chessbase india logo

Srijit Paul dominates 1st War of Knights Rating Open 2022

by Shahid Ahmed - 13/01/2023

Top seed of the tournament, IM Srijit Paul scored an unbeaten 8.5/9 to win 1st War of Knights Rating Open 2022. He finished a full point ahead of the field. Four players - Deboushnik De, Rishan Debnath, Snehil Raj Singh and Ayush Das scored 7.5/9 each. They were placed second to fifth according to tie-breaks. The six-day nine-round rating tournament was organized by The Knight Chess Academy at Swami Vivekananda Institute of Modern Science. Total prize fund of the tournament was ₹240000. Top three prizes were ₹45000, ₹30000 and ₹20000 along with a trophy each. Photo: The Knight Chess Academy

Teenagers claim second to fifth

Rishan Debnath gained a massive 144 Elo rating points. Snehil Raj Singh increased 118 points. These two are the top rating gainers among the top ten finishers. Sinthia Sarkar is the highest finisher among female participants. She scored 7/9 to finish ninth.

Champion - IM Srijit Paul 8.5/9 | Photo: The Knight Chess Academy

Runner-up - Deboushnik De 7.5/9 | Photo: The Knight Chess Academy

Second Runner-up - Rishan Debnath 7.5/9 | Photo: The Knight Chess Academy

9th Sinthia Sarkar 7/9 | Photo: The Knight Chess Academy

Players in action | Photo: The Knight Chess Academy

Parents and accompanying persons waiting for the players | Photo: The Knight Chess Academy

A total of 239 players including an IM took part from various states across the country and a player from Bangladesh and USA each. The six-day nine-round Swiss league Rating tournament was organized by The Knight Chess Academy at Swami Vivekananda Institute of Modern Science, Sonarpur, West Bengal from 26th to 31st December 2022. The time control of the tournament was 90 minutes + 30 seconds increment from move no.1.

Final standings

Rk.SNoNameTypsexFEDRtgClub/CityPts. TB1  TB2  TB3  TB4  TB5 
11IMSrijit PaulIND2382WB8,5525753,2508
27Deboushnik DeU15IND1651WB7,5505441,5006
333Rishan DebnathU13IND1423WB7,55052,542,2507
418Snehil Raj SinghU15IND1544WB7,5485242,5007
512Ayush DasIND1574WB7,54650,542,2506
64Basak BishalIND1785WB7515539,7506
714Pratyay ChowdhuryIND1560WB745,549,537,5006
816Chakrabarti TamalIND1555WB745,549,537,0007
913Sinthia SarkarF15wIND1571WB744,54837,0006
103Arpan DasIND1967WB6,554,558,539,5006
118Soham RoyU13IND1639WB6,5515533,7506
129Subhrajit DeyU15IND1629WB6,5505538,2506
1335Oishik MondalU13IND1410WB6,5464931,5006
1429Soumen MondalIND1450WB6,5464831,7506
1526Atrinjay SahaU13IND1472WB6,545,548,534,5006
1611Aman KumarIND1616BIH6,54549,533,7506
1728Oishik KunduU15IND1452WB6,5454832,7505
1815Dhritabrata KunduIND1557WB6,544,549,535,7504
1932Bivor AdakU13IND1425WB6,544,546,531,7506
2021Soumick BandopadhyayU13IND1514WB6,5434732,2506