chessbase india logo

Rajdeep wins his maiden State Senior Open title

by Shahid Ahmed - 20/10/2019

Top seed of the tournament, IM Rajdeep Sarkar scored an unbeaten 8.0/9 to win 57th West Bengal State Open. Second seeded Kaustuv Kundu also scored 8.0/9, however due to a lower tie-break score, Kaustuv had to settle for the runner-up position. Four players finished at 7.5/9, out of them Anustoop Biswas secured the second runner-up position due to his highest tie-break among them. Total 251 players participated from various districts of West Bengal in this five-day nine-round tournament held between 9th and 13th October at Kolkata, organized by 64 squares. A pictorial report of this tournament by Shahid Ahmed. 

Top seed Rajdeep becomes 57th WB State Open Champion

Former West Bengal State Junior champion, IM Rajdeep Sarkar scored an unbeaten 8.0/9 to win the 57th edition of West Bengal State Open championship. Immediately after receiving his prize, Rajdeep left for the ongoing World Junior championship.

Rajdeep with his shining new champion's trophy | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

Rajdeep's unscathed championship run

This is what Rajdeep had to say about winning the tournament - "It feels great to win this tournament as I have never won it before. It was almost an easy event for me as I was the top seed and everyone else were lower rated. First seven rounds went quite smooth for me. Evaluation changed a lot against Subhayan. Made a quick draw in the last round as I knew my Buchholz was the highest."


Here is an interview with Rajdeep after he became an IM

Rajdeep talks about his journey towards IM title | Video: Shahid Ahmed

Former State Open Champion Debasish Mukherjee was one of Rajdeep's coaches | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

I caught up with Rajdeep's one of the former coaches Debasish Mukherjee who trained him and this is what he had to say - "Rajdeep Sarkar is my ex-student. I have taught him chess since his childhood. He was a bright kid, whatever was shown to him even once, he could remember it for a long time. During the classes also he used to work hard and always had various questions. Right now I am feeling very proud of him that he has become an IM and also he has become the State Open champion. I wish him all the best for his future."

Photo Gallery

Runner-up Kaustuv Kundu 8.0/9 | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

Second runner-up Anustoop Biswas 7.5/9 | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

4th Subhayan Kundu 7.5/9 | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

5th Dilip Das 7.5/9 | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

6th Arpan Das 7.5/9 | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

7th Pratyay Chowdhury 7.0/9 | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

8th Avijit Ghosh 7.0/9 | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

9th New State Amateur Champion Bishal Basak 7.0/9 | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

10th Rounak Guha Roy 7.0/9 | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

For more photos, visit here.

Video Gallery

IA Biswanath Banerjee uses chess as a medicine to fight cancer | Video: Shahid Ahmed
Queen endings and perpetual checks are synonymous | Video: Shahid Ahmed

The tournament witnessed a total participation of 251 players from various district across the state of West Bengal. It was organized by 64 Squares from 9th - 13th October 2019 at Government College of Engineering and Ceramic Technology.

Final Ranking after 9 Rounds

Rk.SNoNameTypsexFEDRtgPts. TB1  TB2  TB3 
11FMRajdeep SarkarIND23848,00,057,553,5
22Kaustuv KunduIND23188,00,055,051,0
34Anustoop BiswasIND21627,50,057,052,5
43Subhayan KunduIND22637,50,056,552,0
516Dilip DasS60IND18357,50,055,051,5
66Arpan DasIND21247,50,053,549,0
724Pratyay ChowdhuryU15IND17137,00,053,550,0
822Avijit GhoshIND17247,00,051,547,0
917Basak BishalIND18297,00,050,546,0
1026Rounak Guha RoyU15IND16827,00,049,044,0
1146Aritrya PalU13IND15347,00,048,546,0
1210Suvradeepta DasIND20026,50,055,050,0
137Saptorshi GuptaIND21146,50,054,050,0
1427Anish RoojU15IND16726,50,053,048,5
155Sanket ChakravartyU15IND21586,50,052,548,0
1620Shounak MazumderU13IND17616,50,052,548,0
1732Soumyajit Das (Jr)U15IND16246,50,052,048,0
1839Tejash JainIND15796,50,051,047,0
199Debasish MukherjeeIND20546,50,049,546,5
2036Tushar BaruaIND15936,50,048,544,5
2155Soumalya MondolU13IND14576,50,047,543,0
2229Satya Sekhar MitraIND16676,50,046,542,0
2365Prithwi SinhaIND14246,50,046,043,0
2454Ujaan BhattacharyaU15IND14596,50,046,042,5
2551Soumen MondalIND14706,50,046,042,0

Complete standings

Related news:
Rajdeep Sarkar wins Kashmir Open Rating 2022

@ 27/07/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Praloy Sahoo victorious at 2nd DD-DBCA Rating Open 2022

@ 29/05/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Institute of Neurosciences Kolkata celebrate 75th Independence Day in ChessBase India t-shirts

@ 19/08/2021 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Diptayan wins All Bengal Open Rapid at Aaykar Bhawan Kolkata

@ 18/08/2019 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Garden High wins 13th Chessmate Inter School Team Rapid Rating 2019

@ 07/07/2019 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Praloy and Bristy win 42nd West Bengal State Sub-Junior 2019

@ 16/06/2019 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Akhil and Siddhi win 33rd National Under-7 Open and Girls 2019

@ 13/06/2019 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Srijit Paul wins Saturday Club Youth Rapid Rating 2019

@ 12/06/2019 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Neelash and Samriddhaa win 2nd West Bengal State under-17

@ 01/06/2019 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Ananya Bothra wins 45th West Bengal State Women's 2019

@ 27/05/2019 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Chess Coaching for Presidency Correctional Home inmates in Kolkata

@ 19/05/2019 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Shankhodip and Rajanya win 31st West Bengal State Under-11 2019

@ 04/05/2019 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Diptayan wins New Year Open 2019

@ 08/01/2019 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Who is Srijit Paul?

@ 29/12/2018 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Rajdeep and Arpita win 46th West Bengal State Junior 2018

@ 17/10/2018 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
FIDE Presidential candidate GM Nigel Short headlines LIC 3rd Kolkata Open 2018

@ 13/05/2018 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Rajdeep and Varshini win National U-17 Championships 2015

@ 27/10/2015 by Priyadarshan Banjan (en)

Contact Us