chessbase india logo

ChessBase DVDs helped Kaustuv win 1st Hyderabad Open

by Shahid Ahmed - 17/10/2019

Top seed of the tournament Kaustuv Kundu scored an unbeaten 8.0/9 and finished a half point ahead of the pack of five players to win the tournament. Ram Prakash of Punjab scored 7.5/9 and he was placed second due to his better tie-break score and local lad Bharat Kumar Reddy Poluri of Telangana secured the third position. Total 274 players from all over the country participated in this tournament from 1st - 5th October 2019, organized by Prufer Logic and Sphoorthi Chess Academy. The total prize fund ₹310500 was distributed among the prize winners. This was the third consecutive open rating tournament in Hyderabad which makes the City of Pearls a chess destination for all chess players and enthusiasts. Photo: Kaustuv Kundu

Kaustuv becomes unbeaten champion by self-learning

Kaustuv wins his second tournament of the year by scoring an unbeaten 8.0/9 and winning 1st Hyderabad All India Open. His first open rating tournament win of the year was in Goa back in April. Kaustuv played three consecutive tournaments in Hyderabad and he managed to finish in top 10 in all of them.

Kaustuv with his new champion's trophy | Photo: Kaustuv Kundu

Kaustuv Kundu's undefeated 8.0/9 helped him gain 22 Elo rating points

A quick interview with Kaustuv after he finished as the first runner-up in 57th West Bengal State Senior Open. That report will be published soon.

ChessBase DVDs helped Kaustuv win 1st Hyderabad All India Open | Video: Shahid Ahmed

Here are a couple of annotated games by the champion himself at 1st Hyderabad Open 2019

Back in April, Kaustuv won 3rd Unique All India Open at Goa where he was also unbeaten and gained similar Elo rating points

Kaustuv also sent us his best game from 3rd Unique All India Open at Goa against Vinoth Kumar

Total 274 players participated from all over the country. The tournament was organized by Prufer Logic and Sphoorthi Chess Academy from 1st - 5th October 2019 at L B Stadium in Hyderabad.

Final Standings

Rk.SNoNameTypFEDRtgClub/CityPts. TB1  TB2  TB3 Krtg+/-
11Kaustuv KunduIND2318WB8,00,054,059,02022,2
29Prakash RamIND2060PUN7,50,053,058,02015,4
33Bharat Kumar Reddy PoluriIND2312TEL7,50,053,057,5204,0
44Varun VIND2260TEL7,50,052,056,520-9,6
516Shaik Sumer ArshU11IND1789TEL7,50,048,552,54054,0
613Mushini AjayIND1943AP7,50,047,551,52011,0
72IMSai Agni Jeevitesh JIND2312TEL7,00,054,058,010-2,5
85Praveen Prasad P.IND2222TEL7,00,052,056,0207,0
97FMRamakrishna J.IND2090Andhra Bank7,00,051,054,020-7,0
1012Kumar S.IND1950TN7,00,049,052,5203,6
1115Shanmukha PulliIND1823TEL7,00,048,050,0203,0
128Raghav Srivathsav VIND2072TEL7,00,047,552,020-11,0
1314Gajanan Vijay JayadeIND1840MAH7,00,047,548,520-4,4
1418Srinivasa Rao G.V.S55IND1771TEL7,00,046,048,020-1,8
1521Bipin Raj SIND1728TEL7,00,045,049,020-6,4
1630Sreehith Reddy RU13IND1654TEL6,50,053,057,54093,6
1710Hemanth RaamIND1992TN6,50,052,057,0200,4
1817Kari VenuIND1772TEL6,50,050,552,52016,0
1911Ramakrishna PerumallaIND1992TEL6,50,049,553,5206,4
2042Rama Krishna Murthy MalladiIND1513TEL6,50,047,550,04049,2

Complete Standings