Nxe6+ Ke7 23.exf6+ gxf6 24.Nxd8 Bxe4 25.Nc6+ Bxc6 26.Rae1 White went on to win the game exploiting Black's weak king.

IM Himal Gusain in action

IM Himal Gusain scored an unbeaten 7.5/9 and finished a half point ahead of the field

8th GM Neelotpal Das 7/9

The tournament hall at Conference and Exhibitions Centre in Oviedo, Spain

Players in action

Trophies and certificates for the prize winners

A closer look at the champion's trophies

The venue with a beautiful architecture - Palacio de Exposiciones y Congresos Ciudad de Oviedo | Photo: Visit Oviedo

A total of 203 players including 3 GMs, 15 IMs and a WGM took part from 19 countries across the world in this seven-day nine round Rating Open tournament. It was organized by Club de Ajedrez de Oviedo, Asturias at Conference and Exhibitions Centre in Oviedo, Spain from 24th to 30th July 2023. The time control of the event was 90 minutes + 30 seconds increment from move no.1.

Replay all available games

Final standings

Pos. Ran. Tit.Name Fed.Pts. Buc1 BucT FIDE Nat. Origin 
19IMGusain, HimalIND7.549.053.023990
27FMZylka, StanislawPOL7.051.054.024170
316FMPrado Lobo, JonasESP7.050.054.023590Antonio Rico
43IMLarkin, VladyslavUKR7.049.554.524610
56IMSzpar, MiloszPOL7.049.053.524280
623FMLopez Varela, PabloESP7.048.052.523000Escola Luguesa
719GMCampora, Daniel H.ARG7.045.049.023330Oromana
814GMNeelotpal, DasIND7.043.547.523620
94IMGkoumas, GeorgiosGRE6.549.553.524540
1024FMVan Dael, SiemNED6.549.553.522900Escola Luguesa



Official site

Club de Ajedrez de Oviedo, Asturias: fb, linkedin, twitter, instagram and youtube

Related news:
Vihaan Dawda dominates 46th Barbera del Valles Open B 2024

@ 22/07/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Vincent Blom decimates Arona Chess Festival Blitz Open 2024, Savitha Shri third

@ 08/07/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Aravindh Chithambaram victorious at 50th La Roda Open 2024

@ 01/04/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Dama Negra Chess Club invites you to VIII Semana Santa Open 2024

@ 27/02/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Himal Gusain convincingly clinches 3rd Tours Open 2024

@ 30/01/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Himal Gusain victorious at 16th Marseille International Festival 2023

@ 18/01/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Indian chess players face robbery in Sunway Sitges Apartments

@ 24/12/2023 by ChessBase India (en)
Gran Hotel Bali 2023: Mitrabha Guha clinches Blitz Nocturno, third in Open A, Sham R wins Aficionados B

@ 16/12/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Himal Gusain dominates 1st Saint-Macaire Autumn Open 2023

@ 04/11/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Himal Gusain dominates 1st G H Raisoni Memorial Pune Rapid Rating Open 2023

@ 22/10/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Subhayan Kundu wins 5th Sant Adrià Open 2023, Franco Valencia Angela second

@ 10/09/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Omar Almeida Quintana wins 47th Badalona City Open 2023, Kaustuv Kundu second

@ 01/09/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Vignesh N R wins 11th Pontevedra Masters 2023, Sarayu Velpula scores IM, WGM and WIM-norm, finishes second

@ 24/08/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Himal Gusain wins 14th Vaujany Open 2023

@ 31/07/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
ईरान की खिलाड़ी सारा खादेम को स्पेन ने दी नागरिकता

@ 28/07/2023 by Niklesh Jain (hi)
Abhijeet Gupta wins Orillas de Mar Open 2023

@ 14/07/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Alexandr Fier wins 49th La Roda Open 2023, Aravindh Chithambaram second and Pranav Venkatesh third

@ 12/04/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Titas Stremavicius wins 43rd San Sebastian Open 2023, Swayams Mishra second

@ 09/04/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Himal Gusain wins 19th Caspian Cup 2023, Kushagra Mohan third

@ 28/02/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Himal Gusain dominates Surya Trophy Rating Open 2022

@ 22/01/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Kushal dominates 19th Gran Hotel Bali Aficionados B, Aditya Varun Gampa second in Group A and Blitz

@ 14/12/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Saidakbar Saydaliev clinches Benidorm Open 2022, Ajay Karthikeyan third

@ 12/12/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Arvinder Preet Singh clinches XIX Calvia Amateur Open 2022

@ 18/10/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Gukesh and Harikrishna clinch Spanish Honor League for C A Solvay

@ 25/09/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
S L Narayanan wins 23rd Sants Open Barcelona 2022, Vaibhav Suri second

@ 14/09/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Ernesto J Fernandez Guillen victorious at 4th Sant Adria Open 2022, Anustoop Biswas second

@ 29/08/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Aronyak Ghosh wins 46th Ciutat de Badalona Open 2022, Anuj Shrivatri second

@ 15/08/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Vignesh N R dominates 47th Ciudad de Sevilla Open 2022

@ 13/08/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Platon Galperin wins 10th Pontevedra Masters, Leon Luke Mendonca third

@ 02/08/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Dylan Isidro triumphs at 22nd Sant Marti Open, Aronyak Ghosh third

@ 25/07/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Aravindh Chithambaram wins 41st Villa de Benasque Open 2022, Raunak Sadhwani third

@ 16/07/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Ilmars Starostits dominates 15th International Open GEMA63

@ 28/01/2020 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Vitaliy Bernadskiy wins XXXI Roquetas de Mar Open 2020

@ 19/01/2020 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Pablo Glavina is the winner of IX Open Ciudad de Alfaro

@ 13/11/2019 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Sebastian superb at XVI Calvia Amateur Open

@ 22/10/2019 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Harikrishnan and Anuj finish in top 10 at Sitges Open 2019

@ 09/08/2019 by Niklesh Jain (en)

Contact Us