chessbase india logo

Salem Saleh wins Sheikh Hamdan bin Rashid Cup Blitz, Nihal third

by Shahid Ahmed - 10/12/2021

UAE no.1 Salem Saleh scored 8.5/11 to win Sheikh Hamdan bin Rashid Cup Blitz. Despite losing consecutive games in fifth and sixth round, the sharp tactician made a fantastic comeback by winning the next three games to get back at the top. In the end, he finished a half point ahead of the competition. Both Bassem Amin (EGY) and Nihal Sarin scored 8.0/11. They were placed second and third according to tie-breaks. Salem won US$ 2000, Bassem US$ 1800 and Nihal US$ 1600. Nihal's biggest victory of the event was to win against the eventual champion of the event, Salem Saleh in the fifth round. Zhansaya Abdumalik (KAZ) won the Best woman prize. Photo: Amruta Mokal

Fedoseev clinches Rapid, Nihal fifth

Top Russian and third seed of the tournament, Vladimir Fedoseev won the Rapid event 7.0/9. He finished a full point ahead of the field. Three players finished at 6.0/9 - Denis Kadric (BIH), Hans Niemann (USA) and Rinat Jumabayev (KAZ). They were placed second to fourth according to tie-breaks. Nihal Sarin edged Bartosz Socko (POL) in tie-breaks to claim the fifth position. The top five prizes were US$ - 6000, 5000, 4000, 3000 and 2000 each respectively. Zhansaya Abdumalik won the Best Woman prize in Rapid too.

Prize winners of Rapid and Blitz along with the organizers and officials | Photo: Amruta Mokal

Round 5: Nihal - Salem: 1-0

Nihal's biggest win in the Blitz event was against the eventual winner Salem Saleh (UAE) in Round 5.

Position after 10...Rfc8

Black made an early mistake 10...Rfc8 as it cost him not only a valuable pawn but the position also started crumbling. After 11.dxc5 Qxc5 12.Qxb7 Ne4 13.Nb3 Qb6 14.Ba6 Qd8 15.Qb5 caused Black to lose an exchange and eventually the game.

Nihal Sarin vs Salem Saleh - Blitz Round 5 | Video: ChessBase India
Nihal Sarin moves from 2705 to 2725 in blitz ratings | Video: ChessBase India

Nihal performed at 2780 and gained 20.8 Elo rating points in Blitz, taking his live rating to 2725.8

Nihal gained 43.6 Elo rating points in Rapid as he performed at 2679, his live rating is 2543.6

Salem Saleh beat Mikheil Mchedlishvili (GEO) in the final round to win the tournament | Photo: Amruta Mokal

Nihal beat Rinat Jumabayev (KAZ) in the final round to finish third | Photo: Amruta Mokal

Zhansaya Abdumalik (KAZ) defeated Loek van Wely (NED) in the final round to finish at 13th place | Photo: Amruta Mokal

Video Gallery

Replay all games of Nihal from the Blitz event:

Nihal Sarin vs Georg Meier (URU) - Round 1 | Video: ChessBase India
Denis Kadric (BIH) vs Nihal Sarin - Round 2 | Video: ChessBase India
Nihal Sarin vs Alan Pichot (ARG) - Round 3 | Video: ChessBase India
Parham Maghsoodloo (IRI) vs Nihal Sarin - Round 4 | Video: ChessBase India
Nihal Sarin vs Salem Saleh (UAE) - Round 5 | Video: ChessBase India
Vladimir Fedoseev (RUS) vs Nihal Sarin - Round 6 | Video: ChessBase India
Nihal Sarin vs Amin Bassem (EGY) - Round 7 | Video: ChessBase India
Daniel Fridman (GER) vs Nihal Sarin - Round 8 | Video: ChessBase India
Nihal Sarin vs Viktor Erdos (HUN) - Round 9 | Video: ChessBase India
Bartosz Socko (POL) vs Nihal Sarin - Round 10 | Video: ChessBase India
Nihal Sarin vs Rinat Jumabayev (KAZ) - Round 11 | Video: ChessBase India
Nihal Sarin vs Vladislav Kovalev (FID) - Rapid Round 8 | Video: ChessBase India
Interview with the Tournament director - IA IO FI Saeed Shakari | Video: ChessBase India

Replay Blitz Round 1-11 games

Replay Rapid Round 4-9 games

The tournament took place at Expo 2020 Dubai, Dubai Exhibition Center, Dubai in the UAE from 6th to 8th December 2021. Every day, three rounds of Rapid games were played. Time control for Rapid was 15 minutes + 10 seconds increment per move starting from move 1. The Blitz event happened on 9th December 2021 at the same venue. Time control for Blitz was 3 minutes + 2 seconds increment per move starting from move no.1.

