chessbase india logo

52-year-old Harminder Singh wins Below 1600 Rating at Udaipur

by Shahid Ahmed - 28/08/2022

52-year-old Harminder Singh scored an unbeaten 8.5/9 to win Below 1600 Rating tournament. He finished a half point ahead of the field. The event was held in memory of Late Mr. Ramesh Chandra Sharma. Four players scored 8/9 each. Vaishant Kumar Gangwani and Abhinav Chauhan were placed second and third according to tie-breaks. Total prize fund of the tournament was ₹1100000. Top three prizes were ₹111000, ₹71000 and ₹41000 along with a trophy each. The tournament was held between 19th and 21st August 2022 at Udaipur, Rajasthan. A staggering 558 players took part from all over the country and two from USA. Photo: IA Deepak Chavan/Chess in Lakecity

558 players take part

283rd seeded 17-year-old Somnath Banerjee scored an impressive 8/9. He secured fifth place and gained a whopping 227.2 Elo rating points in this event. 15-year-old Barot Yug Kandarpbhai and 13-year-old Gouransh Sharma scored 7.5/9 and 7/9 to secure eighth and tenth place respectively. They both are two of the youngest top ten finishers.

Champion - Harminder Singh 8.5/9 | Photo: IA Deepak Chavan/Chess in Lakecity

Harminder Singh winning a tournament at the age of 52 years, remaining unbeaten, is certainly an inspiring feat. He played three rounds per day in all three days.

Harminder Singh scored an unbeaten 8.5/9 and finished a half point ahead of the field

Inaugural moves are being made | Photo: IA Deepak Chavan/Chess in Lakecity

The tournament was inaugurated by Chief Guest Dr. Pradeep Kumawat, Director Alok Sansthan,  Dy.A S P ACB Mr. Heramb Joshi. Other dignitaries present were Mr. Rajiv Bharadwaj, President Chess in Lakecity, Mr.Sanjeev Bardhawaj, and IA FI Rajendra Teli, Chief Arbiter & IA NI Vikas Sahu, Chess In Lakecity.

Ceremonial moves are being made | Photo: IA Deepak Chavan/Chess in Lakecity

All prize winners | Photo: IA Deepak Chavan/Chess in Lakecity

Prizes were distributed by Chief Guest - Divisional Commissioner, Mr. Rajendra Bhat & IPS Kundan Kawaria. Other dignitaries present were Mr. Tushar Mehta,  Mr.Rajiv Bharadwaj, President Chess in Lakecity, Mr. Ashok Bhargav, Mr.Sanjeev Bardhawaj, Dr. Om Sahu, Dr. Anand Gupta and Zimbabwe NRI Vishal Aacharya, IA Rajendra Teli, Chief Arbiter and IA Vikas Sahu, Chess in Lakecity.

The tournament hall at Orbit Resort in Udaipur, Rajasthan| Photo: IA Deepak Chavan/Chess in Lakecity

Thanks to IA Deepak Chavan and IA NI Vikas Sahu, Chess in Lakecity for providing photos and information about the tournament.


A total of 558 players took part from all over the country and two from USA, in this three-day nine round Classical Rating tournament. The event was organized by Chess in Lakecity at Orbit Resort in Udaipur, Rajasthan from 19th to 21st August 2022. The time control of the event was 30 minutes + 30 seconds increment.

