chessbase india logo

Arpan Das dominates 1st HDCA All India Rating Open 2022

by Shahid Ahmed - 06/07/2022

The second seed of the tournament, Arpan Das scored an unbeaten 8.5/9 to win 1st HDCA All India Rating Open 2022. He finished a half point ahead of the field. Top seed of the tournament, IM FT Suvrajit Saha made 8/9 to finish second. 16-year-old Ayush Jha was placed third with a score of 7.5/9. The entire top three finishers remained undefeated. Total prize fund of the tournament was ₹250000. Top three prizes were ₹50000 and a trophy, ₹30000 and ₹20000 cash respectively. Check out the champion's thoughts on his triumph and the tournament. He also took time to annotate his favorite game of the event, hours before leaving for his next event at Guwahati, Assam. Photo: Shahid Ahmed

Unbeaten podium finishers

"The HDCA tournament was quite well organized for a first time event. I was expecting to finish in the top 3, so I wasn't super surprised by finishing first, but it was definitely a welcome as I didn't really play particularly well in the event.

Champion - Arpan Das 8.5/9 | Photo: Deepak Kumar

I actually had quite a tough start. I messed up winning positions in rounds 3-5; the first two I salvaged by grinding out the endgame, the last one didn't work out and was a draw. The penultimate day was quite tumultuous; while I only made one major mistake in the morning round, it would've been very tough to survive if he had exploited it. The afternoon round, I made a really bad decision regarding my pawn structure; and had my opponent blown up the centre with a sacrifice, with my knights on the flank and my king stuck in the centre; I probably would've lost. Thankfully, he opted to manoeuvre, and eventually blundered and I won it.

Arpan Das scored an unbeaten 8.5/9, gained 24 Elo rating points and finished a half point ahead of the competition

The last game was definitely the best game I played in the tournament, versus Kumar Gaurav. I out-prepared him and gained a 35+ minutes time advantage just out of the opening. A few more accurate-ish moves, while he made two minor mistakes; then a major one, and suddenly I was significantly better and he was under time pressure. If I drew, and IM Suvrajit Saha won, I could very well be second because my Buchholz was quite bad for some reason; so I opted to play on. It was the correct decision since apparently, that position was winning for white. Maybe with more time he could've defended better, but this time, I took home the full point and the trophy." - Arpan Das on winning 1st HDCA All India Rating Open 2022.

Runner-up - IM FT Suvrajit Saha 8/9 | Photo: Deepak Kumar

Second Runner-up - Ayush Jha 7.5/9 | Photo: Deepak Kumar

Arpan - Gaurav, Round 9

Position after 26.Rxe4

Arpan offered his knight for sacrifice as he had a devastating attack planned on his opponent king. 26.Rxe4 Black accepted the knight sacrifice hxg4 27.Rxg4 Ne7 28.d5 the bishop joins the attack as a sniper. White checkmated the black king in another six moves. White could not have asked for a better way to win the game and the tournament.

Prize distribution ceremony was held on 26th June 2022 at 3 p.m. Prize winners are awarded by Chief Guest Mr. Rishav Garg, IPS, Mr. Ashish Kumar, President, CDCA , Mr. Vijay Kumar Singh, President, HDCA, Mr. Keshav Kumar, Mr. Surendra Pd. Singh, Mr. Narendra Kumar, Mr. Mayur Jha, Mr. Shyama Nand Singh, Mr. Manoj Singh and Mr. Raj Verma.

Lighting of the lamp at the Inauguration Ceremony | Photo: Deepak Kumar

Mukul Narayanan Dev and IM FT Suvrajit Saha made the inaugural moves | Photo: Deepak Kumar

The tournament was inaugurated by Mr. Mukul Narayan Dev, VC, Vinoba Bhave University on 22nd June 2022 at Multipurpose Hall, Vinoba Bhave University, Hazaribag (Jharkhand) in presence of Mrs. Richa Sanchita, Executive President, AJCA with Mr. Vijay Kumar Singh, President, HDCA, Mr. Surendra Prasad Singh, Social worker, Mr. Manmeet Akela, Org. Secretary and IM FT Suvrajit Saha.


A total of 220 players including an IM took part in this five-day Classical Rating tournament. The event was organized by Hazaribag District Chess Association at Multipurpose Hall, Vinoba Bhave University, Hazaribag, Jharkhand from 22nd to 26th June 2022. The nine-round Swiss League tournament had a time control of 90 minutes + 30 seconds increment.

Final standings

Rk.SNoNameTypsexFEDRtgClub/CityPts. TB1  TB2  TB3 
12Arpan DasIND2121WB8,551,055,052,75
21IMSuvrajit SahaIND2178WB8,050,555,548,25
313Ayush JhaU17IND1825WB7,551,053,544,00
44Kumar GauravIND2045BIHAR7,054,558,543,25
57Pradip GhoshIND2001WB7,050,554,039,50
65Rohan Vijay ShandilyaIND2014JHAR (ESDCA)7,049,554,037,25
76Nath RupankarIND2009WB7,049,053,039,75
83Arindam MukherjeeIND2045WB7,045,048,036,25
99Singh PritamIND1928JHAR (ESDCA)7,045,046,535,50
108Ashutosh KumarIND1932BIHAR6,551,055,534,00
1118Garima GauravF19wIND1690BIHAR6,550,554,533,00
1215Kishan KumarIND1747BIHAR6,550,554,035,25
1311Sharma VivekIND1853BIHAR6,550,053,034,75
1416Basak BishalIND1723WB6,548,051,534,25
1523Ayush DasU17IND1514WB6,547,550,534,25
1631Bivor AdakU13IND1416WB6,547,051,534,75
1714Verma SanjayIND1811S.E.Rly6,547,051,035,50
1810Biswajit ChatterjeeIND1895S.E.Rly6,546,049,033,75
19203Shubham KumarU19IND0BIHAR6,546,048,032,50
2012Rajesh KumarIND1832S.E.Rly6,545,048,033,75
2149Anirban NandiU15IND1253WB6,544,547,533,50
2250Adhiraj MitraU11IND1252JHAR (ESDCA)6,541,044,531,75
2325Vishal SharmaU17IND1462BIHAR6,052,055,033,50
2419Ishant KumarU15IND1674JHAR (Dhanbad)6,049,053,033,50
2520Aman KumarIND1651BIHAR6,048,051,029,00
2634Shankhadeep MaityU17IND1388WB6,047,049,530,50
2721Sneha HalderF13wIND1589WB6,046,550,531,50
2827Raja BoseIND1447JHAR (Dhanbad)6,046,550,030,00
2935Aniket Narayan BiswasU17IND1349WB6,046,549,532,00
3017Sudhakar Prem DuttIND1716JHAR (Palamu)6,045,550,030,00


Contact Us