chessbase india logo

Vigneshwaran S wins 1st Prime Chess Academy Rapid Rating Open 2022

by Shahid Ahmed - 10/12/2022

As many as ten players finished the tournament with a score of 7/8. Vigneshwaran S clinched 1st Prime Chess Academy Rapid Rating Open 2022 due to better tie-breaks. IM Ramnathan Balasubramaniam and 12-year-old Vignesh Kannan P secured second and third place. Vigneshwaran drew with the runner-up and defeated the second runner-up in round 7 and 6 respectively. The total prize fund of the tournament was ₹200000. The top three prizes were ₹15000, ₹13000 and ₹12000 along with a trophy each. A total of 367 players participated in this one-day event held at Vriksha Global School on 20th November 2022. Total number of prizes were 250, out of them 115 were cash prizes and 135 cups. Photo: S Gnanasekaran

Top ten score 7/8

This was Vigneshwaran's first tournament triumph of his career. Winning it on such a large field of 367 players in a one-day Rapid Rating tournament is a huge feat. 12-year-old Vignesh Kannan P scored an impressive 7/8 to finish third. His sole loss of the event was against the eventual champion, Vigneshwaran S in the sixth round.

Champion - Vigneshwaran S 7/8 | Photo: S Gnanasekaran

Runner-up - IM Ramnathan Balasubramaniam 7/8 | Photo: S Gnanasekaran

Vigneshwaran S scored an unbeaten 7/8 and gained 13.4 Elo rating points

The tournament hall at Vriksha Global School at Namakkal, Tamil Nadu | Photo: S Gnanasekaran

Thanks to S Gnanasekaran, Secretary, Namakkal District Chess Foundation for sharing the photos.


A total of 367 players including an IM took part from various parts of Tamil Nadu and one from USA. The one-day eight-round Swiss league Rapid Rating tournament was organized by Prime Chess Academy at Vriksha Global School at Namakkal, Tamil Nadu on 20th November 2022. The time control of the tournament was 15 minutes + 5 seconds increment from move no.1.

Final standings

Rk.SNo NameTypsexFEDRtgClub/CityPts. TB1  TB2  TB3  TB4  TB5 
Vigneshwaran SIND1837TN-N745,549,542,5006
IMRamnathan BalasubramaniamIND1949Chengalpattu74246,539,5006
Vignesh Kannan PU12IND1483Karaikkudi7414538,0007
Hirthickkesh PrIND2074Cuddalore7414336,5006
Dharmaraj P.IND1726Thoothukudi740,544,538,0006
Manigandan S SIND1979Madurai739,541,534,5007
Gowtham K KIND1811Coimbatore738,54135,2506
Ram S. KrishnanIND2083BSNL73842,536,5007
Raaghav Kabil MU16IND1416Tirunelveli737,541,534,5007
Vijay PIND1743Erode7374136,5007
Akil A S JIND1847Madurai6,5414433,7506
FMAyushh RavikumarIND1818Chennai6,5404434,0006
Nigash GU16IND1472Thoothukudi6,538,542,532,5006
AGMKannan R.IND1629Erode6,5384233,7506
Stanley Samson P.IND2006Thoothukudi6424531,2505
Nandish V SU14IND1602Coimbatore640,545,532,5005
Vipin K AU16IND1223Erode639,543,530,5006
Gokulakrishna SU16IND1518Tirupur6394329,0006
Dhanasekar K.IND1757Coimbatore63942,528,5006
Selvamurugan BIND1809Madurai63941,529,0006


Related news:
ChessBase India Training Academy invites you to 1st Khelo Chess India Rating Open 2024

@ 04/05/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Himal Gusain wins Padma Shri Late Abhay Chhajlani Memorial 2nd UICC Rapid Rating Open 2024

@ 26/04/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Ayush Sharma dominates UICC Indore Rapid Rating Open 2024

@ 22/01/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Boris Savchenko wins 2nd Indore GM Open 2024, Ratnakaran third

@ 20/01/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Naitik R Mehta clinches 2nd Indore GM Below 2000 Rating Tournament 2024

@ 16/01/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
2nd Indore GM Open 2024 R7: Goutham outplays Hesham in the endgame

@ 14/01/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
2nd Indore GM Open 2024 R5-6: Fedorov emerges sole leader, Deepan in pursuit

@ 13/01/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
2nd Indore GM Open 2024 R4: Deepan subdues Savchenko, gains early sole lead

@ 12/01/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
2nd Indore GM Open 2024 R2-3: Nandhidhaa makes a perfect start

@ 11/01/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
2nd Indore GM Open 2024 R1: Daaevik, Saurabh and Vivaan score upsets

@ 10/01/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
B K Chaurasia wins Madhya Pradesh Civil Service State Tournament 2023

@ 29/11/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Ayush Sharma dominates 1st Scindia Cup Rapid Rating Open 2023

@ 17/11/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
आयुष शर्मा बने मध्य प्रदेश के तीसरे इंटरनेशनल मास्टर

@ 22/09/2023 by Niklesh Jain (hi)
Kartavya Anadkat conquers 5th Kamlaram Welfare Society Rapid Rating Open 2023

@ 21/07/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Neelash Saha clinches 35th All India Railway Individual Championship 2023 on his debut

@ 12/07/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Integral Coach Factory dominates 35th All India Railway Team Championship 2023

@ 11/07/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Kishan Kumar victorious at Chess for Everyone Rating Open in Sagar, Madhya Pradesh

@ 12/05/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Laxman triumphs at CMI Tessellate Rapid Rating Open 2023

@ 02/03/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Laxman R R wins Dr. Ajitkumar Singh Kasliwal & Suneeta Singh Memorial Rapid Rating Open 2022

@ 09/12/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Laxman R R dominates 17th BRDCA Rapid Rating Open 2022

@ 11/10/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Laxman and Nitin win GRT Shasun Jain College Rapid and Blitz Rating Open 2022

@ 29/07/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Kaustuv Kundu wins 1st Chandrashekhar Azad Memorial All India Rapid Rating Open

@ 08/03/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
P Shyam Nikhil triumphs Pandit Shiv Kumar Khamparia Memorial Blitz Rating Open 2022

@ 30/01/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Laxman R R wins 1st Vellore Rapid Rating Open 2021

@ 11/01/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Prakhar Bajaj and Cera Dagaria score 100% to win Madhya Pradesh State Sub-Junior 2021 Boys and Girls

@ 06/01/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Sriram Jha wins 1st Chhindwara All India Rapid Rating Open

@ 26/12/2021 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Laxman R R wins 1st YSR All India Open 2021

@ 21/12/2021 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Laxman R R wins Dr. Ajit Kumar Singh Kasliwal and Suneeta Singh Memorial All India Rapid Rating Open

@ 08/12/2021 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Laxman wins All India Rapid Rating at Nagpur

@ 05/11/2019 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Laxman wins Pearl City All India Open and a brand new Maruti Alto 800

@ 13/09/2019 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Laxman wins 4th Triple C All India Open 2019

@ 26/04/2019 by Shahid Ahmed (en)

Contact Us