chessbase india logo

Laxman wins All India Rapid Rating at Nagpur

by Shahid Ahmed - 05/11/2019

Top seed GM Laxman R R of ICF scored an unbeaten 8.0/9 to win All India Rapid Rating at Nagpur, Maharashtra. Local player FM Shailesh Dravid of Nagpur also finished at 8.0/9, however since he suffered a loss against the eventual champion in round 5, he was placed second. IM Nubairshah Shaikh scored 7.5/9 to secure third position. Total 218 players from nine different states across the nation participated in this two-day rapid rating tournament organized by Jai Sai Welfare Foundation at Nagpur, Maharashtra on 31st October and 1st November 2019. Total prize fund ₹302000 was distributed among the prize winners. Photo: IA Swapnil Bansod

Laxman wins his fifth tournament of the year

Ten days after winning Inter-Railway individual tournament, GM Laxman R R scored an unbeaten 8.0/9 to win All India Rapid Rating at Nagpur, Maharashtra.

Laxman receives his Champion's trophy and ₹36500 cash prize | Photo: Swapnil Bansod

Laxman's unbeaten championship run earned him 10 Elo rating points

Local lad FM Shailesh Dravid of Nagpur, Maharashtra scored eight wins and zero draws. His only loss of the tournament was against the eventual champion of the tournament, Laxman.

Runner-up FM Shailesh Dravid 8.0/9 receives a trophy and ₹23000 cash prize | Photo: Swapnil Bansod

Three players finished at 7.5/9, out of them IM Nubairshah Shaikh had the best tie-break, thus he was placed third. He remained undefeated too.

Second runner-up IM Nubairshah Shaikh scored 7.5/9 and received ₹15000 cash | Photo: Swapnil Bansod

Top 3 podium finishers (L to R) - Shailesh Dravid 2nd, Laxman R R 1st and Nubairshah Shaikh 3rd | Photo: Swapnil Bansod

The tournament was inaugurated by India's 65th and Nagpur's first GM Raunak Sadhwani. The eminent guests present were Mr. Dilip Kamdar, President NDCA, K K Barat, Secretary NDCA, Mr. R N Shriwas, Secretary VCA and also Mr. Bharat Sadhwani & Mrs. Heena Sadhwani (parents of Raunak Sadhwani), Tournament Organizing Secretary of Jai Sai Welfare Foundation and Mr. IA Swapnil Bansod, Chief Arbiter of Tournament.

India's 65th GM Raunak Sadhwani inaugurates the tournament | Photo: Swapnil Bansod

The well-lit and spacious tournament hall | Photo: Swapnil Bansod

Total 218 players participated in this event | Photo: Swapnil Bansod

Players from nine different states across the country participated in this two-days rapid rating tournament | Photo: Swapnil Bansod

The Prizes were distributed by Mr. Piyush Ambulkar, Sport Department, Krida Sanskritik Officer, Other guests present were Mr. Manish Tiwari, Executive Naivedhyam North Star, FA Umesh Panbude Tournament Secretary NDCA, SNA Sushant Jumde, Organising Secretary and IA Swapnil Bansod Chief Arbiter.


The tournament was organized Jai Sai Welfare Foundation on 31st October and 1st November at Naivedhyam Northstar, Nagpur in Maharashtra. Total 218 players participated from nine different states across the nation. Total prize fun ₹302000 was distributed among the prize winners.

Final Standings

Rk.SNo NameTypsexFEDRtgClub/CityPts. TB1  TB2  TB3  TB4  TB5 Krtg+/-
GMLaxman R.R.IND2403ICF8,01,053,057,049,7572010,4
FMShailesh DravidIND2160MAH-N8,00,055,059,051,0082020,2
IMMohammad Nubairshah ShaikhIND2198MAH7,50,052,557,546,2562030,0
IMSai Agni Jeevitesh JIND2273TEL7,50,050,054,542,757204,4
Sawalakhe JayU09IND1374MAH-N7,50,046,549,538,0072057,0
IMSankalp GuptaIND2264MAH-N7,00,054,059,043,756201,8
Patil PriyanshuIND1518MAH-N7,00,053,056,040,7562012,4
IMGirinath P.D.S.IND2310AP7,00,050,554,539,00720-9,2
Mudliyar KshitijU15IND1267MAH-N7,00,049,552,537,5072070,4
Suraj JaiswalIND1724MAH7,00,049,054,040,50720-4,4
Gawai SiddhantU13IND1356MAH-N7,00,048,549,535,2562059,8
Vaibhav Jayant RautIND1748MAH-N7,00,045,549,536,00720-14,4
Saurabh LokhandeIND1667MAH-N7,00,043,546,534,50720-4,2
Dhanvij AnshU13IND1407MAH-N7,00,042,045,034,7562024,2
Shanmukha PulliIND1581TEL6,50,048,051,533,2562016,0
Gaigore SanskarU09IND1313MAH-N6,50,046,550,534,2562061,0
Piyush NarsikarIND1223MAH6,50,045,048,030,2562040,4
Chitre ArushU09IND1076MAH-N6,50,044,549,033,2562080,2
AGMShivasubramanian RIND1494MAH-N6,50,044,048,032,50620-13,2
Krishna TaoriF13wIND1270MAH-N6,50,044,047,031,7552044,8

Complete standings

Related news:
Kartik, Ayush and Kartavya are the winners of 16th G H Raisoni Memorial Chess Festival 2023

@ 02/08/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Laxman triumphs at CMI Tessellate Rapid Rating Open 2023

@ 02/03/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Vigneshwaran S wins 1st Prime Chess Academy Rapid Rating Open 2022

@ 10/12/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Laxman R R wins Dr. Ajitkumar Singh Kasliwal & Suneeta Singh Memorial Rapid Rating Open 2022

@ 09/12/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Laxman R R dominates 17th BRDCA Rapid Rating Open 2022

@ 11/10/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Laxman and Nitin win GRT Shasun Jain College Rapid and Blitz Rating Open 2022

@ 29/07/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Rupam, Anwesh and Siddhant Gawai are the winners at 15th G H Raisoni Memorial Chess Festival 2022

@ 14/07/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Laxman R R wins 1st Vellore Rapid Rating Open 2021

@ 11/01/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Laxman R R wins 1st YSR All India Open 2021

@ 21/12/2021 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Neelash Saha and Debashis Das win 2nd G H Raisoni Memorial Rapid and Blitz Rating Open 2021

@ 11/12/2021 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Laxman R R wins Dr. Ajit Kumar Singh Kasliwal and Suneeta Singh Memorial All India Rapid Rating Open

@ 08/12/2021 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Laxman wins Pearl City All India Open and a brand new Maruti Alto 800

@ 13/09/2019 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
13-year-old Suhan Deshpande wins Below 1600 FIDE Rated at Nagpur

@ 04/08/2019 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Laxman wins 4th Triple C All India Open 2019

@ 26/04/2019 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Nagpur chess to the fore at National Sub Juniors 2017!

@ 17/10/2017 by Shahid Ahmed (en)

Contact Us