chessbase india logo

Aronyak Ghosh wins 28th The Telegraph Schools' Chess 2019

by Shahid Ahmed - 19/12/2019

IM Aronyak Ghosh scored 8.0/9, remained undefeated and won 28th The Telegraph Schools' Chess 2019. He finished a half point ahead of the competition. Nine players were in the lead with 7.0/8 before the final round. Aronyak was the only player to manage to win his last round game and finish first. Bangladesh's budding talent nine-year-old CM Manon Reja Neer scored 7.5/9 and he was placed second according to tie-break score. Former Telegraph champion IM Srijit Paul finished at 7.5/9 and he was placed third. Total 462 players participated from over 200 schools across India, Bangladesh and Nepal. South Point High School won the Best School prize for the second year in a row. Photo: Shahid Ahmed

Aronyak emerges as the clear champion

Starting out as the second seed, IM Aronyak Ghosh scored an unbeaten 8.0/9 to win 28th The Telegraph Schools' Chess 2019 and finish a half point ahead of the competition. Nine players were leading at 7.0/8 going into the final round. Only Aronyak scored a victory and rest of them drew their ninth round game. Nine-year-old CM Manon Reja Neer and former champion IM Srijit Paul scored 7.5/9 each and they were placed second and third respectively.

Champion Aronyak Ghosh receives prize from Snehasish Ganguly in presence of Parambrata Chattopadhyay, Navratan Jhawar, Bhaskar Ganguly and Sujit Bose | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

Aronyak faced both top seed and third seeded defending champion and he drew with both of them
Aronyak talks about winning 28th Telegraph Schools' Chess, becoming an IM, his performance in 2019 and more | Video: Shahid Ahmed

In the final round, Aronyak defeated former State under-11 champion Alekhya Mukhopadhyay.

Aronyak not only became the overall champion, but he made sure the Best School trophy is retained with South Point. South Point High School scored 28.5/6 to win the Best School prize.

Best School - South Point High School (L to R) Soham Bhattacharyya, Ritabrata Chakraborty, Rounak Pathak and Aronyak Ghosh | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

Nine-year-old CM Manon Reja Neer of Bangladesh scored 7.5/9 to secure the runner-up position according to tie-breaks | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

Bangladesh's budding talent made a podium finish with a last round victory over Pratyay Chowdhury.

Best School Runner-up Aditya Academy Senior Secondary School 28.0/36 | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

Former The Telegraph Schools' Champion IM Srijit Paul scored 7.5/9 and secured second runner-up position | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

IM Srijit Paul was held to a draw by Soham Dey in the final round.

Best School second runner-up Don Bosco Park Circus 25.5/36 | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

Prize distribution ceremony photos

4th WCM Bristy Mukherjee 7.5/9 | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

5th Koustav Chatterjee 7.5/9 | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

6th Ayan Pal 7.5/9 | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

7th Sparsh Khandelwal 7.5/9 | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

8th Praloy Sahoo 7.5/9 | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

9th Soham Dey 7.5/9 | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

10th Debarghya Samanta 7.5/9 | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

11th Aryan Bandyopadhyay 7.5/9 | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

12th Rounak Pathak 7.0/9 | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

13th Alekhya Mukhopadhyay 7.0/9 | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

14th Soumyajit Das Jr. 7.0/9 | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

15th Aritrya Pal  7.0/9 | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

16th Marium Fatima 7.0/9 | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

17th Kazi Zarin Tasnim 7.0/9 | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

18th Rajanya Datta 7.0/9 | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

19th Soham Bhattacharyya 7.0/9 | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

20th Soumalya Mondol 7.0/9 | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

21st WFM Noshin Anjum 7.0/9 | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

22nd Tejash Jain 7.0/9 | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

23rd Mrittika Mallick 7.0/9 | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

24th Priyanshu Barua 7.0/9 | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

25th Ankit Ray 7.0/9 | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

Parimal Mukherjee Memorial Best Game Trophy winner - Mohammad Shafiqul Islam | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

Chief Arbiter IA Paul Arokia Raj S receives a flower bouquet on the occasion of his birthday from his childhood hero footballer Bhaskar Ganguly in presence of Navratan Jhawar | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

For more Prize Distribution Ceremony photos, click here.

GM Surya Sekhar Ganguly opted for the Alekhine Defense when the youngest participant 4.5 years old Sriyan Saha inaugurated the tournament with 1.e4 | Photo: Shahid Ahmed
GM Surya Sekhar Ganguly talks about participating in the first ever The Telegraph Schools' Chess back in 1988 and more | Video: Shahid Ahmed

For more players' photos, click here.


The 28th edition of The Telegraph Schools' Chess 2019 witnessed a total participation of 462 players from over 200 schools representing from India, Bangladesh and Nepal. The tournament was organized by Alekhine Chess Club at Gorky Sadan, Kolkata from 13th to 18th December 2019.

Final Standings

Rk.SNoNameTypsexFEDRtgClub/CityPts. TB1  TB2  TB3 
12CMAronyak GhoshIND2433South Point High School8,00,055,559,0
24CMManon Reja NeerU10BAN2157Philosophia School, Dhaka7,50,054,557,5
33IMSrijit PaulIND2318D P S North Kolkata7,50,054,557,5
48WCMBristy MukherjeewIND1872Memari Rasiklal Smriti Balika Vidya7,50,054,058,0
51IMKoustav ChatterjeeIND2447Garden High School7,50,054,058,0
610Ayan PalIND1851Don Bosco Park Circus7,50,054,057,5
77Sparsh KhandelwalIND1905Fravashi International Academy7,50,054,057,0
85Praloy SahooIND2007Santagachi Kedernath Institution(H.7,50,051,054,5
96Soham DeyIND1929Aditya Academy Senior Secondary7,50,050,555,5
1025AIMDebarghya SamantaIND1637Calcutta Boys' School7,50,049,552,0
1129Aryan BandyopadhyayIND1598K V S Fortwilliam7,50,048,552,5
1222Rounak PathakIND1659South Point High School7,00,054,557,5
1311Alekhya MukhopadhyayU12IND1810Sri Aurobindo Institute Of Educatio7,00,051,556,5
1424Soumyajit Das (Jr)IND1643Aditya Academy Senior Secondary7,00,050,052,0
1514Aritrya PalU12IND1726Don Bosco Park Circus7,00,049,553,5
1633Marium FatimawIND1579St Xavier's Kindergarten7,00,049,053,0
1716Kazi Zarin TasnimwBAN1708Viqarunnisa Noon School & College,7,00,048,549,5
1870Rajanya DattaF12wIND1339Kendriya Vidyalaya No 1 Salt Lake K7,00,048,051,0
1967Soham BhattacharyyaIND1353South Point High School7,00,048,050,5
2030Soumalya MondolIND1596Jadavpur Vidyapith7,00,047,551,5
219WFMNoshin AnjumwBAN1858Viqarunnisa Noon School & College,7,00,047,550,0
2227Tejash JainIND1624South City International School7,00,047,050,5
2334Mrittika MallickF12wIND1542Binodini Girl's High School7,00,047,049,0
2441Priyanshu BaruaIND1489Jadavpur Vidyapith7,00,046,549,5
2544Ankit RayU10IND1466Little Angle Convents,Barasat7,00,045,549,5

Complete standings

Contact Us