chessbase india logo

Utsab and Sudipa are the 47th West Bengal State Junior Champions

by Shahid Ahmed - 27/08/2019

Utsab Chatterjee scored an unbeaten 7.0/8 to win 47th State Junior open convincingly. Top seed and defending champion FM Rajdeep Sarkar also scored 7.0/8, but due to a lower tie-break score, he was placed second. Second seed Srijit Paul scored 6.5/8 and secured third position. Among the girls, Sudipa Haldar also scored an unbeaten 7.0/8 to become the champion. Both Sinthia Sarkar and Vedika Agarwal scored 6.5/8, however due to a better tie-break score, Sinthia finished second and Vedika at third position. Total 215 players from various district across the state of West Bengal including 169 in open and 46 girls participated in this four-day rating tournament. Photo: Shahid Ahmed

Parallel performance of unbeaten champions

Utsab Chatterjee's first State title was back in 2014 when he won State under-11 open. After that his major triumph was in 44th National Sub-Junior where he secured first runner-up position.

Utsab en route his unbeaten championship run | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

Utsab scored 7.0/8 and increased his Elo rating by 30 points

Here is an interview conducted with Utsab after his triumph

Utsab shows his best game from the tournament, talks about how Abu Dhabi exposure trip helped him overall and more | Video: Shahid Ahmed

Utsab sent us an annotated game of his against Anish Rooj from round 5.

Sudipa had won State under-11 and State Sub-Junior girls before. Earlier this year she secured the first runner-up position in State Women's.

Sudipa Haldar scored an unbeaten 7.0/8 to become champion | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

Sudipa scored an unbeaten 7.0/8 by beating top seed National school under-17 girl's champion Diya Chowdhury in the final round

I caught up with Sudipa after she won almost a 4.5 hour long battle in her final round, must win game.

Sudipa talks about how she won a must-win game | Video: Shahid Ahmed

Here is her best game from the tournament annotated by Sudipa herself

2nd in open FM Rajdeep Sarkar 7.0/8 | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

2nd in girls Sinthia Sarkar 6.5/8 | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

3rd Srijit Paul 6.5/8 | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

3rd Vedika Agarwal 6.5/8 | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

4th Subhayan Kundu 6.5/8 | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

5th Koustav Chakraborty 6.5/8 | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

6th Aditya Bikram Paul 6.5/8 | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

7th Anish Rooj 6.0/8 | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

8th Subhadip Seth 6.0/8 | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

9th Pratyay Chowdhury 6.0/8 | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

10th Shuvam Roy | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

4th Tanisha Chatterjee 6.0/8 | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

5th Reigning State Women's champion Ananya Bothra 5.5/8 | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

6th Arhana Kundu 5.5/8 | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

7th Diya Chowdhury 5.5/8 | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

9th Kasturi Saha 5.0/8 | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

10th Adrija Sil 5.0/8 | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

For more photos, click here.

Sudipa wins her must win final round game | Video: Shahid Ahmed

Total 215 players from various district across the state of West Bengal including 169 in open and 46 girls participated in this four-day tournament from 15th to 19th August (16th August was a rest day), organized by 64 squares at ICCR Kolkata.


Final Standings in open

Rk.SNoNameTypRtgIPts. TB1  TB2  TB3 
14Utsab Chatterjee21637,00,042,039,0
21FMRajdeep Sarkar23677,00,039,536,5
32Srijit Paul23046,50,045,542,5
43Subhayan Kundu22806,50,042,539,5
55Koustav Chakraborty19436,50,042,038,0
68Aditya Bikram PaulU1318116,50,041,538,5
721Anish Rooj15466,00,042,038,0
817Subhadip Seth16036,00,040,536,5
912Pratyay Chowdhury16516,00,040,536,5
109Shuvam Roy17056,00,040,036,5
1127Sayandeep Roy14496,00,038,537,0
1226Soumalya MondolU1314686,00,038,035,0
1314Anubhab Gupta16166,00,037,534,0
1415Raghuraj Pratap Singh16136,00,036,536,5
1511Soumyajit Das (Jr)16646,00,036,534,5
1632Uddipan RoyU1114166,00,035,032,0
1720Tushar Barua15525,50,042,039,0
1810Rounak Pathak17005,50,041,038,5
1918Debargha Basu15865,50,041,037,5
2019Eshan BhattacharjeeU1115535,50,040,537,0

