chessbase india logo

Praloy Sahoo victorious at 2nd DD-DBCA Rating Open 2022

by Shahid Ahmed - 29/05/2022

Praloy Sahoo scored 8/9 and finished a half point ahead of the competition. He won his first tournament of the year 2nd DD-DBCA Open Rating. Arpan Das and reigning West Bengal State Rapid champion Subhayan Kundu scored 7.5/9 each. They secured second and third place according to tie-breaks. Total prize fund of the tournament was ₹200000. Top three prizes were ₹30000 and a trophy, ₹20000 and ₹15000 each respectively. This was the first Open Classical Rating tournament in West Bengal since the Covid-19 pandemic struck in 2020. A total of 181 players participated from various parts of the state. Photo: Shahid Ahmed

Top four seeds finishes in reverse order

GM Surya Sekhar Ganguly inaugurated the event, while GM Deep Sengupta was the Chief Guest at the Closing Ceremony.

Champion - Praloy Sahoo 8/9 | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

Check out Praloy's win against the eventual runner-up Arpan Das from the seventh round which he analyzed in the video.

Shounak - Praloy, Round 9

Position after Ne5

Find out the winning combination for Black.

Praloy scored 8/9, suffering only one loss against the top seed Kaustuv Kundu and gained 28.8 Elo rating points

Runner-up - Arpan Das 7.5/9 | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

3rd Subhayan Kundu 7.5/9 | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

4th Kaustuv Kundu 7/9 | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

5th Akash Tiwari 7/9 | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

Akash had a very good chance to beat Praloy in the penultimate round.

Praloy - Akash, Round 8

Position after 32.Qf2

Black's rook at a3 seems to be trapped, however there is a nice tactic. Can you spot it? The game continued 32...Nc4+ 33.Bxc4 Raxc3 34.Bd3 Qg7 35.e5 Nxe5 36.Kxc3 Nxd3+ 37.Kc4 b5+ 38.Kd5 and Black was presented with one final opportunity.

Position after 39.Kd5

The finish is not easy to spot, however, Black is completely winning here. Try to find out the correct continuation for Black after 39.Kd5.

6th Ritabrata Chakraborty 7/9 | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

7th Shounak Mazumder 6.5/9 | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

8th Rupankar Nath 6.5/9 | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

9th Koustav Chakraborty 6.5/9 | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

10th Shuvam Roy 6/9 | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

GM Surya Sekhar Ganguly inaugurated the event with GM Dibyendu Barua and the top seed of the tournament Kaustuv Kundu | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

For more photos, please click here.

Seven-time Olympian and individual Gold medalist, GM Dibyendu Barua on Olympiad, Dynamo Chess and more | Video: Chessbase India
From a forgettable Olympiad debut to becoming a GM at the next one - Surya Sekhar Ganguly | Video: Chessbase India
Commonwealth Gold medalist, 3-times Hastings Masters winner GM Deep on Olympiad, Dynamo Chess & more | Video: Chessbase India

A total of 181 players participated from various districts across West Bengal in this first Open Classical Rating tournament in the state in over two years since Covid-19 pandemic started in 2020. The event was organized by and at Dhanuka Dhunseri Dibyendu Barua Chess Academy, Kolkata, West Bengal from 13th to 18th May 2022. The time control of the tournament was 90 minutes + 30 seconds increment from move no.1.

Final Standings

Rk.SNoNameTypsexGrFEDRtgRtgNPts. TB1  TB2  TB3 
14Praloy SahooIND206508,052,553,046,50
23Arpan DasIND209307,553,058,046,25
32Subhayan KunduIND232307,552,054,544,00
41Kaustuv KunduIND232707,054,055,541,25
59Akash TiwariIND173007,049,553,038,25
611Ritabrata ChakrabortyIND163907,046,550,537,00
710Shounak MazumderIND170906,551,055,036,50
85Nath RupankarIND202306,550,552,534,75
96Koustav ChakrabortyIND194506,549,052,034,25
1019Mayukh MajumderU10IND140606,547,549,532,00
11161Shrutartha MaitiIND006,546,551,537,25
1258Agnim DuttaIND116206,542,546,033,00
1312Shuvam RoyIND158006,049,554,034,25
148Rupam MukherjeeIND176806,048,052,032,00
1523Venkatesh HIND137906,047,552,533,50
1629Shourya PaulIND133206,047,050,529,75
177Basak BishalIND185506,047,050,031,00
1836Shreyas BhowmikIND130106,047,050,029,50
1947Ahanjit BanerjeeIND122906,046,550,030,25
2028Soureen BhattacharyaIND134206,046,049,028,50


Related news:
Rupam Mukherjee wins Chess for Everyone Rating Open 2024 in West Bengal

@ 09/04/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Srijon Saha victorious at 2nd War of Knights School Rating 2024

@ 08/02/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Biswajit Chatterjee dominates 1st Tracks of Strategy Rating Open 2024 with a perfect 8/8

@ 03/02/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Sudhanshu Ranjan triumphs at 2nd Nitai Ghosh Memorial Rating Open 2023

@ 15/01/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
An Open Rapid tournament on the day of ICC World Cup 2023 Final

@ 03/12/2023 by Mrinalini Dhar (en)
Kaustuv Kundu dominates 4th DD-DBCA Rating Open 2023

@ 10/10/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Kaustuv Kundu dominates 1st All India Rating Open 2023 with a perfect 9/9

@ 02/05/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
10-year-old Niladri Banerjee becomes the youngest ever West Bengal State Rapid Rating 2023 champion

@ 09/02/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Srijit Paul dominates 1st War of Knights Rating Open 2022

@ 13/01/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Subhayan Kundu dominates 3rd DD-DBCA Rating Open 2022

@ 18/11/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Institute of Neurosciences Kolkata celebrate 75th Independence Day in ChessBase India t-shirts

@ 19/08/2021 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Suvankar Maity clinches 4th Kharagpur Chess Classic 2019-20

@ 08/01/2020 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Prantik Roy wins 21st MCA All Bengal Rapid Rating Open

@ 02/01/2020 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Rajdeep wins his maiden State Senior Open title

@ 20/10/2019 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Utsab and Sudipa are the 47th West Bengal State Junior Champions

@ 27/08/2019 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Diptayan wins All Bengal Open Rapid at Aaykar Bhawan Kolkata

@ 18/08/2019 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
IM Neelash Saha and Samriddhaa Ghosh win 30th National under-17 2019

@ 09/07/2019 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Garden High wins 13th Chessmate Inter School Team Rapid Rating 2019

@ 07/07/2019 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Praloy and Bristy win 42nd West Bengal State Sub-Junior 2019

@ 16/06/2019 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Akhil and Siddhi win 33rd National Under-7 Open and Girls 2019

@ 13/06/2019 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Srijit Paul wins Saturday Club Youth Rapid Rating 2019

@ 12/06/2019 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Neelash and Samriddhaa win 2nd West Bengal State under-17

@ 01/06/2019 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Ananya Bothra wins 45th West Bengal State Women's 2019

@ 27/05/2019 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Chess Coaching for Presidency Correctional Home inmates in Kolkata

@ 19/05/2019 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Shankhodip and Rajanya win 31st West Bengal State Under-11 2019

@ 04/05/2019 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Prantik and Neelash win 4th West Bengal State Rapid and Blitz 2019

@ 27/04/2019 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Diptayan wins New Year Open 2019

@ 08/01/2019 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Who is Srijit Paul?

@ 29/12/2018 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
FIDE Presidential candidate GM Nigel Short headlines LIC 3rd Kolkata Open 2018

@ 13/05/2018 by Shahid Ahmed (en)

Contact Us