chessbase india logo

Kaustuv Kundu sensational at 5th DD-DBCA Rating Open 2024

by Shahid Ahmed - 25/04/2024

Top seed IM Kaustuv Kundu missed the first round as he was busy winning 6th Bangalore Rating Open 2024. He won the next eight games in-a-row scoring 8/9 and finished a half point ahead of the field. IM Shahil Dey, Arpan Das and Ritabrata Chakraborty scored 7.5/9 each. They secured second, third and fourth place according to tie-breaks. The total prize fund of the tournament was ₹400000. The top three prizes were ₹70000 + trophy, ₹50000 and ₹30000 each respectively. The six-day nine round Rating Open tournament was organized by and at Dhanuka Dhunseri Dibyendu Barua Chess Academy in Kolkata, West Bengal from 11th to 16th April 2024. This is Kaustuv's third overall and second consecutive tournament victory in 2024. Photos: Shahid Ahmed

Misses first round, wins eight in-a-row to conquer his second rating tournament in ten days

It is not every day we get to witness the top seed of the tournament missing the first round as he was preoccupied winning another rating tournament. Despite the miss, IM Kaustuv Kundu won his next eight consecutive games and finished a half point ahead of the field. It will be extremely difficult to tie his performance, let alone break it. Kaustuv also won the previous edition of this event last year. Kaustuv and IM Shahil Dey were the coleaders 7/8 going into the final round. IM Shahil Dey drew with IM Utsab Chatterjee. Kaustuv was in a must-win situation to become the champion as his tie-break was not good. He managed to beat Santu Mondal and become the winner.

Champion - IM Kaustuv Kundu 8/9
Interview with IM Kaustuv Kundu after winning 6th Bangalore Open and 5th DD-DBCA Rating Open 2024 consecutively in ten days | Video: ChessBase India

Runner-up - IM Shahil Dey 7.5/9

Second runner-up - Arpan Das 7.5/9

Top 3: 2nd IM Shahil Dey 7.5/9, 1st IM Kaustuv Kundu 8/9 and 3rd Arpan Das 7.5/9

Shahil - Kaustuv, Round 8

Position after 25...Rc3

IM Shahil Dey (2332) made the mistake of retreating his knight to e2 26.Ne2? d4! -+ 27.Qxd4 Bxh1 28.Nxc3 Bf3 29.Rf1 Rd8 30.Qe3 Bxg4 31.Ne4 Bxh5 and Black went on to win the game and join the lead with Shahil 7/8 heading into the final round.

If you want to win, you will find a way - IM Kaustuv v Santu | Video: ChessBase India

IM Kaustuv Kundu won eight games in-a-row after missing the first round, finished a half point ahead of the rest and gained 6.3 Elo rating points

4th Ritabrata Chakraborty 7.5/9

6th Mayukh Majumder 7/9

7th Shaon Chowdhury 7/9

8th Suman Basu 7/9

9th Kunal Chatterjee 7/9

10th Supratim Ghosh 7/9

11th Santu Mondal 6.5/9

12th Srijon Saha 6.5/9

13th Archisman Patra 6.5/9

14th Himanshu Ranjan 6.5/9

15th Soumalya Mondol 6.5/9

16th Kishan Kumar 6.5/9

17th Supriyo Kundu 6.5/9

18th Ujan Chanda 6.5/9

20th Sudhanshu Ranjan 6.5/9

Best Woman 1st - Arhashirsha Biswas 6/9

Best Woman 2nd - Anushka Gupta 6/9

Best Woman 3rd - Daksha Rudra 6/9

Best Veteran 1st - Swapan Mitra 6/9

Top boards

Live games were shown on a big HDTV so that parents and accompanying persons can follow the games at the venue without worrying about their devices data or battery

For more photos, please click here.