Blitz Final standings

Rk.SNo NamesexFEDRtgPts. TB1  TB2  TB3  TB4  TB5 Krtg+/-
GMSalem A.R. SalehUAE26428,50,063,568,0282044,2
GMAmin BassemEGY26178,00,563,569,0362040,4
GMNihal SarinIND27058,00,562,566,5362020,8
GMBellahcene BilelALG24937,00,059,563,5352066,2
GMErdos ViktorHUN25996,50,059,062,026205,0
GMFedoseev VladimirRUS26906,00,067,573,02620-16,2
GMKadric DenisBIH24696,00,064,067,5252056,8
GMPichot AlanARG26296,00,063,567,52320-0,4
GMJumabayev RinatKAZ25366,00,063,065,0252030,2
GMNiemann Hans MokeUSA26806,00,059,063,01620-20,0
GMSocko BartoszPOL25715,50,059,562,53520-3,0
GMMaghsoodloo ParhamIRI26555,50,058,560,51520-28,0
GMAbdumalik ZhansayawKAZ23805,50,057,059,0052050,8
GMMchedlishvili MikheilGEO26185,50,056,558,53520-34,8
GMSargissian GabrielARM26615,50,056,059,02420-36,2
GMIordachescu ViorelMDA25345,50,052,554,51420-4,2
GMIvanisevic IvanSRB24995,00,052,554,52420-4,0
GMKovalev VladislavFID25274,51,056,558,52320-13,2
GMMeier GeorgURU25844,51,051,053,01420-38,6
GMVan Wely LoekNED25934,51,048,550,52420-47,6
GMFridman DanielGER26634,00,057,560,51320-56,4
GMSantos Ruiz MiguelESP25273,50,049,051,01320-41,4
IMSukandar Irine KharismawINA22653,00,050,052,0232021,0
IMSaeed IshaqUAE21952,00,050,053,002208,6


Rapid Final standings

Rk.SNoNameFEDRtgPts. TB1  TB2  TB3 Krtg+/-
13GMFedoseev VladimirRUS26927,00,041,045,02015,6
215GMKadric DenisBIH25426,00,041,542,52038,0
323GMNiemann Hans MokeUSA23276,00,041,045,02086,4
412GMJumabayev RinatKAZ25626,00,039,040,02025,8
518GMNihal SarinIND25005,50,040,043,52043,6
613GMSocko BartoszPOL25625,50,039,543,52029,8
717GMMaghsoodloo ParhamIRI25125,00,043,547,52023,6
820GMSantos Ruiz MiguelESP24405,00,041,545,52046,4
911GMMchedlishvili MikheilGEO25895,00,040,544,020-4,0
102GMSargissian GabrielARM26935,00,039,540,520-25,0
114GMMeier GeorgURU26565,00,038,542,020-12,6
127GMIordachescu ViorelMDA26235,00,037,038,520-12,4
139GMErdos ViktorHUN26014,50,041,543,020-20,6
1414GMFridman DanielGER25424,50,031,032,020-6,4
155GMKovalev VladislavFID26474,00,045,550,020-35,4
161GMSalem A.R. SalehUAE27294,00,039,541,020-47,8
1716GMPichot AlanARG25234,00,038,541,520-2,0
1810GMIvanisevic IvanSRB25934,00,036,537,520-28,0
1919GMAbdumalik ZhansayaKAZ24494,00,035,036,52018,2
208GMAmin BassemEGY26144,00,032,033,020-40,8
216GMVan Wely LoekNED26353,50,036,037,020-48,6
2222IMSukandar Irine KharismaINA23813,00,030,531,5202,8
2321GMBellahcene BilelALG23971,50,033,034,020-28,4
2424IMSaeed IshaqUAE23091,00,036,037,520-18,2



Official site


Tournament Details