chessbase india logo

Laxman R R wins 1st YSR All India Open 2021

by Shahid Ahmed - 21/12/2021

Top seed of the tournament, GM Laxman R R of Integral Coach Factory, scored an unbeaten 8.5/10 along with IM Krishna Teja N and IM Himal Gusain at 1st YSR All India Open Rating. Laxman won the tournament due to better tie-break score, Krishna and Himal were placed second and third respectively. The tournament had the total prize fund of ₹301000 with the first prize being ₹30000 cash. It took place from 4th to 9th December at Swarnabharathi Indoor Stadium, at Visakhapatnam, Andhra Pradesh. This is Laxman's second consecutive tournament triumph after winning a Rapid Rating event last month in Madhya Pradesh and first Classical triumph since September 2019 when he won All India Railway Championship.

Top three score 8.5/10

Top three seeds scored an unbeaten 8.5/10. While top seed Laxman won the event, Himal Gusain and Krishna Teja N interchanged their seeding at the final standings. Five players finished at 8.0/10 including Telangana State Under-19 Girls and Telangana State Online Senior Women champion, Sarayu Velpula secured sixth place. Md. Bashiq Imrose was placed seventh. Both of them are 15-year-olds and from Telangana district.

Top 3 finishers - 2nd IM Krishna Teja N, 1st GM Laxman R R and 3rd IM Himal Gusain

Laxman scored 8.5/10, same as both Krishna and Himal, however he edged past them due to better tie-breaks

The tournament was organized by Sri Chess Academy from 4th to 9th December 2021 at Swarnabharathi Indoor Stadium at Visakhapatnam, Andhra Pradesh. A total of 273 players including a GM and two IMs took part in the ten-round Swiss league event which had a time control of 90 minutes + 30 seconds increment from move no.1.

Final Standings

Rk.SNoNameTypsexFEDRtgClub/CityPts. TB1  TB2  TB3  TB4  TB5 
11GMLaxman R.R.IND2428ICF8,567,072,561,500,07
23IMKrishna Teja NIND2371AP8,564,069,058,000,07
32IMGusain HimalIND2407WESTEN RLY8,562,567,053,250,07
415Chidvilash Sai SurapaneniU13IND1707TG8,062,067,552,750,07
55FMRamakrishna J.IND2105UBI8,061,064,050,500,07
68Velpula SarayuF15wIND1917TG8,059,061,547,750,07
726Md Bashiq ImroseU15IND1624TG8,058,562,546,000,08
87AGMMalla Nooka RajuIND1934AP - VSP8,052,053,542,750,07
920Sarath Chandra KIND1663TG7,564,068,047,250,06
1025Dilip Kumar PeddaIND1638KA7,561,566,045,500,07
1119Bajaj PrakharU15IND1663MP7,561,564,546,500,06
1212Ramana Babu B.IND1794AP - VSP7,558,562,044,500,07
1310Setumadhav YellumahanthiU15IND1843AP7,557,561,043,750,07
1413Vijay Anand M.IND1782TN7,557,062,046,250,05
154Wajih NassirIND2141DL7,066,070,541,250,05
1629Sushanth KamabathulaU13IND1492TG7,060,565,042,000,07
1732Reyan Md.U11IND1486BR7,060,564,041,250,06
1821Adireddy ArjunU11IND1658TG7,060,063,039,750,06
1916Madduri Satya TejeswarIND1675AP - VSP7,059,564,537,000,07
2014Shanmukha PulliIND1765TG7,059,561,540,000,06
2127Nawin M SIND1599TN7,058,063,040,750,06
2231Karthik NU13IND1487AP - VSP7,058,062,536,500,06
2333Sai Hrushikesh SimhdriIND1478AP7,057,562,541,500,06
2418Arjun Sidharth SU15IND1665PN7,056,560,539,750,06
2559Darshan Sasthaa MU13IND1321TN7,056,560,539,500,06
2623Vengatesh Krishnan CU15IND1656TN7,055,559,038,500,07
2751Srikanth MyakalaIND1372TG7,055,058,536,000,07
2845Alluri Bhaskara Ratna Shanmukha ReddyU13IND1409AP7,055,057,036,250,06
2943Nihal SwarnaU13IND1418AP7,054,058,537,500,06
3037Divya Teja PIND1456AP7,048,552,536,000,07

Complete standings

Contact Us