chessbase india logo

27th Telegraph Chess 2018: Mitrabha takes sole lead heading into the final round

by Shahid Ahmed - 18/12/2018

Mitrabha Guha emerged as the sole leader after the conclusion of the penultimate round in the 27th edition of The Telegraph Schools' Chess 2018. Mitrabha defeated the previous round leader Rajdeep Sarkar to gain a half-point lead. A pack of four players Koustav Chattejee, Sanket Chakravarty, Praloy Sahoo and Ayan Pal are trailing behind the leader at 7.0/8. In the seventh round, Rajdeep was unable to extract a win against Sanket, whereas Koustav and Mitrabha accepted draw meekly. Praloy and Ayan won their both round 7 and 8 games to get into the title picture. Despite Mitrabha being in the lead, he must win in the final round to secure the championship whereas draw means anyone can become champion. The report contains photos, videos and games from round 7 and 8. Photo: Shahid Ahmed

Mitrabha becomes favorite to win it all, Rajdeep loses out of the race

Who do you think will become the champion? Mitrabha, Koustav or Sanket? | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

Just when things were about to heat up, the players decided to shake their hands and accept a draw.

Would you have accepted a draw after Mitrabha's 29...Qd6 ?

Mitrabha kept pressing from the get-go in English Opening. Rajdeep did not budge, until...

Rajdeep blundered here with 43...Ng7. After that it was all just a matter of technique

Top two boards ended up in a draw however not without fight in round 7

Both Rajdeep and Sanket tried their best, yet neither could come out at the top | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

After 4 hours long grueling battle, a draw was all they could ask for.

Samriddhaa made short work on Swapnil in just 29 moves | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

Black's last move 23...Nc5 was a mistake. Find out why.

Rupam Mukherjee had the quickest win in just 21 moves when his opponent Rajarshi Mandal imploded | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

With a bit of luck on his side and poise, can he make a podium finish today? | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

White to play and draw

Ayan Pal had a lot of luck on his side when his opponent Anubhab Gupta blundered in a drawn King-pawn endgame.

Is Praloy Sahoo the 'Dark Horse' of the tournament? | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

Praloy Sahoo made a quick work of Dhritabrata Kundu in just 23 moves in Center Counter opening.

Three draws in top 4 boards makes the tournament wide open in round 8

Sanket and Koustav are engaged in a pre-match banter | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

Their match did not have much to talk about as they made a draw in just 25 moves in an uneventful game.

Shuvam Roy managed to hold Samriddhaa Ghosh to a draw in French Defence Advance variation where both players were unable to get any kind of upper hand against the other.

Debarghya Samanta drew with Rupam Mukherjee in a marathon game of 96 moves where both sides did not make any significant mistake | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

Ayan Pal had an easy win against Anushka Gupta. Find out the final combination here

Find the correct continuation for Black here

Praloy managed to slowly turn things around in his favor in the endgame and eventually liquidate into a winning position.

Photo Gallery:

Birthday celebration of IA Paul Arokia Raj S | Photos: Pintu Chatterjee and Shahid Ahmed

When both sides go for an all-out attack | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

Eyeing a checkmate | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

Is it a draw or can Black push for a win? | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

It's not over until it's over | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

Pencils are a good chew toy...except they are not | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

The face you make when your opponent does a Rg7 sac | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

That moment when you know that you are being photographed for your king taking a walk in the park | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

Samriddhaa Ghosh scouts her future opponent after finishing her match | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

Birthday Celebration of Chief Arbiter of 27th The Telegraph Schools' Chess 2018 - IA Paul Arokia Raj S | Video: Shahid Ahmed

Round 8 results

Bo.No. NameRtgPts.ResultPts.NameRtg No.
FMMitrabha Guha23511 - 0FMRajdeep Sarkar2370
Sanket Chakravarty1974½ - ½Koustav Chatterjee2345
Shuvam Roy16816½ - ½6Ghosh Samriddhaa1892
AIMDebarghya Samanta15956½ - ½6Rupam Mukherjee1875
Ayan Pal182761 - 06Anushka Gupta1455
Diya Chowdhury165260 - 16Praloy Sahoo1795
Soham Dey17706½ - ½6Pratyay Chowdhury1645
Sambarta Banerjee18741 - 06AGMSrihaan Poddar1383
Aditya Bikram Paul18731 - 0Anish Rooj1584
Mohanty Soyamsree17061 - 0Subhabrata Roy1525


