chessbase india logo

B K Chaurasia wins Madhya Pradesh Civil Service State Tournament 2023

by Shahid Ahmed - 29/11/2023

B K Chaurasia, Shekhar Verma and Deepak Chiwande scored 5/6 each at Madhya Pradesh Civil Services State Chess Tournament 2023. Chaurasia won the tournament due to better tie-break score, Shekhar and Deepak were placed second and third respectively. Padmaja Nayudu, Monika Nishad and Vaishali Ramteke secured first, second and third place among the Women scorin 3.5/6, 3/6 and 3/6 each respectively. The top six men and women qualified to the National Civil Services tournament. Police Commissioner of Indore, IPS Makrand Deoskar, defeated the top seed and eventual champion, B K Chaurasia in the very first round. He scored an impressive 4.5/6 to finish fourth. Photos: Vivek Vishwakarma and Pankaj Tiwari

Selection tournament for Madhya Pradesh Civil Service employees

Champion - B K Chaurasia 5/6

Runner-up - Shekhar Verma 5/6

Second Runner-up - Deepak Chiwande 5/6

Top six Men and Women who have qualified to the National Civil Service Tournament

IPS Makrand Deoskar defeated the eventual champion B K Chaurasia in the very first round

Police Commissioner of Indore, IPS Makrand Deoskar defeated fifth seeded Monika Nishad in the third round to register his third consecutive victory

Inauguration Ceremony

L to R: B K Chaurasia, Dr. Sunil Somani, Anil Fatechandani, Ar. Achal Choudhary, IPS Makrand Deoskar and IM Akshat Khamparia.

Post match analysis between IAS Siddharth Jain, IM Akshat Khamparia and others

The tournament hall at Indore Public School Academy in Indore, Madhya Pradesh

Organizing team

Organizing team: Architect Achal Choudhary, President IPS Academy, Dr. Sunil Somani, Tournament Director, Mr. Anil Fatehchandani, President Indore Chess Association, IM FT Akshat Khamparia, Convenor MP Chess Ad-Hoc Committee,Vivek Vishwakarma and Pankaj Tiwari, Photographers, FA Aditi Shrivastav, Chief Arbiter, FA Sourabh Soni, Deputy Chief Arbiter and SNA Gaurav Chaturvedi.


Thanks to IM FT Akshat Khamparia for sharing photos and info about the tournament.


A total of 44 players took part from various districts across Madhya Pradesh in this one-day six round non-rating tournament for MP Civil Service employees. It was organized by Director, Sports and Youth Welfare, Govt. of MP at Indore Public School Academy in Indore, Madhya Pradesh on Saturday 18th November 2023. The time control of the event was 15 minutes + 10 seconds increment per move.

Final standings

Rk.SNoNameFEDRtgClub/CityPts. TB1  TB2  TB3 
11Chaurasia, B.K.IND2110Bhopal519,522,518,00
23Shekhar, VermaIND1711Katni5182015,50
32Deepak, ChiwandeIND1820Bhopal51718,512,50
422Makrand Deoskar,IND0Indore4,5222517,75
533Raju Singh Shipli,IND0Raisen4,52224,517,25
610Siddharth, JainIND1143Indore4,521,524,518,25
716Dinesh Champwar,IND0Mandsaur4,521,524,517,25
84AGMVivekanand, YadavIND1653Chhindwara4,5171912,75
96Brajesh, Kumar UpadhyayIND1493Jabalpur4222515,50
109Bhuvneshwar, VermaIND1180Raisen420,52313,50


Related news:
ChessBase India Training Academy invites you to 1st Khelo Chess India Rating Open 2024

@ 04/05/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Himal Gusain wins Padma Shri Late Abhay Chhajlani Memorial 2nd UICC Rapid Rating Open 2024

@ 26/04/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Ayush Sharma dominates UICC Indore Rapid Rating Open 2024

@ 22/01/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Boris Savchenko wins 2nd Indore GM Open 2024, Ratnakaran third

@ 20/01/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Naitik R Mehta clinches 2nd Indore GM Below 2000 Rating Tournament 2024

@ 16/01/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
2nd Indore GM Open 2024 R7: Goutham outplays Hesham in the endgame

@ 14/01/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
2nd Indore GM Open 2024 R5-6: Fedorov emerges sole leader, Deepan in pursuit

@ 13/01/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
2nd Indore GM Open 2024 R4: Deepan subdues Savchenko, gains early sole lead

@ 12/01/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
2nd Indore GM Open 2024 R2-3: Nandhidhaa makes a perfect start

@ 11/01/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
2nd Indore GM Open 2024 R1: Daaevik, Saurabh and Vivaan score upsets

@ 10/01/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Ayush Sharma dominates 1st Scindia Cup Rapid Rating Open 2023

@ 17/11/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
आयुष शर्मा बने मध्य प्रदेश के तीसरे इंटरनेशनल मास्टर

@ 22/09/2023 by Niklesh Jain (hi)
Kartavya Anadkat conquers 5th Kamlaram Welfare Society Rapid Rating Open 2023

@ 21/07/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Neelash Saha clinches 35th All India Railway Individual Championship 2023 on his debut

@ 12/07/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Integral Coach Factory dominates 35th All India Railway Team Championship 2023

@ 11/07/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Kishan Kumar victorious at Chess for Everyone Rating Open in Sagar, Madhya Pradesh

@ 12/05/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Vigneshwaran S wins 1st Prime Chess Academy Rapid Rating Open 2022

@ 10/12/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Laxman R R wins Dr. Ajitkumar Singh Kasliwal & Suneeta Singh Memorial Rapid Rating Open 2022

@ 09/12/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Kaustuv Kundu wins 1st Chandrashekhar Azad Memorial All India Rapid Rating Open

@ 08/03/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
P Shyam Nikhil triumphs Pandit Shiv Kumar Khamparia Memorial Blitz Rating Open 2022

@ 30/01/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Prakhar Bajaj and Cera Dagaria score 100% to win Madhya Pradesh State Sub-Junior 2021 Boys and Girls

@ 06/01/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Sriram Jha wins 1st Chhindwara All India Rapid Rating Open

@ 26/12/2021 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Laxman R R wins Dr. Ajit Kumar Singh Kasliwal and Suneeta Singh Memorial All India Rapid Rating Open

@ 08/12/2021 by Shahid Ahmed (en)

Contact Us