chessbase india logo

Chakravarthi Reddy dominates 5th Holi Cup Rating Open 2023

by Shahid Ahmed - 04/05/2023

IM Chakravarthi Reddy M scored an unbeaten 8.5/9 to win 5th Holi Cup Rating Open 2023. He finished a full point ahead of the competition. Six players - IM Rajesh Vav, FM FT Matta Vinaykumar, Kumar Gaurav, Narayan Iyengar, Harshvardhan Swami and Sham R scored 7.5/9. They were placed second to seventh according to tie-breaks. Third seeded Chakravarthi drew with Rajesh and defeated Matta en route his championship. The total prize fund of the tournament was ₹1501000. The top three prizes were ₹111000, ₹71000 and ₹41000 along with a trophy each respectively. This was Chakravarthi's third consecutive podium finish in the month of April. The five-day nine-round Swiss league rating tournament was organized by Chess in Lakecity. Photo: Chess in Lakecity

Chakravarthi's second rating tournament triumph in April

IM Chakravarthi Reddy was in the sole lead 7.5/8 heading to the last round. He defeated his Telangana statemate Bharat Kumar Reddy Poluri in the final round to become a clear champion. Kumar Gaurav drew with IM Rajesh Vav and Soham Roy lost to FM FT Matta Vinaykumar. Thus, Rajesh and Matta secured second and third place respectively according to the tie-breaks.

Champion - IM Chakravarthi Reddy M 8.5/9 | Photo: Chess in Lakecity

Runner-up - IM Rajesh Vav 7.5/9 | Photo: Aditya Sur Roy

Second Runner-up - FM FT Matta Vinaykumar 7.5/9 | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

Top 3 (L to R standing) - 2nd IM Rajesh Vav, 1st IM Chakravarthi Reddy M and 3rd FM Matta Vinaykumar | Photo: Chess in Lakecity

Chief Guest at the Closing Ceremony was Ms. Mamta Kanwar, Jila Pramukh, Distinguished Guest Mr. Pramod Samar, Sahkarita Prakoshth Pradesh Adhyaksh, Special Guest Mr. Siddhant D’Souza of St. Anthony’s SSS, Udaipur, Mr. Bhanwar Singh Rathore, Mr. Gajpal Singh, Mr. Anil Agrawal, Vice President of Rajasthan Chess Association IA & FI Rajendra Teli, Mr. Tushar Mehta, Chief Patron, Chess in Lakecity and in presence of Vikas Sahu, Organizing Secretary.

IM Chakravarthi Reddy scored an unbeaten 8.5/9 and gained 12.2 Elo rating points

Inauguration Ceremony | Photo: Chess in Lakecity

The tournament was inaugurated by Mrs. T Shubhmangala, IES, CEO Jila Parishad, Sirohi. Standing (L to R) - IA Varun Kumar, Deputy Chief Arbiter, FA NI Neelesh Kumawat, Deputy Chief Arbiter, Mr. Rajeev Bhardwaj, President Chess in Lakecity, Mr. Rajendra Teli, Tournament Director, Mr. William D’Souza, Principal, St. Anthony, Mr. Sanjeev Bhardwaj, Ms. Jessy D’Souza, Mr. Ashish Kothari, Corporator and Chess in Lakecity’s Chief Patron - Mr. Tushar Mehta.

Players in action | Photo: Chess in Lakecity

The tournament hall at Orbit Resort in Udaipur, Rajasthan | Photo: Chess in Lakecity

Thanks to Chess in Lakecity for sharing the photos and info about the tournament.


A total of 356 players including 4 IMs participated from various states across the country and one each from Sri Lanka and USA. The five-day nine-round Swiss league Rating tournament was organized by Chess in Lakecity at Orbit Resort in Udaipur, Rajasthan from 16th to 20th April 2023. The time control for the event was 90 minutes + 30 seconds increment from move no.1.