Round 9 pairings

Bo.No. NameRtgPts.ResultPts.NameRtg No.
Praloy Sahoo17957FMMitrabha Guha2351
Koustav Chatterjee234577Ayan Pal1827
Rupam Mukherjee18757Sanket Chakravarty1974
FMRajdeep Sarkar2370Shuvam Roy1681
Ghosh Samriddhaa1892AIMDebarghya Samanta1595
Pratyay Chowdhury1645Sambarta Banerjee1874
Alekhya Mukhopadhyay1617Soham Dey1770
Mohanty Soyamsree1706Sagnik Saha1478
Anjishnu Mondal144066Bhattacharyya Soham1727
Rounak Pathak171966Aritrya Pal1439

Related news:
Mitrabha Guha wins 1st JK's ECA One Day Rapid Rating Open 2023

@ 04/09/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Mitrabha Guha wins Olympiad Torch Run Open Rapid Chess Tournament 2022

@ 22/06/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Mitrabha Guha clinches 1st Talent Chess Academy All India Rapid Rating Open 2022

@ 17/05/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Breaking News: Mitrabha Guha becomes India's 72nd Grandmaster

@ 09/11/2021 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Mitrabha Guha dominates AICF National Senior Online Open 2021

@ 07/08/2021 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
CCT Indian Qualifier Pre QF: Mitrabha stuns Sasikiran

@ 08/05/2021 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
IM Mitrabha Guha beats Magnus Carlsen twice within an hour

@ 05/04/2021 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Bangladesh Premier League R1: Mitrabha stuns Abhimanyu

@ 20/03/2021 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Vidit Chess Tour Pre QF: Aronyak and Mitrabha cause big upsets

@ 05/03/2021 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Mitrabha Guha dominates 16th Maheshwaranand Saraswati Memorial Online Blitz Open

@ 29/11/2020 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Mitrabha Guha wins Samay Raina IMvitational

@ 15/10/2020 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Mitrabha Guha wins Buddhibal Kreeda Trust Fischer Random Online Blitz Open

@ 28/05/2020 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Aronyak Ghosh wins 28th The Telegraph Schools' Chess 2019

@ 19/12/2019 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
The Telegraph Schools' Chess invites all school students

@ 14/11/2019 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Mitrabha and Akshaya are sole leaders at National Junior 2019

@ 06/11/2019 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Mitrabha takes sole lead at 49th National Junior 2019

@ 04/11/2019 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Lakecity GM R06+07: Deepan, Mitrabha, and Sayantan in joint lead

@ 18/09/2019 by Satanick Mukhuty (en)
Mitrabha Guha wins 27th The Telegraph Schools' Chess 2018

@ 20/12/2018 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
27th The Telegraph 2018 round 6: Rajdeep, Mitrabha, Koustav and Sanket are in the lead

@ 17/12/2018 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Samriddhaa survives two massive scares at 27th The Telegraph Schools' 2018

@ 16/12/2018 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
27th The Telegraph 2018 round 1-3: 37 players share lead with full point

@ 15/12/2018 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Sant Marti Open 2018: Mitrabha Guha earns his maiden GM norm!

@ 31/08/2018 by Niklesh Jain (en)
Srijit Paul wins 26th The Telegraph Schools' Chess 2018

@ 01/03/2018 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Mitrabha wins 2nd Queen's Gambit Rapid 2018

@ 25/02/2018 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Mitrabha Guha wins Badal Bhattacharjee Memorial

@ 25/08/2017 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Mitrabha Guha and Harshita Guddanti are National Sub-Junior 2016 champions!

@ 21/03/2017 by Sagar Shah (en)
Mitrabha Guha wins All Bengal One-Day Rapid

@ 07/12/2016 by Priyadarshan Banjan (en)

Contact Us