chessbase india logo

Diptayan wins New Year Open 2019

by Shahid Ahmed - 08/01/2019

GM Diptayan Ghosh wins New Year Open 2019 at Outram Club in Kolkata by scoring 7.0/8, finishing a half point ahead of the pack of four players. 13-year old Arya Bhakta was the surprise of the tournament as he defeated IM Suvrajit Saha, GM Neelotpal Das and drew with IM Somak Palit in the penultimate round to secure 2nd position due to a better tie-break score. Another untitled player, Arindam Mukherjee secured 3rd position by scoring also 6.5/8. He scored a fine win over FM Mitrabha Guha in round 5. Former National Rapid Champion GM Neelotpal Das who was one of the Chief Guests last year, participated in this edition and secured 6th position. Photo: Shahid Ahmed

Diptayan dominates despite starting with a draw

GM Diptayan Ghosh scored 7.0/8 and became champion, won the Champion's Trophy and ₹31000 cash | Photo: Shahid Ahmed
Diptayan talks about the tournament, his performance in 2018 and more | Video: Shahid Ahmed

Top seed of the tournament Diptayan had a rocky start as he was held by 14-year old Sourath Biswas to a draw in the first round.

Final moments of the game between Sourath Biswas and GM Diptayan Ghosh in round 1 | Video: Shahid Ahmed
Final part of the game between GM Diptayan Ghosh and Koustav Chatterjee in round 6 | Video: Shahid Ahmed

13-year old Arya Bhakta had a fantastic tournament. He scored 6.5/8 and got richer by ₹21000 cash | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

Having a victory over IM Suvrajit Saha, GM Neelotpal Das and a draw with IM Somak Palit surely speaks volumes about the boy's unbeaten performance
Despite being under time pressure, Arya kept his cool and plays with ease | Video: Shahid Ahmed

Untitled Arindam Mukherjee also scored 6.5/8 and finished 3rd. He won ₹15000 cash | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

Arindam had luck on his side from round 2 as he defeated Bristy Mukherjee in an equal Opposite Color Bishop endgame.

Arindam's perseverance paid off as his opponent blundered and he got a full point | Video: Shahid Ahmed

Reigning West Bengal State Blitz Champion CM Aronyak Ghosh scored 6.5/8, remained undefeated and finished at 4th place. He got ₹10000 cash | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

Newly crowned Telegraph Champion FM Mitrabha Guha suffered only one loss and finished with 6.5/8 at 5th position. He won ₹8000 cash | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

GM Neelotpal Das was one of the Chief Guests last year, he scored 6.0/8 and finished 6th, bagging home ₹7000 cash | Photo: Shahid Ahmed
Former National Rapid Champion GM Neelotpal Das talks about various topics | Video: Shahid Ahmed

IM Arghyadip Das scored 6.0/8 and finished 7th. He was awarded ₹6000 cash | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

IM Suvrajit Saha also scored 6.0/8 and finished 8th. He won ₹5000 cash | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

Despite making a strong start and leading at the end of round 5, a loss against the eventual champion and 2nd runner-up in round 6 and 8 respectively cost him dearly. Koustav secured 9th position and he got ₹4000 cash | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

IM Somak Palit scored 5.5/8 and he was placed 10th due to a better tie-break score. He won ₹3000 cash | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

For more Prize Distribution Ceremony photos, visit here.

Photo Gallery:

The Tournament gate | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

Tournament Flex | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

The Chivalrous kids of under-10 age group | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

The smiling kids before the game | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

The playing arena | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

Before and during the match | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

Under-6 kids | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

Knight vs Pawn endgame in two consecutive boards | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

It is not everyday you get to see GM Neelotpal Das, IM Somak Palit and IM Arghyadip Das playing in the same tournament in their hometown Kolkata | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

Father (IM Suvrajit Saha) and son (Debarpan Saha) have each other's backs | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

Video Gallery:

IM Arghyadip Das talks about barely making it on time for round 1 and more | Video: Shahid Ahmed
Rated 1688 Saptorshi Gupta held GM Neelotpal Das to a draw | Video: Shahid Ahmed
Queen vs Three Passed Pawns ends in a draw | Video: Shahid Ahmed
Queen endings are interesting till they end up in a draw | Video: Shahid Ahmed


The tournament witnessed the participation of over 310 players from various districts across the state of West Bengal. Alekhine Chess Club and Outram Club jointly organized this event at Outram Club, Kolkata from 2nd - 4th January 2019 for the second consecutive year.


