chessbase india logo

Laxman R R wins Liberation Cup Rapid Rating Open 2023

by Shahid Ahmed - 05/01/2024

Five players - GM Laxman R R, IM Sharan Rao, Kartavya Anadkat, IM Nitish Belurkar and IM Sammed Shete scored 7.5/9 at Liberation Cup Rapid Rating Open 2023. Laxman won the tournament due to better tie-breaks. The remaining four were placed second to fifth respectively. Top four remained undefeated. The total prize fund of the tournament was ₹200000. The top three prizes were ₹25000, ₹20000 and ₹15000 along with a trophy each. Laxman drew against both runner-up - Sharan and Kartavya. This was Laxman's sixth overall, third rating tournament triumph in 2023.

Top four score an unbeaten 7.5/9

IM Sharan Rao, GM Laxman R R and Kartavya Anadkat were the three leaders 7/8 heading into the last round. Sharan drew against Kartavya and Raghav Srivathsav V shared the point against Laxman. Laxman became champion, Sharan second and Kartavya third.

Champion - GM Laxman R R 7.5/9

Runner-up - IM Sharan Rao 7.5/9 | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

Second Runner-up - Kartavya Anadkat 7.5/9

Top 3 (L to R): 2nd IM Sharan Rao 7.5/9, 1st GM Laxman R R 7.5/9 and 3rd Kartavya Anadkat 7.5/9

GM Laxman R R scored an unbeaten 7.5/9, drew against both podium finishers

GM Laxman R R lighting up the lamp

Goa's very own IM Nitish Belurkar and GM Laxman R R making the inaugural first moves

The Arbiters' team | Photo: IA Nandhini Saripalli

Nandhini Saripalli became Goa's third overall and first female to achieve the International Arbiter title.


A total of 221 players including a GM and five IMs took part from three countries in the Rapid Rating Open tournament. The two-day nine round Rating tournament was organized by Queens Chess and Cultural Club at St. Michael's Community Centre Taliegao in Panjim, Goa on 18th and 19th December 2023. The time control of the event was 25 minutes + 5 seconds increment per move.

Final standings

Rk.SNo NameTypsexRtgClub/CityPts. TB1  TB2  TB3  TB4  TB5 
GMLaxman R.R.2216ICF7,5556049,0006
FMSharan Rao2154Karnataka7,55559,548,2506
Anadkat Kartavya1938Gujarat7,553,555,544,2506
IMNitish Belurkar2321Goa - Tiswadi7,552,555,544,5006
IMSammed Jaykumar Shete2268Maharashtra7,55153,543,0007
FMRitviz Parab2154Goa7525540,0007
Devesh Anand Naik1741Goa751,552,538,0006
Raghav Srivathsav V1868Telangana7505439,2506
AGMSa Kannan1737Tamil Nadu749,55439,7506
Paarth P Salvi1694Goa749,553,539,0006
Parab Rishikesh1468Goa74950,535,5007
IMKulkarni Vikramaditya2185Maharashtra748,552,539,2506
Aryan Shamrao Raikar1468Goa7485238,0006
Bezstrakhov Dmitry1699Russia6,5525638,0006
Asmita Avijit RayU15Fw1509Goa6,549,55233,7506
Varma Shabdhik1845Karnataka6,54950,533,7506
Aaryavrat Rasiket Naik DesaiU91302Goa6,547,548,531,2506
WCMChopdekar Gunjalw1499Goa - Tiswadi6,5475133,7506
Dhrikshu K Vasant1559Karnataka6,545,549,532,5006
Suhas B. AsnodkarS501572Goa6,544,547,531,5006


Related news:
Ritviz Parab triumphs at 2nd Unity Club Rapid Rating Open 2024

@ 23/05/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Ritviz Parab convincingly clinches Durga Motors Rapid Rating Open 2024

@ 23/02/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Marthandan K U wins Late Shri Vasudeva V Dempo Rating Open 2023

@ 28/11/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Ritviz Parab dominates TTCA Blitz Rating Open 2023

@ 22/11/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Paarth P Salvi dominates Late Lt. Cdr. Gopal Sakharam Sukthankar Memorial Rapid Rating Open 2023

@ 07/11/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Ethan Vaz wins Monginis Rapid Rating Open 2023

@ 30/10/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Devesh Anand Naik dominates Goa State Senior Rating 2023 with a perfect 9/9

@ 16/08/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Nitish Belurkar wins 1st Unity Club Rapid Rating Open 2023

@ 21/05/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Ameya Audi clinches Late Venkatesh and Sumathi Shanbag Memorial 2nd Rapid Rating Open 2023

@ 28/01/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Niraj Saripalli wins Late Lt. Cdr. Gopal Sakharam Sukthankar Memorial All Goa Rapid Rating 2022

@ 05/12/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Kaustuv Kundu conquers 3rd TTCA Rating Open 2022

@ 17/11/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Sairudra Nagvekar wins Rotary All Goa Rapid Rating Open 2022

@ 19/10/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Pillar of strength for Indian chess, Bharat Singh Chauhan recounts his journey

@ 06/07/2019 by Basil Sylvester Pinto (en)
I want to be a GM as soon as possible: Leon Luke Mendonca

@ 02/07/2019 by Basil Sylvester Pinto (en)
I play chess to gain experience and improve my game: lone Afghan player at the 2nd Goa GM 2019

@ 01/07/2019 by Basil Sylvester Pinto (en)
The Goa Chronicles - how Carlsen and Anand helped me shoot for the stars!