Complete standings

Final Standings in girls

Rk.SNoNameTypRtgIPts. TB1  TB2  TB3 
12Sudipa Haldar16247,00,042,039,0
26Sinthia SarkarU1313846,50,542,038,5
37Vedika AgarwalU1313396,50,540,037,0
48Tanisha ChatterjeeU1313336,00,035,031,5
53Ananya Bothra15915,50,042,038,0
69Arhana Kundu12395,50,041,539,0
71Diya Chowdhury17565,50,040,036,0
85Prateeti Gorai14055,00,039,036,5
935Kasturi SahaU1105,00,035,031,5
1022Adrija SilU0905,00,034,032,0
114Sneha Paul14394,50,039,535,5
1216Samriddhi Roy10364,50,036,033,0
1311Juhi Parekh11564,50,036,032,5
1425Arhashirsha BiswasU0904,50,035,533,5
1549Udita NathU1304,50,035,031,5
1613Raina Das GuptaU1310834,50,035,031,0
1747Sumedha DasU1304,50,033,032,5
1812Jagriti AgarwalU1111304,50,032,030,0
1914Oiendrila BhattacharyaU1110504,50,032,029,5
2015Disha Mundhra10474,50,032,029,5

Complete standings

Related news:
Rupam Mukherjee wins Chess for Everyone Rating Open 2024 in West Bengal

@ 09/04/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Srijon Saha victorious at 2nd War of Knights School Rating 2024

@ 08/02/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Biswajit Chatterjee dominates 1st Tracks of Strategy Rating Open 2024 with a perfect 8/8

@ 03/02/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Sudhanshu Ranjan triumphs at 2nd Nitai Ghosh Memorial Rating Open 2023

@ 15/01/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
An Open Rapid tournament on the day of ICC World Cup 2023 Final

@ 03/12/2023 by Mrinalini Dhar (en)
Kaustuv Kundu dominates 4th DD-DBCA Rating Open 2023

@ 10/10/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Kaustuv Kundu dominates 1st All India Rating Open 2023 with a perfect 9/9

@ 02/05/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Get ready for Buldana Urban Maharashtra State Under 17 Open and Girls Selection Chess Championship 2023

@ 17/03/2023 by Ankush Raktade (en)
10-year-old Niladri Banerjee becomes the youngest ever West Bengal State Rapid Rating 2023 champion

@ 09/02/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Srijit Paul dominates 1st War of Knights Rating Open 2022

@ 13/01/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Subhayan Kundu dominates 3rd DD-DBCA Rating Open 2022

@ 18/11/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Praloy Sahoo victorious at 2nd DD-DBCA Rating Open 2022

@ 29/05/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Utsab Chatterjee and Samriddhaa Ghosh are West Bengal State Senior 2022 champions

@ 18/02/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
मध्य प्रदेश राज्य आयु वर्ग चयन शतरंज स्पर्धा आरंभ

@ 06/06/2021 by Niklesh Jain (hi)
15 वर्षीय प्रणव बने तामिलनाडु राज्य शतरंज विजेता

@ 07/04/2021 by Niklesh Jain (hi)
Suvankar Maity clinches 4th Kharagpur Chess Classic 2019-20

@ 08/01/2020 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Prantik Roy wins 21st MCA All Bengal Rapid Rating Open

@ 02/01/2020 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
सुधीर कुमार सिन्हा बने बिहार राज्य सीनियर चैम्पियन

@ 17/11/2019 by धर्मेंद्र कुमार (hi)
प्रदीप पाठक बने सीनियर उत्तर प्रदेश शतरंज चैम्पियन

@ 19/10/2019 by Nitesh srivastava (hi)
IM Neelash Saha and Samriddhaa Ghosh win 30th National under-17 2019

@ 09/07/2019 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Praloy and Bristy win 42nd West Bengal State Sub-Junior 2019

@ 16/06/2019 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Neelash and Samriddhaa win 2nd West Bengal State under-17

@ 01/06/2019 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Ananya Bothra wins 45th West Bengal State Women's 2019

@ 27/05/2019 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Shankhodip and Rajanya win 31st West Bengal State Under-11 2019

@ 04/05/2019 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
नित्यता जैन बनी मध्य प्रदेश सब जूनियर चैम्पियन

@ 30/04/2019 by NIklesh Jain (hi)
Prantik and Neelash win 4th West Bengal State Rapid and Blitz 2019

@ 27/04/2019 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
दिलीप त्रिपाठी ने जीता शिवानी यूपी स्टेट फीडे रेटिंग

@ 04/01/2019 by Nitesh Shrivastav (hi)
Sankalp, Ajay, Utsab, Soham and Divya lead after round 8 in 44th National Sub-Junior 2018

@ 23/07/2018 by Shahid Ahmed (en)

Contact Us