chessbase india logo

Srijit Paul wins 26th The Telegraph Schools' Chess 2018

by Shahid Ahmed - 01/03/2018

Srijit Paul of DPS North won the 26th edition of The Telegraph Schools' Chess 2018 held at Gorky Sadan from 27th January to 1st February 2018. Double IM norm holder, 17-year old Srijit remained undefeated, scored 8.5/9 and became champion in a convincing manner. The tournament witnessed 278 players participating across various districts of West Bengal and our neighboring country, Bangladesh. We bring you photos, annotated games of the tournament by champion himself and interview from the tournament by Shahid Ahmed who was present at the venue.

Srijit Paul wins it big by winning the tournament, best game award and runner-up prize for his school

Srijit Paul receives his championship trophy and ₹21000 cash
Final moments from the championship winning game from the last round

Srijit Paul receives Parimal Mukherjee Trophy from Late Parimal Mukherjee's wife for best game

Srijit Paul won the Parimal Mukherjee Trophy for the best game of the tournament for his last round game against FM Mitrabha Guha who got the second position after suffering a loss. Here is the game annotated by the champion Srijit Paul himself.

However, Srijit Paul's personal favorite game from the tournament is from 5th round of the tournament against GM Ziaur Rahman's son Zia Tahsin Tajwar.

FM Mitrabha Guha scored 7.5/9, due to a better tie-break score secured 2nd position bagging home a trophy and ₹16000 cash

FM Rajdeep Sarkar also scored 7.5/9, secured 3rd position and took home ₹12000 cash

South Point (L to R: Mitrabha Guha, Anustoop Biswas and CM Aronyak Ghosh) continued it's dominance by winning the Best School prize with a cumulative score of 22.5/27

Delhi Public School (L to R: Srijit Paul, Oishik Kundu and Subhayan Kundu) finished at 2nd position with a cumulative score of 21/27

Aditya Academy (L to R: Dhritabrata Kundu, Souvik Kar and Sambarta Banerjee) was adjudged 3rd with a cumulative score of 19/27

The tournament was inaugurated by GM Ziaur Rahman and WGM Mary Ann Gomes

Main Playing Hall of the tournament which accommodated over 60 boards

Interviews from the tournament:

Tournament Director Soumen Majumdar speaks about the history of The Telegraph tournament and much more
Bangladesh No. 1, GM Ziaur Rahman talks about his memory of the tournament
Champion Srijit Paul tells why he does not practice chess at the moment
Champion of the 25th edition, GM Diptayan Ghosh takes a trip down memory lane
Joint Secretary of AICF and General Secretary of BCA, IM Atanu Lahiri speaks about spreading chess in India

Final Ranking after 9 Rounds

Rk.SNoNameTypsexFEDRtgIClub/CityPts. TB1  TB2  TB3 
13Srijit PaulIND2319Dps (N)8,50,053,055,5
22FMMitrabha GuhaIND2319South Point7,50,055,560,0
31FMRajdeep SarkarIND2393Bhavan's G.K.Vidyamandir7,50,052,557,5
44CMAronyak GhoshIND2309South Point7,50,051,055,5
55FMMohammad Fahad RahmanBAN2298Little Jewels International School7,50,051,053,5
69Anustoop BiswasIND2037South Point7,50,050,555,0
715Rupam MukherjeeIND1721Uttarpara Amrendra Vidyapith7,50,049,554,5
88Subhayan KunduIND2071Dps (N)7,00,051,056,0
928Shuvam RoyIND1600Sonarpur Shiksha Sadan7,00,047,550,5
1023Rahul Krishna ViswanathanIND1661LSA7,00,047,051,5
1136Soham PalIND1549The Frank Anthony Public School7,00,045,550,0
1226Sudipa HaldarwIND1618Shri Shikshayatan School7,00,045,550,0
1324Atri ChattopadhyayIND1658Techno India, Chinsurah7,00,042,546,0
147Neelash SahaIND2105Nava Nalanda6,50,052,556,0
1512Zia Tahsin TajwarBAN1819Word Bridge International School6,50,051,054,0
1619Sourath BiswasIND1703Sri Aurobindo Institute Of Educatio6,50,050,051,5
1730Praloy SahooIND1587Santragachi Kedarnath Institution(H6,50,049,552,5
1817Sambarta BanerjeeIND1719Aditya Academy6,50,049,054,0
1927Soham DeyIND1610Bidhan Nagar Municipal School6,50,047,551,5
2057Sneha PaulwIND1309St. Augustine's Day School6,50,047,051,0
2114Shouvik KarIND1740Aditya Academy6,50,046,551,0
2231Alekhya MukhopadhyayU12IND1583Sri Aurobindo Institute Of Educatio6,50,046,551,0
2311Aditya BasuIND1874South Point6,50,046,050,0
2418Ambarish SharmaIND1714Apeejay School6,50,046,049,5
2525AIMDebarghya SamantaU12IND1633Calcutta Boys School6,50,046,049,0

Complete ranking in chess-results

Related news:
IM Srijit Paul wins Benidorm Open 2021 in a close finish

@ 13/12/2021 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Western Asia Double Gold and Silver winner Srijit Paul is the latest IM of India

@ 17/09/2019 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Srijit Paul wins Saturday Club Youth Rapid Rating 2019

@ 12/06/2019 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Who is Srijit Paul?

@ 29/12/2018 by Shahid Ahmed (en)

Contact Us