chessbase india logo

Ziaur Rahman wins Al Mahmud Memorial Probashi Rating 2022, Arpan Das second

by Shahid Ahmed - 15/02/2022

Second seeded, Bangladesh's legendary GM Ziaur Rahman scored an unbeaten 8.0/9 and finished a full point ahead of the competition to win Al Mahmud Memorial Probashi Rating. Five players scored 7.0/9. Arpan Das secured second position according to tie-breaks. GM Abdullah Al Rakib, IM Abu Sufian Shakil, CM Nayem Haque and Anata Choudhury were placed third to sixth according to tie-breaks. The total prize fund of the tournament was Tk 331000 (approx. ₹2.91 lacs). The winner received Tk 75500, Tk 50000 for the Runner-up and Tk 30000 was awarded for the second runner-up. Photo: Bangladesh Chess Federation

Arpan Das performs his career best

17-year-old Arpan Das scored an unbeaten 7.0/9 to secure second position. It is his best performance so far in an open rating tournament. He gained 104.8 Elo rating points. Priyanshu Barua made 6.0/9, secured 10th place and increased his rating by 190.8 points. Mrittika Mallick scored 5.5/9, earning 176.8 points in the process.

Runner-up Arpan Das 7.0/9 | Photo: Bangladesh Chess Federation

Champion - GM Ziaur Rahman 8.0/9 | Photo: Bangladesh Chess Federation

3rd GM Abdullah Al Rakib 7.0/9 | Photo: Bangladesh Chess Federation

Arpan scored an unbeaten 7.0/9 to gain 104.8 Elo rating points

Arpan Das scored a nice win against FM Subrota Biswas in the seventh round.

Subrota - Arpan, Round 7

Position after 23.Rd2

Find out the winning combination for Black after 23.Rd2.

Arpan Das (left) drew with GM Abdullah Al Rakib in Round 4 | Photo: Bangladesh Chess Federation

Photo Gallery

4th IM Abu Sufian Shakil 7.0/9 | Photo: Bangladesh Chess Federation

5th CM Nayem Haque 7.0/9 | Photo: Bangladesh Chess Federation

Mr. Syed Shahab Uddin Shamim, General Secretary of Bangladesh Chess Federation made the inaugural move | Photo: Bangladesh Chess Federation

Prize winners at the closing ceremony | Photo: Bangladesh Chess Federation

10th Priyanshu Barua (left) 6.5/9, gained 190.8 Elo rating points | Photo: Bangladesh Chess Federation

Mrittika Mallick (lef0 5.5/9, increased her rating by 176.8 points | Photo: Bangladesh Chess Federation

A total of 134 players including 2 GMs, 2 IMs and a WIM took part in this tournament organized by Bangladesh Chess Federation under the patronage of Probashi Chess Forum. The event took place at Bangladesh Chess Federation, Dhaka, Bangladesh from 5th to 13th February 2022. The nine-round Swiss league had a time control of 90 minutes + 30 seconds increment from move no.1.

Replay all games

Final standings

Rk.SNo NameFEDRtgRtgIPts. TB1  TB2  TB3  TB4  TB5 Rpnwwew-we
GMRahman ZiaurBAN241724178,00,050,555,048,7572420987,620,38
Arpan Das (Jr)IND210721077,00,049,553,039,5052332974,382,62
GMMollah Abdullah Al RakibBAN242624267,00,048,553,039,5062212977,95-0,95
IMAbu Sufian ShakilBAN223222327,00,047,551,537,0062250976,630,37
CMNayem HaqueBAN215021507,00,047,550,536,7562261975,521,48
Anata ChoudhuryBAN217021707,00,045,549,033,7552210976,220,78
FMSubrota BiswasBAN220222026,50,048,053,035,006218396,56,420,08
CMZia Tahsin TajwarBAN228322836,50,047,051,032,504219196,56,85-0,35
CMMd. Sharif HossainBAN221122116,50,045,049,032,506215596,56,78-0,28
Priyanshu BaruaIND157315736,50,044,048,030,256217285,50,734,77
Moh Shahinur HossainBAN006,50,043,548,534,256211696,5
CMMd. Shawket Bin Osman ShaonBAN206520656,50,041,545,026,756201096,56,59-0,09
WFMNoshin AnjumBAN201720176,50,041,045,028,006212996,55,171,33
FMMehdi Hasan ParagBAN225822586,00,048,052,534,0062116967,23-1,23
CMIkramul Haq SiamBAN207520756,00,048,052,030,2552167964,701,30



Bangladesh Chess Federation

Related news:
Arpan Das wins 4th Ayodhana International Rating Open 2022

@ 04/08/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Arpan Das dominates 1st HDCA All India Rating Open 2022

@ 06/07/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)

Contact Us