@ 01/07/2019 by Tanmay Srinath (en)
Armenians rule 2nd Goa GM Open 2019

@ 30/06/2019 by Basil Sylvester Pinto (en)
अर्मेनिया के सहकयान समवेल बने गोवा इंटरनेशनल के विजेता

@ 30/06/2019 by Niklesh Jain (hi)
10 things that made last day of Goa GM International 2019 special

@ 28/06/2019 by Sagar Shah (en)
No need to travel to Europe if you have events like Goa GM 2019!

@ 25/06/2019 by Sagar Shah (en)
गोवा इंटरनेशनल - 7 भारतीय खिलाड़ियों को मिले नार्म

@ 25/06/2019 by Niklesh Jain (hi)
Age is only a number for Subramanian

@ 24/06/2019 by Basil Sylvester Pinto (en)
गोवा इंटरनेशनल R 8 – रोमांचक होती जंग !

@ 24/06/2019 by Niklesh Jain (hi)
It's Manuel, not Tigran! Petrosyan leads the Goa GM 2019 with 7.0/8

@ 24/06/2019 by Sagar Shah (en)
5 chess tales from Goa!

@ 23/06/2019 by Sagar Shah (en)
गोवा इंटरनेशनल : R-6&7:भारत के इनियान शीर्ष पर पहुंचे

@ 23/06/2019 by Niklesh Jain (hi)
गोवा इंटरनेशनल : आंध्रप्रदेश के गोपाल कार्तिक बने कैटेगरी बी विजेता

@ 22/06/2019 by Nitesh srivastava (hi)
Karthik Gopal wins Goa B 2019, Petrosyan sole leader in A

@ 22/06/2019 by Sagar Shah (en)
गोवा इंटरनेशनल R 5 – अर्मेनिया के पेट्रोसियन मेनुएल नें बनाई बढ़त

@ 22/06/2019 by Niklesh Jain (hi)
Goa GM 2019 Round 4: Train with the grandmasters

@ 21/06/2019 by Sagar Shah (en)
गोवा इंटरनेशनल R4 -चार खिलाड़ी चार अंको पर पहुंचे !

@ 20/06/2019 by Niklesh Jain (hi)
Ratnakaran's unthinkable queen sacrifice lights up Goa!

@ 20/06/2019 by Sagar Shah (en)
गोवा इंटरनेशनल R 2&3 – रत्नाकरण के नाम रहा दिन !

@ 20/06/2019 by Niklesh Jain (hi)
Goa GM 2019 Round 1: Grandeur with a personal touch!

@ 19/06/2019 by Sagar Shah (en)
गोवा इंटरनेशनल R1 -बड़े उलटफेर : 4 ग्रांडमास्टर हारे !

@ 18/06/2019 by Niklesh Jain (hi)
Last 2 days to register for the 2nd Goa GM International 2019

@ 30/05/2019 by ChessBase India (en)
2nd edition of Goa GM International is here with a prize fund of Rs.53 lakh!

@ 09/04/2019 by Sagar Shah (en)
The curious case of Vishrut Parekh

@ 27/01/2019 by Sagar Shah (en)
Pouya Idani wins the 1st Goa GM International 2018

@ 23/10/2018 by Sagar Shah (en)
Goa GM 2018 Round 9: Being overambitious sometimes pays, sometimes doesn't!

@ 20/10/2018 by Sagar Shah (en)
Goa GM 2018 Round 8: An Iranian, an Ukrainian and an Armenian

@ 19/10/2018 by Sagar Shah (en)
गोवा इंटरनेशनल - अंकित गजवा का असाधारण प्रदर्शन

@ 18/10/2018 by Niklesh Jain (hi)
Goa GM 2018 Round 6+7: Madhya Pradesh domination!

@ 18/10/2018 by Sagar Shah (en)
Goa GM 2018 Round 5: Who said GMs and IMs do not blunder?

@ 16/10/2018 by Sagar Shah (en)
Goa GM 2018: What is Troitsky's line?

@ 16/10/2018 by Sagar Shah (en)
गोवा इंटरनेशनल - अनुराग दीपन और स्टेनी को सयुंक्त बढ़त

@ 16/10/2018 by Niklesh Jain (hi)
Goa GM 2018 Round 2+3: 6-year-old prodigy and a 12-year-old veteran!

@ 15/10/2018 by Sagar Shah (en)
Goa GM 2018 Round 1: No less than Batumi!

@ 14/10/2018 by Sagar Shah (en)
Live Games from Goa GM International 2018

@ 13/10/2018 by Sagar Shah (en)

Contact Us