chessbase india logo

P Shyam Nikhil triumphs Pandit Shiv Kumar Khamparia Memorial Blitz Rating Open 2022

by Shahid Ahmed - 30/01/2022

IM P Shyam Nikhil scored an unbeaten 8.0/9 to win Pandit Shri Shiv Kumar Khamparia Memorial Blitz Rating Open 2022. IM Ratnakaran K made 7.5/9. He was placed second. Six players finished at 7.0/9 - GM Visakh N R, IM Himal Gusain, Abhishek Das, IM Akshat Khamparia, IM Nitin S and Amardeep Bartakke. They were placed third to eighth according to tie-breaks. The tournament had a total prize fund of ₹101000 with the first prize being ₹15000, ₹10000 for second and ₹7000 for third. Top three prizes had a trophy each. The tournament was organized in memory Late Pandit Shiv Kumar Khamparia (12/02/1911 - 01/12/2001) who was IM Akshat Khamparia's grandfather. Photo: Vivek Vishwakarma

Ratnakaran secures sole second place

All GM and IMs taking part in the event finished in top nine places. The youngest player to finish in top 15 was 12-year-old Sneha Halder. She scored 6.0/9 and was placed 15th. The tournament was conducted on the following day after the completion of All India Inter-Railway Team and Individual championship at the same venue.

Champion - IM P Shyam Nikhil 8.0/9 | Photo: Vivek Vishwakarma

IM Shyam Nikhil scored an unbeaten 8.0/9 and gained 35.4 Elo rating points

Runner-up IM Ratnakaran K 7.5/9 | Photo: Vivek Vishwakarma

Chief Guest Mr.Vishwa Mohan, Industrialist and Social Worker, with Special Guest Arjun Awardee Madhu Yadav, Sr.Sports Officer WCR and Khamparia Family, Mr. Anil Kumar Khamparia, Nirmal Khamparia and Vikram Khamparia were present at the prize distribution ceremony. The entire prize money was sponsored by the Khamparia family. It was held in the memory of Pandit Shiv Kumar Khamparia (Freedom Fighter and Educationist).

Mr. Nirmal Khamparis is making the inaugural first move on the first board | Photo: Vivek Vishwakarma

Inaugural speech by Mr. Nirmal Khamparia | Photo: Vivek Vishwakarma

The tournament was inaugurated by Mr. Nirmal Khamparia, Retired Officer MP Government, in the presence of Mr. O P Yadav, Secretary of Jabalpur District Chess Association, IA Dharmendra Kumar and IM Akshat Khamparia, Convenor MP Chess Ad-Hoc Committee.

IM Nitin S and IM Shyam Nikhil en route their victories over IM Ratnakaran K and IM Akshat Khamparia | Photo: Vivek Vishwakarma

Players are observing an interesting endgame with rapt attention | Photo: Vivek Vishwakarma

All top four games ended decisively in Round 7 | Photo: Vivek Vishwakarma

Players relaxing between the rounds | Photo: Vivek Vishwakarma

Dhuandhar Falls at Bhedaghat, Jabalpur, Madhya Pradesh | Photo: Vivek Vishwakarma

L to R: IM Akshat Khamparia, IA Dharmendra Kumar, Brijbhusan Dubey, O P Yadav, Vivek Vishwakarma and Yeshvendra Thagele at Dhuandhar Falls | Photo: Vivek Vishwakarma

Chief Arbiter IA Dharmendra Kumar receives a memento | Photo: Vivek Vishwakarma

Deputy Chief Arbiter FA Yash Tulapurkar also received a memento | Photo: Vivek Vishwakarma

IM Akshat Khamparia with General Manager of WCR, Mr. Sudheer Gupta (left)

The tournaments were organized by Jabalpur Chess Association President Mr. Brijbhusan Dubey and Secretary Mr. O P Yadav on 11th January 2022 at Railway Stadium Basketball Court, Jabalpur, Madhya Pradesh. A total of 105 players including a GM and six IMs took part in the event. The time control for the tournament was 3 minutes + 2 seconds increment each from move no.1.

Final standings

Rk.SNoNameTypsexGrFEDRtgClub/CityPts. TB1  TB2  TB3 
17IMShyaamnikhil PIND2292ICF8,051,055,548,25
24IMRatnakaran K.IND2391SRLY7,552,556,545,50
31GMVisakh N RIND2454ICF7,052,057,041,50
46IMGusain HimalIND2307WRLY7,050,053,539,50
59Abhishek DasIND2236JH7,048,552,540,00
68IMAkshat KhampariaIND2237WRLY7,048,552,538,25
72IMNitin S.IND2417SRLY7,048,053,040,00
815Bartakke Amardeep S.IND2038WRLY7,044,047,535,00
93IMVignesh N RIND2395SRLY6,547,551,534,50
1013Basu SumanIND2102SER6,545,048,533,00
1111Sharma HarishIND2167NRLY6,049,054,033,00
1212Tiwari ArjunIND2163SCR6,047,050,029,00
1310CMVinod Kumar SharmaIND2173CT6,046,550,530,50
1422Awadh ChaitanyaIND1851MP-J6,045,549,528,50
1562Sneha HalderU14wIND1214WB6,045,046,026,25

Complete standings