chessbase india logo

Amazing Aravindh Chithambaram wins MPL Indian Chess Tour 2022 leg 2

by Shahid Ahmed - 06/06/2022

Aravindh Chithambaram continued his momentum from the previous day. He won the first two games on the final day of MPL Indian Chess Tour leg 2. A draw in the final round was enough for him to win the tournament, as he had more number of wins than Nihal Sarin. Both Aravindh and Nihal scored 32/45. Leon Luke Mendonca and Raunak Sadhwani scored 26/45 each. They secured third and fourth place. This win earned Aravindh a spot in the next event of Meltwater Champions Chess Tour. He also qualified for the eight-player tour finals, which will take place in November. This is Aravindh's fourth triumph of the year and perhaps could be the most important one. Photo: chess24

Invincible Nihal finishes second on tie-breaks

While Nihal remained undefeated, it was Aravindh who scored 10 wins, one more than Nihal. He actually scored 11 wins, however Gukesh's withdrawal nullified that victory. GM Harsha Bharathakoti and FM Aradhya Garg were the only two players who managed to beat the eventual winner.

Aravindh Chithambaram registered six consecutive wins in this event | Photo: chess24

Round 13: Aravindh - Leon: 3-0

GM Aravindh Chithambaram extended his win streak to five games when defeated GM Leon Luke Mendonca.

Position after 27...f3

There are always two approach to any position - you let your opponent do the things they want or take charge and do the things you want, in short take control. Aravindh did exactly that 28.Nexf3! shows the class exf3 29.Rxe7 Bxe7 30.Ne6 Qd6 31.Nxf8 Nxf8 32.Bf5 Qf6 33.Qxf3. White might had to give two minor pieces for a rook, however White also has three pawns for it and the bishops are unable to unleash their true potential. Aravindh went on to win the game comfortably.

Round 14: Visakh - Aravindh: 0-3

Aravindh scored a double hat-trick of wins when GM Visakh N R made a fatal mistake in a slightly unfavorable Knight endgame.

Position after 34...Nb1

It is incredibly difficult to defend this endgame as White. 35.Nc2 only hastened White's loss Nd2+ 36.Ke3 Nxb3 37.Kd3 Kb5 38.Kc3 Nc5 and White resigned.

Scoring system

Win - 3 points, Draw - 1 point and Loss - 0.

Replay the live stream

MPL Indian Chess Tour Leg 2 Round 13-15 Live commentary by GM Srinath Narayanan and IM Tania Sachdev | Video: chess24

Replay Round 13-15 games

Final standings after Round 15

Aravindh Chithambaram has won the tournament on tie-breaks | Photo: chess24

All games will start from 3:30 p.m. IST between 2nd and 5th June 2022.


Official site