chessbase india logo

Bangladesh Premier League R7: Bangladesh Police score another whitewash

by Shahid Ahmed - 26/03/2021

Bangladesh Police shows no sign of slowing down as they scored their second whitewash in Round 7 of Mujib Borso SAIF Powertec Premier Division Chess League. Bangladesh Navy suffered their third consecutive loss and fourth overall loss of the event. SAIF Sporting Club maintained their second position 10.0/12 as they beat Titas Club. Uttara Central regained their third position 8.0/14 with a victory over Sheikh Russel Chess Club. Round 8 is a rest day for Bangladesh Police. Photo: Bangladesh Chess Federation

Bangladesh Police maintain their sole lead

Bangladesh Police scored their second whitewash of the event, this time against Bangladesh Navy. They are now at 14.0/14. SAIF Sporting Club got back to winning ways as they beat Titas Club. SAIF Sporting is now at second position with 10.0/12. Uttara Central Chess Club returned to third position with 8.0/14 after winning against Sheikh Russel Chess Club by 2.5-1.5.

Bangladesh Police score their second whitewash of the event | Photo: Bangladesh Chess Federation

The tournament logo | Photo: Bangladesh Chess Federation

Bangladesh Navy - Bangladesh Police: 0-4

GM Surya Sekhar Ganguly scored a fine victory with a fantastic display of attack over GM Abu Sufian Shakil.

Abu Sufian - Ganguly

Position after 25.Bxa6

25.Bxa6 is a mistake. Find out the correct continuation for black.

IM Minhaz Uddin got some good chances against GM Raunak Sadhwani but he was unable to seize it.

Raunak - Minhaz

Position after 28.Kh1

White was forced to play 28.Kh1. What should black do now?

Position after 33.Qg4

Black needed to continue the attack with 33...f5 instead he chose to play 33...b5 and allowed white to get back in the game with 34.axb5 axb5 35.Bc5. White won the game in another ten moves.

FM Sheikh Nasir Ahmed and FM Khandaker Aminul Islam lost to their stronger opponents GM Mollah Abdullah Al Rakib and GM Ziaur Rahman respectively.

Bangladesh Navy got whitewashed by Bangladesh Police 0-4 | Photo: Bangladesh Chess Federation

Titas Club - SAIF Sporting Club: 0.5-3.5

GM Adhiban checkmated his opponent in 36 moves after his opponent Jabed Al Azad self-destructed.

Jabed - Adhiban

Position after 19.g4

19.g4 was uncalled for. White should have simply continued with 19.axb5 instead.

GM Vladislav Kovalev had a quiet draw with GM Arjun Erigaisi. IM Dhulipalla Bala Chandra Prasad had a fantastic position against GM Reefat Bin Sattar.

Bala Chandra - Reefat

Position after 26...b5

White has a complete advantage in the above diagram. The game went on with 27.Red1 although 27.Nf4 was better. Black managed to equalize but the final position was also in favor of white.

FM Mehdi Hasan Parag picked up his second victory of the event against Md. Masum Hossain in just 23 moves.

Titas Club lost to SAIF Sporting Club 0.5-3.5 | Photo: Bangladesh Chess Federation

Uttara Central Chess Club - Sheikh Russel Chess Club: 2.5-1.5

CM Tahsin Tajwar Zia lost to CM Nayem Haque after the latter was allowed a relentless attack.

Sumit Kumar lost to IM Mitrabha Guha after the former misjudged his opponent's attack.

Sumit - Mitrabha

Position after 24.Qd3

24.Qd3 is the final mistake. Find out the correct continuation for black.

IM Koustav Chatterjee won against Kaustuv Kundu. Kaustuv got into a terrible position out of the opening and could not manage to get back in the game.

Uttara Central Chess Club beat Sheikh Russel Chess Club 2.5-1.5 | Photo: Bangladesh Chess Federation

Photo Gallery

Bangladesh Biman defeated Janata Bank Officer Welfare Society 2.5-1.5 | Photo: Bangladesh Chess Federation

Shahin Chess Club whitewashed Sonali Bank Sports & Recreation Club 4-0 | Photo: Bangladesh Chess Federation

The tournament hall | Photo: Bangladesh Chess Federation

Tournament hall from another side | Photo: Bangladesh Chess Federation

A quick glance of Round 7 | Video: Bangladesh Chess Federation

Replay games from Round 7

There is one round every day starting at 3 p.m. BST (2:30 p.m. IST) from 19th to 28th March 2021. On 29th March the final round starts at 2 p.m. BST (1:30 p.m. IST). A total of 63 players including 13 GMs, 9 IMs, 2 WIMs, 10 FMs and 8 CMs are slated to take part. A staggering 66.67% players are titled, 20.6% are GMs and 14.3% are IMs.

Round 7 results

1  Uttara Central Chess Club  Sheikh Russel Chess Club:
2  Titas Club  SAIF Sporting Club½:
3  Bangladesh Biman  Janata Bank Officer Welfare Society:
4  Shahin Chess Club  Sonali Bank Sports & Recreation Club4:0
5  Bangladesh Navy  Bangladesh Police0:4
6  Leonin Chess Club  bye:



Bangladesh Chess Federation

Contact Us