Final standings

Rk.SNoNameTypsexFEDRtgClub/CityPts. TB1  TB2  TB3  TB4  TB5 
13IMChakravarthi Reddy MIND2278Telangana8,55255,551,7508
22IMRajesh V A VIND2323SCR7,55458,547,7506
35FMMatta Vinay KumarIND2190UBI7,552,55745,0007
47Kumar GauravIND2021Bihar7,5495445,0006
529Narayan IyengarIND1645Tamil Nadu7,5495342,0007
693Harshvardhan SwamiIND1419Rajasthan7,54952,541,7507
749Sham RIND1560Tamil Nadu7,545,549,539,7507
84Bharat Kumar Reddy PoluriIND2197Telangana753,55842,0006
945Pranay AkulaIND1571Telangana7485237,0007
106FMRamakrishna J.IND2053UBI747,55238,2506
1130Sahil BheronIND1644Haryana74650,537,5006
1213Sinha Santosh KumarS50IND1894Gujarat745,550,539,0006
131IMUtsab ChatterjeeIND2338West Bengal745,550,538,0007
1446Samarateja KIND1571Telangana745,55036,7506
1588Vandan Alankar SawaiU13IND1440Delhi743,54734,7506
1612Arun KatariaIND1935Raj-Lakecity6,552,55737,7506
1715Daksh GoyalIND1799Delhi6,55156,540,0005
188Prakash RamIND2016Punjab6,5515434,5006
1914Chavan NameetIND1841Maharashtra6,547,55234,0006
2066Naveen K SIND1523Tamil Nadu6,5475032,7506
2140Aman BalanaIND1579Rajasthan6,546,551,536,5006
2211IMRamnathan BalasubramaniamS50IND1949Tamil Nadu6,546,55135,0006
2339Lakshmi Charan Naidu GIND1580Andhra Pradesh6,546,55134,7505
2483Ramandeep Singh GillIND1449Punjab6,546,550,532,7506
2576Patil Harshal UIND1481Maharashtra6,546,55033,0005
2617Ujjawal BansalIND1771Gujarat6,545,549,535,0005
2727Soham RoyU13IND1647West Bengal6,5454933,7506
2836Sasvatha AwIND1590Tamil Nadu6,5444731,2505
2916Bhoir Paras DilipIND1782Maharashtra6,543,547,533,7505
3033Harminder SinghS50IND1597Delhi6,54245,532,7505
3192Prithvi SharmaIND1428Haryana6,54245,531,2505
3272Gaurav SharmaIND1495Delhi6,5424530,0005
33312Mann AkbariU13IND0Gujarat6,541,544,529,2506
3447Ujaan BhattacharyaIND1568West Bengal6,541,544,527,2506
35101Abhishek ShankarIND1401Uttar Pradesh6,541,54429,0006


Related news:
13-year-old Vatsal Singla clinches 6th Holi Cup Rating Open 2024

@ 11/04/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Yash Bharadia dominates 1st Dhundhadh Cup Rapid Rating Open 2024 with a 100% score

@ 17/02/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Arpit Pandey wins Winter Cup Classical Below 1600 Rating Lakecity Tournament 2023

@ 08/01/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Arvinder Preet Singh wins 8th N L Pandiyar Memorial Rating Open 2023

@ 26/10/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Vrashank Chouhan and Dakshita Kumawat are Rajasthan State Junior Under-19 Open and Girls 2023 Champions

@ 23/08/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Ojasya Saxena dominates Summer Cup Classical Below 1600 Rating Tournament 2023

@ 09/07/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Grandmaster Chess Training Festival at Udaipur by Kingdom of Chess

@ 12/06/2023 by Chandrajeet Rajawat (en)
Harshit Singh wins VKV Rating Open 2023

@ 24/01/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Aman Balana wins Winter Cup Below 1600 Rating Lakecity Tournament 2022

@ 10/01/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Kartavya Anadkat bags the first prize at 7th N L Pandiyar Rating Open 2022

@ 28/10/2022 by Sneha Tiwari (en)
52-year-old Harminder Singh wins Below 1600 Rating at Udaipur

@ 28/08/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Rakesh Kumar Jena victorious at Summer Cup Rating Open 2022

@ 11/07/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Garv Gaur wins Holi Cup Lakecity Rapid Rating Open 2022

@ 06/04/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Dhruv and Dakshita win ARCA State under-19

@ 29/08/2019 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Sonakshi Rathore wins Rajasthan State Senior Open for a record third time

@ 26/08/2019 by Shahid Ahmed (en)

Contact Us