chessbase india logo

Mayank Chakraborty wins 20th North East India Chess Championship 2022

by Shahid Ahmed - 09/01/2023

Both CM Mayank Chakraborty and Rahul Gurung scored an unbeaten 8/9 each. However, Mayank won 20th North East India Chess Championship 2022 due to better tie-breaks, Rohit was adjudged second. Tamang Thendup scored sole 7.5/9 to finish third. He also remained undefeated. The total prize fund of the tournament was ₹300000. The top three prizes were ₹50000, ₹30000 and ₹20000 along with a trophy each. Mayank finished the year with a dozen tournament triumphs in his bag, five of them were rated events, including 32nd National Under-17 Open. He is currently the Assam triple crown champion (Classical, Rapid and Blitz). Photo: FA Ravi Kant Tiwari

Sikkim claims two podium places

The top two seeds scored 8/9, remained undefeated and finished in the same order according to tie-breaks. Rahul Gurung and Tamang Thendup of Sikkim, secured two out of the top three places. Assam and Sikkim claimed three places each out of top ten, Mizoram secured two, Tripura and Meghalaya got one each. Mayank is sponsored by Murleidhor Jalan Foundation. He was given ₹2.5 lacs a year ago to fulfill his potential. The teenager is certainly making a steady progress.

Champion - CM Mayank Chakraborty (ASM) 8/9 | Photo: FA Ravi Kant Tiwari

Runner-up - Rahul Gurung (SIK) 8/9 | Photo: FA Ravi Kant Tiwari

Round 6: Soram Rahul Singh - CM Mayank Chakraborty: 0-1 | Photo: FA Ravi Kant Tiwari

The tournament hall | Photo: Madhab Sarma

Closing Ceremony | Photo: FA Ravi Kant Tiwari

A total of 174 players took part from various North-Eastern states of India. The five-day nine-round Swiss league Rating tournament was organized by All Assam Chess Association and Darrang District Chess Association at Sainik Bhawan, Mangaldai, Assam from 14th to 18th December 2022. The time control of the tournament was 90 minutes + 30 seconds increment from move no.1.

Final standings

Rk.SNoNameTypsexFEDRtgIClub/CityPts. TB1  TB2  TB3  TB4  TB5 
11CMMayank ChakrabortyU13IND2179ASM850,554,547,5007
22Gurung RahulIND2028SIK8505448,0007
35Tamang ThendupIND1937SIK7,551,555,545,5006
445Snehaal RoyU13IND1369ASM75155,540,5006
517Stephen MalsawmtluangaIND1638MIZO7515438,0007
64Gurung RohitIND1948SIK7495439,7506
711Avigyan GhoshIND1739TRI74953,539,2506
816Barbith M SangmaIND1664MEGH7465036,5007
930Rituraj TamuliIND1495ASM7454935,0007
117Singh Soram RahulIND1861ASM6,5505436,7506
1229Yuwan DasU13IND1516ASM6,54953,536,2506
1314Subhajit DharIND1689ASM6,54952,535,7506
1413Iftikar Alom MazumdarIND1714ASM6,547,55234,5006
156Kevilekho ZumvuIND1901NAGA6,547,551,535,5006
1626Ashvin SharmaIND1541ASM6,5475033,0006
1740Tanmay RajbongshiU11IND1408ASM6,546,55034,0006
1850Tinku Moni DasIND1335ASM6,54345,528,2506
1924Francis LalhmunmawiaIND1563MIZO6,54144,531,0006
2015Cheniram PeguIND1684ASM6475028,0006


Related news:
Iftikar Alom Mazumdar convincingly clinches 2nd Lt. Diloo Dhar Memorial Rating Open 2024

@ 14/04/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Kumar Gaurav superb at 1st Sakatam Rating Open 2024

@ 09/04/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Kumar Gaurav triumphs at South Point School Guwahati Rating Open 2023

@ 07/01/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Vikramaditya Kulkarni dominates 8th Kurukshetra Rating Open 2023

@ 12/12/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Samyak Dharewa sensational at All India School Rating Open 2023 with a perfect 9/9

@ 26/11/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Mayank Chakraborty becomes the second International Master from North-East India

@ 25/11/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Mayank Chakraborty clinches Gold at Tata Steel Asian Junior Open Rapid 2023, Silver for Jyothsna and Mrudul Bronze among Girls

@ 09/09/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Nikita Khoroshev wins Issykkul Open 2023, Aradhya Garg second

@ 29/07/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Kartavya Anadkat dominates 5th Ayodhana Rating Open 2023 with a perfect 9/9

@ 25/07/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Mayank Chakraborty and Mrittika Mallick are the MPL 33rd National Under-17 Open and Girls Chess Champions

@ 16/05/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Khumukcham Sanjoy Singh dominates 7th Kurukshetra Rating Open 2022

@ 11/01/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Rohit Gurung wins 1st Abja Suresh Memorial Rating Open 2022

@ 06/01/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Kishore Kumar Jaganathan conquers 1st Karimganj Rating Open 2022 with a round to spare

@ 22/12/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Mohit Kumar Soni clinches 4th CPPA Rating Open 2022

@ 29/11/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Mayank Chakraborty dominates 1st All Assam Rapid and Blitz Rating 2022

@ 15/09/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Kumar Gaurav triumphs at 1st Juii Bora Rating Open 2022

@ 12/08/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Arpan Das wins 4th Ayodhana International Rating Open 2022

@ 04/08/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Mayank Chakraborty and Bhagyashree Patil win the MPL National Under-17 Open and Girls Chess Championships

@ 11/07/2022 by Himank Ghosh (en)
The star from Assam, Shahil Dey scores his first GM norm

@ 16/06/2022 by Himank Ghosh (en)
MPL 34th National U-14 R7-8: Mayank Chakraborty outplays Om Kadam

@ 13/05/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
India and Asia no.1 in under-11: Mayank Chakraborty

@ 08/11/2021 by Sagar Shah (en)
Saptarshi Roy Chowdhury wins 1st ONGC Jorhat Open 2020

@ 15/02/2020 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Mayank Chakraborty - 'The Awesome Kid' from Assam

@ 07/12/2019 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Mayank Chakraborty and Anupam Sreekumar are the National Under-11 Champions

@ 24/11/2019 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Silchar Open 2018: Barua held and Sayantan stunned in round 4

@ 29/09/2018 by Nongsha Angom (en)
1st ever FIDE rated tournament in Silchar begins!

@ 27/09/2018 by Nongsha Angom (en)

Contact Us