chessbase india logo

Titas Stremavicius wins 43rd San Sebastian Open 2023, Swayams Mishra second

by Shahid Ahmed - 09/04/2023

GM Titas Stremavicius and GM FT Swayams Mishra, both scored an unbeaten 7.5/9 each at 43rd San Sebastian Open 2023. The Lithuania no.2 won the tournament due to better tie-break score. Thus, Swayams was placed second. GM Misa Pap (SRB) edged past three more players scoring 7/9 to finish third on tie-breaks. The top three prizes were €14000 + beret, €900 and €600 along with a trophy each respectively. The eight-day nine-round rating tournament organized by Federación Gipuzkoana de Ajedrez witnessed the participation of 134 players including 5 GMs, 7 IMs and a WGM from 16 countries across the world. Last month, one of the most successful trainers of India, GM Swayams played his first Classical rating tournament in over three years.

Swayams secures second place in consecutive tournaments

Five players were in the lead heading into the final round at 6.5/9 each. GM Titas and GM Swayams defeated GM Marc Narciso Dublan (ESP) and WGM Yaniela Forgas Moreno (CUB) respectively, to finish with the same score 7.5/9 each. GM FT Swayams Mishra mentioned on his fb page, "Played 3 tournaments in Europe continuously. Feels good to be back at the board after 3 years." Before this event, Swayams secured a second place finish at Six days Budapest March 2023 GM-B tournament. His students performed well at 10th Martinique Open - Joel Gratien Memorial. It will be mentioned in a separate report.

Champion - GM Titas Stremavicius (LTU) 7.5/9 | Photo: Hondarribia-Marlaxka Chess Association

Runner-up - GM FT Swayams Mishra 7.5/9

GM FT Swayams Mishra scored an unbeaten 7.5/9 ad gained 6.4 Elo rating points

The tournament hall at City Council of San Sebastian in Spain | Photo: Hondarribia-Marlaxka Chess Association

A total of 134 players including 5 GMs, 7 IMs and a WGM took part in this eight-day nine-round Swiss league Rating tournament from 16 countries across the world. It was organized by Federación Gipuzkoana de Ajedrez from 1st to 8th April 2023 at City Council of San Sebastian in Spain. The time control for the event was 90 minutes + 30 seconds increment from move no.1.

Final standings

Rk.SNoNameTypGrFEDRtgPts. TB1  TB2  TB3 
11GMStremavicius, TitasLTU25327,5525739,5
24GMSwayams, MishraIND24807,5505438,5
310GMPap, MisaSRB2405751,555,537,5
49FMBilych, OlexiyUKR24237515638
53IMRoshka, YevgeniyUKR25057505437
65IMLarkin, VladyslavUKR2450748,552,536,5
77IMGrieve, HarryENG24396,550,554,536
86IMAloma Vidal, RobertESP24426,546,55134
98GMNarciso Dublan, MarcESP24296,5464936
1024Sarabando, Rodrigo AndiasPOR21156,545,549,532,5
1125Martel Bruniaux, MalkoESP21016,544,547,531
122GMMartinez Duany, LelysCUB25316,54246,531,5
1315FMPrieto Aranguren, AlainESP228064751,533,5
1421Vesga Izeta, MarkelGipESP2185645,549,532
1514WGMForgas Moreno, YanielaCUB2285644,548,531


Related news:
Vincent Blom decimates Arona Chess Festival Blitz Open 2024, Savitha Shri third

@ 08/07/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Aravindh Chithambaram victorious at 50th La Roda Open 2024

@ 01/04/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Dama Negra Chess Club invites you to VIII Semana Santa Open 2024

@ 27/02/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Indian chess players face robbery in Sunway Sitges Apartments

@ 24/12/2023 by ChessBase India (en)
Gran Hotel Bali 2023: Mitrabha Guha clinches Blitz Nocturno, third in Open A, Sham R wins Aficionados B

@ 16/12/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Subhayan Kundu wins 5th Sant Adrià Open 2023, Franco Valencia Angela second

@ 10/09/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Omar Almeida Quintana wins 47th Badalona City Open 2023, Kaustuv Kundu second

@ 01/09/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Vignesh N R wins 11th Pontevedra Masters 2023, Sarayu Velpula scores IM, WGM and WIM-norm, finishes second

@ 24/08/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Himal Gusain clinches 9th Ciudad de Oviedo Open 2023

@ 13/08/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
ईरान की खिलाड़ी सारा खादेम को स्पेन ने दी नागरिकता

@ 28/07/2023 by Niklesh Jain (hi)
Abhijeet Gupta wins Orillas de Mar Open 2023

@ 14/07/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Alexandr Fier wins 49th La Roda Open 2023, Aravindh Chithambaram second and Pranav Venkatesh third

@ 12/04/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Kushal dominates 19th Gran Hotel Bali Aficionados B, Aditya Varun Gampa second in Group A and Blitz

@ 14/12/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Saidakbar Saydaliev clinches Benidorm Open 2022, Ajay Karthikeyan third

@ 12/12/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Arvinder Preet Singh clinches XIX Calvia Amateur Open 2022

@ 18/10/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Gukesh and Harikrishna clinch Spanish Honor League for C A Solvay

@ 25/09/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
S L Narayanan wins 23rd Sants Open Barcelona 2022, Vaibhav Suri second

@ 14/09/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Ernesto J Fernandez Guillen victorious at 4th Sant Adria Open 2022, Anustoop Biswas second

@ 29/08/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Aronyak Ghosh wins 46th Ciutat de Badalona Open 2022, Anuj Shrivatri second

@ 15/08/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Vignesh N R dominates 47th Ciudad de Sevilla Open 2022

@ 13/08/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Platon Galperin wins 10th Pontevedra Masters, Leon Luke Mendonca third

@ 02/08/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Dylan Isidro triumphs at 22nd Sant Marti Open, Aronyak Ghosh third

@ 25/07/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Aravindh Chithambaram wins 41st Villa de Benasque Open 2022, Raunak Sadhwani third

@ 16/07/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Ilmars Starostits dominates 15th International Open GEMA63

@ 28/01/2020 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Vitaliy Bernadskiy wins XXXI Roquetas de Mar Open 2020

@ 19/01/2020 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Pablo Glavina is the winner of IX Open Ciudad de Alfaro

@ 13/11/2019 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Sebastian superb at XVI Calvia Amateur Open

@ 22/10/2019 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Harikrishnan and Anuj finish in top 10 at Sitges Open 2019

@ 09/08/2019 by Niklesh Jain (en)
Swayams Mishra - India's 62nd GM, accomplished trainer and an IT Engineer

@ 06/05/2019 by Sagar Shah (en)

Contact Us