chessbase india logo

Silchar Open 2018: Barua held and Sayantan stunned in round 4

by Nongsha Angom - 29/09/2018

With every passing round, the Silchar Open 2018 is becoming more and more intense. Round 4 witnessed some major upsets of the event so far. Top seed GM Dibyendu Barua was held by Shankar Majumdar, IM Suvrajit Saha was also held by current Assam Champion Rahul Singh, local boy Rajdip Das won his game against WIM Saheli Dhar-Barua. The biggest upset came in board 2 where 2nd seeded IM Sayantan Das was outplayed by RK Bhogen Singh of Manipur. In this report we bring you games and photos from day 3 of the event.

Top players stunned in Day 3

After a heavy rain the previous day the 4th round saw a couple of upset on the top boards. The biggest upset came on board 2 where IM Sayantan Das went down against RK Bhogen Singh of Manipur.

Shankar Majumdar (Right) kept cool nerves to remain in control and held GM Dibyendu Barua (Left) to a draw.

GM Dibyendu Barua vs Shankar Majumdar

Current Assam Champion Soram Rahul Singh was also able to hold IM Suvrajit Saha on the 6th board.

Soram Rahul Singh vs Suvrajit Dhar


Rajdip Das of Silchar won his game against WIM Saheli Dhar-Barua.

Rajdip Das vs WIM Saheli Dhar-Barua


The biggest upset of day 3 was 2nd seeded IM Sayantan Das of West Bengal losing against RK Bhogen Singh of Manipur in a sharp Sicilian Taimanov. The way the game finished especially beautiful.

The final position of the game, White just played 62.Be5 to seal the game.

A still from the scene: RK Bhogen Singh (Front Left) and IM Sayantan Das (Front Left).

RK Bhogen Singh vs IM Sayantan Das

After the completion of round 5 there are 3 players who are leading the tournament IM Neeraj K. Mishra, IM Rishi Sardana and CM Aronyak Ghosh are all leading with perfect 5.0/5 points.

Rank after Round 5

Rk.SNo NameTypsexGrFEDRtg TB1  TB2  TB3  TB4  TB5 
IMMishra Neeraj-KumarIND22725,00,018,016,016,00
CMAronyak GhoshU15IND23315,00,017,015,017,00
IMSardana RishiAUS24075,00,015,513,515,50
GMBarua DibyenduIND24434,50,017,514,515,75
Arpan DasIND21644,50,016,514,014,75
Majumdar ShankarIND20234,50,016,015,013,75
IMSuvrajit SahaIND22244,50,016,013,514,25
Apollosana Mangang RajkumarIND20824,50,015,013,013,25
IMDas SayantanIND24254,00,017,515,013,50
Singh S. VikramjitIND21924,00,017,016,011,00


Silchar is slowly becoming the chess powerhouse of Assam and we tried to dig a little to know how it all started here. We got to know that it was in the year 1993 that a passionate chess player from the area vowed to make a change in the place and travelled to the hub Guwahati to share his grievances before the members of the state body. He was successful in his mission. He convinced everyone in the meeting and formed the Cachar District Chess Association right after returning. The first thing he did was he started organizing chess events to bring up good players from the rural parts of Cachar and give them a platform. From purchasing chess clocks to teaching players how to write chess notations he didn't leave any stone unturned.

L. Moni Singha, Founder of Cachar District Chess Association, Retd. Teacher of Govt. Boys High School with some memories from 1993.


Click here for full standings

Related news:
Iftikar Alom Mazumdar convincingly clinches 2nd Lt. Diloo Dhar Memorial Rating Open 2024

@ 14/04/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Kumar Gaurav superb at 1st Sakatam Rating Open 2024

@ 09/04/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Kumar Gaurav triumphs at South Point School Guwahati Rating Open 2023

@ 07/01/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Vikramaditya Kulkarni dominates 8th Kurukshetra Rating Open 2023

@ 12/12/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Samyak Dharewa sensational at All India School Rating Open 2023 with a perfect 9/9

@ 26/11/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Kartavya Anadkat dominates 5th Ayodhana Rating Open 2023 with a perfect 9/9

@ 25/07/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Khumukcham Sanjoy Singh dominates 7th Kurukshetra Rating Open 2022

@ 11/01/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Mayank Chakraborty wins 20th North East India Chess Championship 2022

@ 09/01/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Rohit Gurung wins 1st Abja Suresh Memorial Rating Open 2022

@ 06/01/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Kishore Kumar Jaganathan conquers 1st Karimganj Rating Open 2022 with a round to spare

@ 22/12/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Mohit Kumar Soni clinches 4th CPPA Rating Open 2022

@ 29/11/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Mayank Chakraborty dominates 1st All Assam Rapid and Blitz Rating 2022

@ 15/09/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Kumar Gaurav triumphs at 1st Juii Bora Rating Open 2022

@ 12/08/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Arpan Das wins 4th Ayodhana International Rating Open 2022

@ 04/08/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
The star from Assam, Shahil Dey scores his first GM norm

@ 16/06/2022 by Himank Ghosh (en)
Saptarshi Roy Chowdhury wins 1st ONGC Jorhat Open 2020

@ 15/02/2020 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
The Controversy in Bengal Chess

@ 01/09/2019 by ChessBase India (en)
The friendship and rivalry between India's first two GMs - Vishy Anand and Dibyendu Barua

@ 15/04/2019 by Rakesh Rao (en)
Tripura calling: A fantasy land for nature lovers!

@ 15/02/2019 by Nongsha Angom (en)
Rahul Gurung wins the North Eastern Championship for 2nd straight year

@ 06/02/2019 by Nongsha Angom (en)
1st ever FIDE rated tournament in Silchar begins!

@ 27/09/2018 by Nongsha Angom (en)

Contact Us