chessbase india logo

Tapan Badamundi wins 12th KT Global School All Odisha Rating Open 2024

by Shahid Ahmed - 24/04/2024

Top two seeds Tapan Badamundi and Harshit Ranjan Sahu scored an unbeaten 8.5/9 each at 12th KT Global School All Odisha Rating Open 2024. Tapan won the tournament due to better tie-break score. Top seed, Harshit had to settle for second place. Six players scored 7/9. Out of them, 13-year-old Shrihan Sabat was placed third. Tapan drew against the eventual runner-up, Harshit and defeated the second runner-up, Shrihan. The total prize fund of the tournament was ₹120000. The top three prizes were ₹20000, ₹15000 and ₹10000 along with a trophy each respectively. The five-day nine round Rating Open tournament was organized by and at KT Global School in Khordha, Odisha from 11th to 15th April 2024. This is Tapan's second tournament triumph in 2024. Earlier he won 1st SOA Category B Below 2000 Rating Tournament in February. Photos: IA Jyoti Shankar Nanda

Top two score 8.5/9 and interchange their places

The top seeds of the tournament - Harshit Ranjan Sahu and Tapan Badamundi were the coleaders 7.5/8 with identical tie-breaks heading into the final round. Harshit defeated Shrihan Sabat and Srujan Pranayee Ray lost to Tapan in the final round. Tapan became champion, Harshit second and Shrihan third. The top two rank holders finished a staggering 1.5 points ahead of the rest. Shrihan is also the youngest top ten finisher of the event.

Champion - Tapan Badamundi 8.5/9

Runner-up - Harshit Ranjan Sahu 8.5/9

Second runner-up - Shrihan Sabat 7/9

Top 3: 2nd Harshit Ranjan Sahu 8.5/9, 1st Tapan Badamundi 8.5/9 and 3rd Shrihan Sabat 7/9

Tapan Badamundi scored an unbeaten 8.5/9, finished a half point ahead of others and gained 8.5 Elo rating points

Round 9: Harshit Ranjan Sahu - Shrihan Sabat: 1-0

Players in action

Group photo of the prize winners

Thanks to the Chief Arbiter - IA Jyoti Shankar Nanda for sharing photos.


A total of 195 players took part from various districts all over Odisha in this five-day nine round Rating Open tournament. It was organized by and at KT Global School in Khordha, Odisha from 11th to 15th April 2024. The time control of the event was 90 minutes + 30 seconds increment per move.

Final standings

Rk.SNoNameTypsexFEDRtgIClub/CityPts. TB1  TB2  TB3  TB4  TB5 Krtg+/-
12Badamundi TapanIND1868Gajapati8,55356,552,25082032,6
21Harshit Ranjan SahuIND1890Cuttack8,551,55651,75084057,6
35Shrihan SabatU15IND1752Brahmapur753,55740,00074060
46Sahoo StitaprangyaIND1719Jatani75153,540,00064027,2
59Karjee ManindraIND1693Gajapati75053,536,50072031
620Khillo PurnaIND1626Koraput749,553,540,00074078,8
714Mohapatra PratyushIND1680Bhubaneshwar748,551,537,00064044,4
84Rabindra Kumar OjhaIND1755Cuttack747,550,537,0006202,8
910Srujan Pranayee RayIND1693Bhubaneshwar6,553,556,536,25064053,2
103Khadanga Omm AdityaIND1775Bhubaneshwar6,551,555,539,000540-1,6
1117Suraj Kumar MoharanaIND1636Bhubaneshwar6,5505436,25062022,2
1228Pratyush NayakU15IND1588Cuttack6,5485134,50044072
1330Sattwik SwainU08IND1586Bhubaneshwar6,547,55235,75054064
1426Panda PriyabrataS50IND1589Balangir6,54548,530,75062022,4
1532Srikanth T J V KIND1570Andhra Pradesh6,5444730,75062019,4


Contact Us