chessbase india logo

Arpit Pandey wins Winter Cup Classical Below 1600 Rating Lakecity Tournament 2023

by Shahid Ahmed - 08/01/2024

Four players - Arpit Pandey, Vedant Rupeshbhai Varasada, Phani Kumari and Ranjith Pratap scored 8/9 each at Winter Cup Below 1600 Rating Tournament 2023. Arpit Pandey became champion due to better tie-breaks. The remaining three secured second to fourth place overall. Arpit and Phani remained undefeated among them. The tournament was organized in memory of Late Advocate Mr. Premchand Mogra. The total prize fund of the tournament was ₹1500000. The top three prizes were ₹111000, ₹71000 and ₹41000 along with a trophy each. A total of 159 prizes and three prizes above ₹100000 were up for grabs. This was Arpit's second tournament victory of 2023, first rating tournament triumph of his career. Photos: IA NI Vikas Sahu/Chess in Lakecity

Arpit's first Rating tournament triumph

Arpit Pandey and Phani Kanuri were the coleaders 7.5/8 going into the last round. They drew their game against each other. Raj Pandya lost to Vedant Rupeshbhai Varsada. Arpit became first, Vedant second and Phani third overall.

Champion - Arpit Pandey 8/9

Second Runner-up - Phani Kanuri 8/9

5th Vaibhav Gautam 7.5/9

The tournament was organized in memory of Late Advocate Premchand Mogra

Tournament banner

Lighting of the lamp

Inaugural moves are being made

Inauguration of the tournament was done by Chief Guest - Mr.Chanchal Mishra, District Judge, Bharat Joshi, President, Bar Association and Rajesh Sharma, Secretary, Bar Association. Other dignitaries present were Advocate Manish Mogra, Organizing Chairman, Mr. Tushar Mehta, Chief Patron, Chess in Lakecity, Mr. Rajeev Bharadwaj, Sanjeev Bharadwaj, President, Chess in Lakecity, IA Rajendra Teli, Chief Arbiter and IA Vikas Sahu, Chess in Lakecity.

Kiyana Parihar was felicitated for winning an individual Gold, Silver and three team Gold medal at Asian Youth Under-8 Girls 2023

Kiyana Parihar with her former coach - IA NI Vikas Sahu of Chess in Lakecity

Trophies for the prize winners

Prizes were distributed by Chief Guest - Mr. Gajpal Singh Rathore, Special Guest - Hari Singh Mogra, Neeraj Nagori, Sudha Nagori, Chief Patron Lakecity - Tushar Mehta, Dhruv Shrimali, former Vice President Mohanlal Sukhadia University - IA Rajendra Teli, Vice President Rajasthan. State Chess Association. Dr. S S Surana and IA Vikas Sahu, Chess in Lakecity were present in the Closing ceremony.

Players in action

The tournament hall at Orbit Resort in Udaipur, Rajasthan

Group photo of prize winners

The organizing team with arbiters

Thanks to the Organizer, IA Vikas Sahu of Chess in Lakecity for sharing photos and information about the tournament.


A total of 536 players from various states across the country and one each from Canada and four from the USA took part in this event. The tournament was organized by Chess in Lakecity from 22nd to 24th December 2023 at Orbit Resort, Udaipur, Rajasthan. The nine-round Swiss league Rating tournament had a time control of 30 minutes + 30 seconds increment.