Missed Pawn Promotion Combination - Kishan vs Chitrak, Round 3 | Video: ChessBase India

A total of 218 players including three IMs, took part from various states all over the country in this six-day nine round Rating Open tournament. It was organized by and at Dhanuka Dhunseri Dibyendu Barua Chess Academy in Kolkata, West Bengal from 11th to 16th April 2024. The time control of the event was 90 minutes + 30 seconds increment per move.

Replay all available games

Final standings

Rk.SNoNameTypsexFEDRtgPts. TB1  TB2  TB3  TB4  TB5 
11Kaustuv KunduIND2386844,547,542,5008
22IMShahil DeyIND23327,5525644,5007
35Arpan DasIND19887,550,554,544,0007
413Ritabrata ChakrabortyIND19077,5485037,7507
53IMUtsab ChatterjeeIND2301749,553,541,5006
616Mayukh MajumderU12IND1857747,55238,7506
710Shaon ChowdhuryIND192974751,538,5006
811Basu SumanIND19237465037,5005
912CMChatterjee K.K.S55IND1917745,54937,0007
1024Supratim GhoshIND177474042,531,5007
116Santu MondalIND19836,549,553,535,7505
1214Srijon SahaIND18886,548,552,536,5005
1337Archisman PatraU14IND17096,5485235,0005
1420Himanshu RanjanIND18046,54850,533,2506
1525Soumalya MondolIND17736,547,55233,0005
169Kishan KumarIND19336,547,551,535,7505
17213Supriyo KunduIND06,544,54932,7506
1833Chanda UjanU12IND17216,5444832,5006
1915CMAnurag JaiswalIND18746,542,546,532,7506
207Sudhanshu RanjanIND19416,541,545,530,7506



Dhanuka Dhunseri Dibyendu Barua Chess Academy

Related news:
Deep Sengupta wins MCT Rapid Rating Open 2024

@ 24/05/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Rupam Mukherjee wins Chess for Everyone Rating Open 2024 in West Bengal

@ 09/04/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Srijon Saha victorious at 2nd War of Knights School Rating 2024

@ 08/02/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Biswajit Chatterjee dominates 1st Tracks of Strategy Rating Open 2024 with a perfect 8/8

@ 03/02/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Sudhanshu Ranjan triumphs at 2nd Nitai Ghosh Memorial Rating Open 2023

@ 15/01/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
An Open Rapid tournament on the day of ICC World Cup 2023 Final

@ 03/12/2023 by Mrinalini Dhar (en)
Kaustuv Kundu dominates 4th DD-DBCA Rating Open 2023

@ 10/10/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Kaustuv Kundu dominates 1st All India Rating Open 2023 with a perfect 9/9

@ 02/05/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
10-year-old Niladri Banerjee becomes the youngest ever West Bengal State Rapid Rating 2023 champion

@ 09/02/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Srijit Paul dominates 1st War of Knights Rating Open 2022

@ 13/01/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Subhayan Kundu dominates 3rd DD-DBCA Rating Open 2022

@ 18/11/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Praloy Sahoo victorious at 2nd DD-DBCA Rating Open 2022

@ 29/05/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Suvankar Maity clinches 4th Kharagpur Chess Classic 2019-20

@ 08/01/2020 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Prantik Roy wins 21st MCA All Bengal Rapid Rating Open

@ 02/01/2020 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Utsab and Sudipa are the 47th West Bengal State Junior Champions

@ 27/08/2019 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
IM Neelash Saha and Samriddhaa Ghosh win 30th National under-17 2019

@ 09/07/2019 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Praloy and Bristy win 42nd West Bengal State Sub-Junior 2019

@ 16/06/2019 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Neelash and Samriddhaa win 2nd West Bengal State under-17

@ 01/06/2019 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Ananya Bothra wins 45th West Bengal State Women's 2019

@ 27/05/2019 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Shankhodip and Rajanya win 31st West Bengal State Under-11 2019

@ 04/05/2019 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Prantik and Neelash win 4th West Bengal State Rapid and Blitz 2019

@ 27/04/2019 by Shahid Ahmed (en)

Contact Us