chessbase india logo

Arpan Das wins 4th Ayodhana International Rating Open 2022

by Shahid Ahmed - 04/08/2022

Top seed of the tournament, Arpan scored an unbeaten 8/9 and finished a half point ahead of the field. This is his second consecutive triumph after winning the 1st HDCA All India Open Rating the previous month. Rupam Mukherjee scored 7.5/9 to finish sole second. This is his second consecutive podium finish, after winning 15th G H Raisoni Memorial Rating Open in June. Five players scored 7/9. Assam's very own, Neelabh Jyoti Borthakur was placed third according to tie-breaks. He drew with the eventual champion in the seventh round. Total prize fund of the tournament was ₹200000. Top three prizes were ₹30000, ₹20000 and ₹15000 cash along with a trophy each respectively. Photo: FA Pranab Kumar Nath

Second triumph in three weeks

Arpan Das won his second consecutive tournament in 17 days. Both champion and second runner-up remained undefeated. Tanisha A R Som and Chaarvi Choudhury are two girls to finish in top 10. They scored 7/9 and 6.5/9 to secure fifth and ninth place respectively. Chaarvi is also the youngest finisher among top 10.

Champion - Arpan Das 8/9 | Photo: FA Pranab Kumar Nath

Arpan Das scored an unbeaten 8/9, drew with both runner-ups

Runner-up - Rupam Mukhejee 7.5/9 | Photo: FA Pranab Kumar Nath

Second Runner-up -Neelabh Jyoti Borthakur 7/9 | Photo: FA Pranab Kumar Nath

A total of 138 players including a player from Bangladesh took part in this six-day nine-round Swiss League Open Rating tournament. The tournament was organized by Chess Players Parents Forum, Assam at Assam Down Town University from 3rd to 8th July 2022. The time control of the event was 90 minutes + 30 seconds increment.

Final standings

Rk.SNoNameTypsexGrFEDRtgClub/CityPts. TB1  TB2  TB3 
11Arpan DasIND2145West Bengal8525547,75
25Rupam MukherjeeIND1770West Bengal7,548,55242,50
36Neelabh Jyoti BorthakurIND1751Assam74850,537,50
42Ashutosh KumarIND1938Bihar74749,534,50
510Tanisha A R SomwIND1605Assam746,55036,50
623Abinash P GogoiIND1468Assam745,549,538,00
78Uddipta GogoiGuwaIND1666Assam744,54835,00
84Kishan KumarIND1773Bihar6,5495235,00
930Chaarvi ChoudhuryU14wGuwaIND1394Assam6,5485236,00
109Sahjahan AliGuwaIND1616Assam6,54347,531,00
1115Rituraj TamuliIND1514Assam6,542,545,531,00
1216Padma GogoiIND1508Assam650,554,529,75
1313Chiraranjan BhuyanS50GuwaIND1530Assam647,552,533,25
1419Ashvin SharmaU16GuwaIND1493Assam64750,528,75
1514Rishav BarmanGuwaIND1518Assam646,548,530,00
1611Pran Govinda Parashar KashyapU16GuwaIND1597Assam64649,530,25
1740Nalinakhya KashyapU14GuwaIND1198Assam645,548,528,25
1820Rajbeer AhmedIND1480Tripura64549,530,75
1921Abhirup SaikiaU12GuwaIND1471Assam644,548,529,50
203Gias Uddin AhmedBAN1797643,54830,75