Final Standings in the Open category:

Rk.SNoNameTypsexFEDRtgPts. TB1  TB2  TB3  TB4  TB5 
11GMGhosh DiptayanIND25217,00,036,039,534,506
237Arya BhaktaIND15196,50,040,041,533,255
37Arindam MukherjeeIND21206,50,038,542,533,506
49CMAronyak GhoshIND20666,50,038,542,532,255
512FMMitrabha GuhaIND20366,50,034,537,527,256
64GMNeelotpal DasIND23126,00,034,537,026,755
72IMDas ArghyadipIND23656,00,034,037,525,506
86IMSuvrajit SahaIND22176,00,034,037,026,506
911Koustav ChatterjeeIND20435,50,040,544,026,255
103IMPalit SomakIND23255,50,040,044,028,504
115FMDutta JoydeepIND22885,50,035,038,525,004
1224Saptorshi GuptaIND16885,50,034,537,522,254
1319Suvradeepta DasIND18275,50,034,536,520,755
1421Sarbojit PaulIND17835,50,034,036,522,504
1513Bhattacharya Niladri ShekharIND20155,50,033,536,523,004
1614Anurag JaiswalIND20035,50,033,036,024,254
1722AGMShahid Ahmed S.K.IND17585,00,036,039,021,504
1843Ayan PalIND14485,00,036,037,521,504
1910Debasish MukherjeeIND20565,00,035,539,022,003
2025Arpan Das (Jr)IND16765,00,035,038,523,504


Complete Standings


Related article:

Kaustuv Kundu won the inaugural New Year Open 2018

Related news:
Diptayan Ghosh dominates ASEAN Chess Series AMK Rapid Rating Open 2023

@ 04/10/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Diptayan Ghosh wins Professor Lim Kok Ann Open 2023

@ 19/06/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Diptayan Ghosh wins 21st Rochefort Chess Festival Masters 2023, Harsha Bharathakoti third

@ 20/02/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Praloy Sahoo victorious at 2nd DD-DBCA Rating Open 2022

@ 29/05/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Diptayan Ghosh clinches 2nd Dombivli Kalyan Rapid Rating Open 2021

@ 02/01/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Institute of Neurosciences Kolkata celebrate 75th Independence Day in ChessBase India t-shirts

@ 19/08/2021 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Diptayan Ghosh wins ₹34000 in six ChessBase India Online Blitz events

@ 25/04/2020 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Diptayan dominates 3rd Saturday Online Blitz Open 2020

@ 07/04/2020 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Rajdeep wins his maiden State Senior Open title

@ 20/10/2019 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Diptayan wins All Bengal Open Rapid at Aaykar Bhawan Kolkata

@ 18/08/2019 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Garden High wins 13th Chessmate Inter School Team Rapid Rating 2019

@ 07/07/2019 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Praloy and Bristy win 42nd West Bengal State Sub-Junior 2019

@ 16/06/2019 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Akhil and Siddhi win 33rd National Under-7 Open and Girls 2019

@ 13/06/2019 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Srijit Paul wins Saturday Club Youth Rapid Rating 2019

@ 12/06/2019 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Neelash and Samriddhaa win 2nd West Bengal State under-17

@ 01/06/2019 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Ananya Bothra wins 45th West Bengal State Women's 2019

@ 27/05/2019 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Chess Coaching for Presidency Correctional Home inmates in Kolkata

@ 19/05/2019 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Shankhodip and Rajanya win 31st West Bengal State Under-11 2019

@ 04/05/2019 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Diptayan, Aravindh and Rathnakaran are the winners of Vishy Anand 49 Online Blitz 2018

@ 07/01/2019 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Who is Srijit Paul?

@ 29/12/2018 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Diptayan Ghosh wins Gujarat-Goa Online Blitz 2018

@ 05/09/2018 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
FIDE Presidential candidate GM Nigel Short headlines LIC 3rd Kolkata Open 2018

@ 13/05/2018 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Diptayan wins Tata Steel All India Rapid Rating

@ 22/01/2018 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Chess for Youth: Diptayan triumphs yet again!

@ 17/05/2017 by Shahid Ahmed (en)

Contact Us