chessbase india logo

Sankalp, Ajay, Utsab, Soham and Divya lead after round 8 in 44th National Sub-Junior 2018

by Shahid Ahmed - 23/07/2018

Sankalp Gupta, Ajay Karthikeyan, Utsab Chatterjee, Soham Kamotra and Divya Deshmukh are in the lead after round 8 in 44th National Sub-Junior Chess Championship. 2018 in the open and girls category respectively. Second seed of the tournament, Sankalp Gupta defeated overnight leader Koustav Chatterjee to join a four-way lead. Ajay, Utsab and Soham defeated higher rated players to join the leaders fray. Top seed Divya Deshmukh extended her lead when she defeated Bhagyashree Patil with Black pieces. Saina Salonika and Bristy Mukherjee trail behind her by half a point. In this report we bring you games and photos from the round 8 of the tournament. Photos: Swati Biswas

Second seed Sankalp Gupta bounces back after defeating overnight sole leader Koustav Chatterjee

Sankalp en-route to reclaim the leader's position | Photo: Swati Biswas

If there is one moment that has to be pinpointed to find out where it went wrong for Black, this is that moment. 21...Kh8 was a mistake. What would have kept Black in the game?

Ajay had an easy outing at the second board when his opponent Raahul, blundered a chain exchange | Photo: Swati Biswas

Raahul made a game losing blunder when he played 13...Nc4. Find out why

It was not Leon's day | Photo: Swati Biswas

Leon played 26...e5. Why is this a game changing move?

Distracted Kushagra vs. Focused Utsab  | Photo: Swati Biswas

Kushagra had a momentary lapse in concentration and played 37.Bc7 in a seemingly equal position. Find out a better continuation for White here.

Divya Deshmukh defeated Bhagyashree Patil by rerouting his pieces and bringing in more reinforcements to outplay her opponent | Photo: Swati Biswas

Divya Deshmukh slowly defeated her opponent Bhagyashree Patil emphatically, not by brutal attack but a careful attack where she retreated her Queen when it was necessary, regrouped her pieces and brought it back along with more reinforcements.

Superb Saina! Her game speaks volumes about her determination | Photo: Swati Biswas

Saina's opponent Poorna played 17...Bb4, completely ignoring the wrath which white can bring here

Bristy Mukherjee's opponent Lakshmi C played 29...Kc7 here. Find out why it helped White to launch a devastating attack

Top board results in open category

Round 8 on 2018/07/22 at 11:00AM

12Sankalp Gupta234161 - 0Koustav Chatterjee23831
210Ajay Karthikeyan209461 - 06Raahul V S22925
312Soham Kamotra206561 - 06CMMendonca Leon Luke22417
44CMKushagra Mohan23090 - 16Utsab Chatterjee209411
53CMAronyak Ghosh23101 - 0Sanjay D G192123
68Harshavardhan G B21941 - 0Jagadish P186733
728Mohamed Anees M18780 - 1Srihari L192722
86Moksh Amit Doshi226150 - 15Jayachandra Srinivas Vellanki184037
914Aan Sikka197550 - 15Yutesh P182439
1038Avinash Ramesh182950 - 15Shuban Saha196615

Top board results in girls category

Round 8 on 2018/07/22 at 11.00 AM

16Bhagyashree Patil183660 - 16WFMDivya Deshmukh22031
22WFMSalonika Saina21131 - 0Poorna Sri M.K171515
312WFMBommini Mounika Akshaya1734½ - ½WCMMrudul Dehankar20933
420Sai Divya M1641½ - ½WCMJyothsna L19235
59WCMBristy Mukherjee17681 - 0WFMLakshmi C18058
622Mehendi Sil1601½ - ½5Adane Narayani172613
724Sudipa Haldar158951 - 05Savitha Shri B174211
814Nanditha V172650 - 15Meenatchi Rajam V156029
916Routray Priyanka16835½ - ½5Divyabharathi Masanam164419
1026WCMChinnam Vyshnavi157751 - 05Arushi Kotwal166218

Pairing for Round 9 in open category on 2018/07/23 at 11:00AM

111Utsab Chatterjee209477Sankalp Gupta23412
210Ajay Karthikeyan209477Soham Kamotra206512
31Koustav Chatterjee2383Srihari L192722
48Harshavardhan G B2194CMAronyak Ghosh23103
537Jayachandra Srinivas Vellanki184066Raahul V S22925
67CMMendonca Leon Luke224166Yutesh P182439
715Shuban Saha196666Rakshith Srinivasan173654
866Atri Chattopadhyay16816Hemanth Sankar Reddy Dandu196416
934Hari R Chandran1863CMKushagra Mohan23094
1013Arpan Das (Jr)1981Rohnit G Amin177346

Pairing for Round 9 in girls category on 2018/07/23 at 11.00 AM

11WFMDivya Deshmukh22037WFMSalonika Saina21132
26Bhagyashree Patil18366WCMBristy Mukherjee17689
33WCMMrudul Dehankar209366Sudipa Haldar158924
45WCMJyothsna L192366Mehendi Sil160122
526WCMChinnam Vyshnavi157766WFMBommini Mounika Akshaya173412
629Meenatchi Rajam V156066Sai Divya M164120
719Divyabharathi Masanam1644WCMJain Nityata19454
87Eesha Ajay Sarda1830Abhirami Madabushi158725
98WFMLakshmi C1805Thakare Seeya151533
1013Adane Narayani1726Diya Chowdhury157128



Contact Us