chessbase india logo

Vidit's blindfold magic on 2nd of May at 9.30 p.m. IST

by Sagar Shah - 02/05/2019

We often see top chess players not looking at the board while calculating. It seems that their attention is somewhere else, yet after a few minutes they make the move without having even glanced at the position. What do you think they were doing for the last few minutes? Well, they were thinking in their head. They did not need to see the chess board to calculate the variations. They could do it in their head. So how do these super GMs calculate without a chess board? How are they able to make complex decisions in their mind, which normal players cannot fathom. Well, on 2nd of May 2019, we get India no.3 and a GM rated 2707 Vidit Gujrathi to tell us all about how to calculate better in blindfold. At the same time Vidit will be available online for live interaction via chat.

GM Vidit Gujrathi visited the ChessBase India studio in Mumbai in the last week of April. One of Vidit's excellent qualities is that he likes to share his knowledge with aspiring chess enthusiasts. After years of hardwork he has been able to reach a rating of 2700+, a rating which only a handful GMs all across the world can boast off. Vidit is also an excellent blindfold player and this is precisely the knowledge he wanted to share. So, we tied a cloth around Vidit's eyes and gave him five tough compositions to solve. He tried to solve them without looking at the board and the result of all of this was a 46-minute blindfold video!

Vidit is a well known blindfold expert, with his first video releasing in June 2017. This was shot by ChessBase India in his hometown Nashik.

The next one was in Kolkata where Vidit was subjected to some extremely difficult positions!

This time we decided to take things up a notch!

We asked Vidit to wear a blindfold around his eyes (a chess themed one!) and we had a chess board where moves were made at real time as Vidit said out the moves aloud
Trailer of what you can expect at the show

The five positions:

Position 1 - Ehrlich, 1928. White to play and win

Position 2 - Rinck, 1928. White to play and win

Position 3 - Wotawa, 1961, White to play and win

Position 4 - Smyslov 1936, White to play and win

Position 5 - Beliavksy 2008. White to play and win

Try your hand at solving the above positions! You can try doing it on a chess board, or if you feel up to the challenge, then try without a chess board like Vidit did.

YouTube Premier of the show at 9.30 p.m. IST on 2nd of May

The show will be premiered on 2nd of May at 9.30 p.m. IST. Although the video is pre-recorded, Vidit will be present during the video on YouTube, so that you can speak with him and ask him his questions.

Don't miss the show!

What time will the premiere begin in your time zone?

In India - 9.30 p.m. on 2nd of May

In New York, USA - 12 p.m. on 2nd of May

In California, USA - 9 a.m. on 2nd of May

In London, UK - 5 p.m. on 2nd of May

In Hamburg, Germany - 6 p.m. on 2nd of May

In Moscow, Russia - 7 p.m. on 2nd of May

In Beijing, China - 00.00 a.m. on 3rd of May

In Sydney, Australia - 2 a.m. on 3rd of May 

Previous blindfold videos of Vidit:

The first episode of Vidit solving studies without a chess board. This was shot in Nashik
The second episode, shot in Kolkata

For all those who would like to listen to Vidit's analysis for 9 hours, can go for his Caro Kann DVD that he has recorded for ChessBase:

 


Related news:
The Deathmatch: Anish Giri vs Vidit Gujrathi

@ 30/07/2022 by Himank Ghosh (en)
Vidit Gujrathi's big announcement - it was an April Fool's Day Prank!

@ 02/04/2022 by Sagar Shah (en)
India no.2 Vidit Gujrathi makes a big announcement

@ 01/04/2022 by Sagar Shah (en)
विदित गुजराती के सबसे बेहतरीन 5 मुक़ाबले

@ 08/09/2020 by Niklesh Jain (hi)
Vidit Gujrathi signs a five-year deal with Black Lotus App

@ 03/09/2020 by ChessBase India (en)
भारतीय टीम के प्रदर्शन से बेहद खुश - विदित गुजराती

@ 27/08/2020 by Niklesh Jain (hi)
The 10-day online training camp with GM Vladimir Chuchelov and Vidit Gujrathi on Strategic Balance

@ 21/07/2020 by Sagar Shah (en)
Vidit Gujrathi versus the comedians!

@ 15/04/2020 by Sagar Shah (en)
फीडे को कैंडीडेट टूर्नामेंट आगे बढ़ाना चाहिए था:विदित

@ 03/04/2020 by Niklesh Jain (hi)
India has a new no.2 - Vidit Gujrathi

@ 02/02/2020 by Sagar Shah (en)
Can you impress Vidit with your out of the box thinking?

@ 18/11/2019 by Sagar Shah (en)
Last round results can make or break your events

@ 16/03/2019 by Sagar Shah (en)
Prague 2019 R01-03: Vidit beats Gelfand, Hari's beauty against Duda

@ 09/03/2019 by Sagar Shah (en)
Vidit Gujrathi: "I, like everyone else, want to perform well"

@ 18/01/2019 by Aditya Pai (en)
Three Indian players cornered and attacked in Philippines

@ 09/12/2018 by Sagar Shah (en)
Vidit Gujrathi visits the land of Maharajas!

@ 21/11/2018 by Ankit Dalal (en)
10 reasons why you will fall in love with Vidit Gujrathi

@ 24/10/2018 by Sagar Shah (en)
Batumi Chess Olympiad: Sasikiran helps India edge out Czech Republic, women suffer their first loss

@ 03/10/2018 by Aditya Pai (en)
Batumi Olympiad round 4: USA too strong for team India, women beat Poland

@ 28/09/2018 by Aditya Pai (en)
Live Games and Updates of Team india from Batumi Olympiad 2018

@ 24/09/2018 by ChessBase India (en)