Final standings

Rk.SNoNameTypsexGrFEDRtgClub/CityPts. TB1  TB2  TB3  TB4  TB5 
110Harminder SinghIND1557Delhi8,54952,550,7508
211Vaishant Kumar GangwaniIND1556Haryana8505445,5008
340Abhinav ChauhanIND1461Delhi85052,546,2507
429Dhiman MitraIND1484West Bengal847,549,542,5008
5283Somnath BanerjeeIND1121West Bengal84750,545,5007
61Satyam PrakashIND1597Delhi7,550,555,544,0007
7206M Tulasi Ram KumarIND1210Telangana7,5454838,7507
8164Barot Yug KandarpbhaiU15IND1270Gujarat7,543,54636,5007
937Karthikeyan GIND1470Tamilnadu7,5434639,5006
10104Gouransh SharmaU13IND1355Rajasthan752,55641,7506
116Naman PorwalIND1570Rajasthan751,55539,0007
122Vispute MayurIND1597MAHARASHTRA750,55439,2506
1387Ramjan Husen SodhaIND1376Gujarat749,552,537,5007
1432GabbarIND1476Uttar Pradesh74953,540,5007
154Anurag MalikIND1584Haryana74953,540,0006
1613Sahil BheronIND1546Haryana748,553,539,5007
1746Kabil SIND1435Tamilnadu7485237,5006
18106Manan GoyalIND1352Haryana74849,536,5006
1982Ghadge HarshU13IND1381Maharashtra747,55139,0005
20116Parmar Deep VIND1335Gujarat7475136,0007
21270Kakaria HarshU15IND1141Maharashtra7475037,0006
2223Borkhetariya Devarsh MU15IND1508Gujarat7465140,0006
23144Shivam ChaudharyIND1297Uttar pradesh74649,535,2506
2447Mohammad SameedIND1434Uttar Pradesh745,54935,7506
2522Yuvraj SinghIND1512Punjab7454936,5006
26250Shiva GautamIND1166Uttar Pradesh7454835,5007
27167Tirth Jayeshkumar ParmarU13IND1267Gujarat7444734,5006
2861Sharma Tushar BIND1397Maharashtra74446,531,5007
2977Sathishkumar LIND1383Telangana743,54735,5007
30377Ankit Singh BhatiIND0Rajasthan74346,535,5007
3152Parth BelwalU15IND1417Delhi74344,533,7506
3257Shankhadeep MaityIND1402West Bengal742,54432,0006
33423Herin Renishkumar PatelU09IND0Gujarat738,54233,2506
34143Parikh HarikrashnaIND1297Gujarat6,55355,536,7505
3535Dabhi Sangeet HIND1474Gujarat6,5505536,2505


Related news:
Saikat Nath wins 3rd Summer Cup Below 1800 Rating Tournament 2024

@ 03/07/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Badrinath wins 1st Jaipur Rating Open 2024

@ 22/06/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
13-year-old Vatsal Singla clinches 6th Holi Cup Rating Open 2024

@ 11/04/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Yash Bharadia dominates 1st Dhundhadh Cup Rapid Rating Open 2024 with a 100% score

@ 17/02/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Arpit Pandey wins Winter Cup Classical Below 1600 Rating Lakecity Tournament 2023

@ 08/01/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Arvinder Preet Singh wins 8th N L Pandiyar Memorial Rating Open 2023

@ 26/10/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Vrashank Chouhan and Dakshita Kumawat are Rajasthan State Junior Under-19 Open and Girls 2023 Champions

@ 23/08/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Ojasya Saxena dominates Summer Cup Classical Below 1600 Rating Tournament 2023

@ 09/07/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Grandmaster Chess Training Festival at Udaipur by Kingdom of Chess

@ 12/06/2023 by Chandrajeet Rajawat (en)
Chakravarthi Reddy dominates 5th Holi Cup Rating Open 2023

@ 04/05/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Harshit Singh wins VKV Rating Open 2023

@ 24/01/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Aman Balana wins Winter Cup Below 1600 Rating Lakecity Tournament 2022

@ 10/01/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Kartavya Anadkat bags the first prize at 7th N L Pandiyar Rating Open 2022

@ 28/10/2022 by Sneha Tiwari (en)
Rakesh Kumar Jena victorious at Summer Cup Rating Open 2022

@ 11/07/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Garv Gaur wins Holi Cup Lakecity Rapid Rating Open 2022

@ 06/04/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Dhruv and Dakshita win ARCA State under-19

@ 29/08/2019 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Sonakshi Rathore wins Rajasthan State Senior Open for a record third time

@ 26/08/2019 by Shahid Ahmed (en)

Contact Us