Final standings

Rk.SNoNameTypsexFEDRtgBdldClub/CityPts. TB1  TB2  TB3  TB4  TB5 
18Pandey, ArpitIND1510Maharashtra8545951,2507
26Vedant, Rupeshbhai VarasadaU13IND1537Gujarat8535750,0008
328Phani, KanuriIND1442Andhra Pradesh850,55447,7507
462Ranjith, PratapIND1368Tamil Nadu8485143,0008
52Mohd, Tabseer AlamIND1596Bihar7,55457,545,7507
687Vaibhav, PariharIND1334Rajasthan7,5495343,2506
775Vaibhav, GautamIND1348Delhi7,5495341,2507
810Dabhi, Sangeet HIND1508Gujarat7,54952,542,7506
99AFMHariom, SolankiIND1509Delhi7,5475142,2507
1018Agastya, SinghIND1476Haryana7,54548,540,2507
1135Harshit, DawarIND1412Madhya Pradesh752,555,540,7506
1211Shaurya, ChaudharyU11IND1505Delhi750,55542,0006
13156Mohammad, Ismail KhadarIND1244Telangana7505440,0007
14110Subhash, Kumar MS50IND1304Telangana748,551,536,5007
1520Abhinav, ChauhanIND1471Delhi74850,538,0006
1668Pandya, RajIND1361Maharashtra7474933,5007
1815Vivek, KaushalS60IND1489Haryana7465036,5007
1976Rohan, KumarIND1345Bihar74649,537,0005
20113Aditya, BhallaIND1300Delhi745,54833,5007
2147AIMAlaukik, SinhaU13IND1383Maharashtra7454937,0007
2272Gupta, Mayur AIND1356Maharashtra7454937,0005
2360Sameer, ChaudharyIND1372Delhi744,54634,5006
2446Rishaan, JainU09IND1385Raj-Lakecity7444532,7506
2551Raj, PrakharIND1379Haryana743,54633,5007
2617Vatsal, MakolIND1478Delhi7434734,5007
2792Abishek, KIND1327Kerala7404433,2506
2833Anil, ShivpuriS60IND1420Delhi7394230,5007
29112Brijbhooshan, DubeyS60IND1302Madhya Pradesh738,54231,0007
30152Gajendra, KumarIND1247Karnataka6,55355,536,7506
3193Arnav, GuptaIND1327Rajasthan6,5505435,0006
3248Mayank, DewanganIND1383Chhattisgarh6,55052,534,0006
3345Mohammed Fasal, V UIND1386Kerala6,5495336,2505
3459Hariharan, GandhiIND1372Tamilnadu6,54952,533,7506
35115Vibhor, RanjanIND1297Delhi6,5485135,5005


Related news:
Saikat Nath wins 3rd Summer Cup Below 1800 Rating Tournament 2024

@ 03/07/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Badrinath wins 1st Jaipur Rating Open 2024

@ 22/06/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
13-year-old Vatsal Singla clinches 6th Holi Cup Rating Open 2024

@ 11/04/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Yash Bharadia dominates 1st Dhundhadh Cup Rapid Rating Open 2024 with a 100% score

@ 17/02/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Arvinder Preet Singh wins 8th N L Pandiyar Memorial Rating Open 2023

@ 26/10/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Vrashank Chouhan and Dakshita Kumawat are Rajasthan State Junior Under-19 Open and Girls 2023 Champions

@ 23/08/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Ojasya Saxena dominates Summer Cup Classical Below 1600 Rating Tournament 2023

@ 09/07/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Grandmaster Chess Training Festival at Udaipur by Kingdom of Chess

@ 12/06/2023 by Chandrajeet Rajawat (en)
Chakravarthi Reddy dominates 5th Holi Cup Rating Open 2023

@ 04/05/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Harshit Singh wins VKV Rating Open 2023

@ 24/01/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Aman Balana wins Winter Cup Below 1600 Rating Lakecity Tournament 2022

@ 10/01/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Kartavya Anadkat bags the first prize at 7th N L Pandiyar Rating Open 2022

@ 28/10/2022 by Sneha Tiwari (en)
52-year-old Harminder Singh wins Below 1600 Rating at Udaipur

@ 28/08/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Rakesh Kumar Jena victorious at Summer Cup Rating Open 2022

@ 11/07/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Garv Gaur wins Holi Cup Lakecity Rapid Rating Open 2022

@ 06/04/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Dhruv and Dakshita win ARCA State under-19

@ 29/08/2019 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Sonakshi Rathore wins Rajasthan State Senior Open for a record third time

@ 26/08/2019 by Shahid Ahmed (en)

Contact Us