chessbase india logo

Akshay Anand wins nurtr DCA Rapid Rating Open 2019

by Shahid Ahmed - 01/01/2020

Akshay Anand scored 8.0/9, remained undefeated to win nurtr DCA Rapid Rating Open. He won ₹11000 cash and a beautiful trophy as a prize. Both Aradhya Garg and FM Aaryan Varshney also finished at 8.0/9, however they were placed second and third respectively according to their tie-break score. Total ₹101000 prize fund was distributed among the prize winners. Total 292 players participated in this two-day open Rapid rating event, organized by Delhi Chess Association at Arya Samaj Bhawan, New Delhi on 21st and 22nd December 2019. A pictorial report of the tournament. Photo: IA Kaviraj Sawant

Three players finish at unbeaten 8.0/9

Akshay Anand, Aradhya Garg and FM Aaryan Varshney scored 8.0/9 at Nurtr-DCA Rapid Rating Open tournament. Akshay Anand was declared champion, Aradhya Garg settled for runner-up and Aaryan Varshney was placed third according to their tie-break score. All three of them remained undefeated.

The podium finishers (L to R) - Runner-up Aradhya Garg,  Champion Akshay Anand and Second Runner-up Aaryan Varshney | Photo: Kaviraj Sawant

Champion Akshay Anand receives a huge trophy and ₹11000 cash prize | Photo: Kaviraj Sawant

Starting out as the tenth seed, Akshay scored 8.0/9 and gained 26 Elo rating points

Reigning National Junior champion Aradhya Garg scored an unbeaten 8.0/9 to finish at second place | Photo: Kaviraj Sawant

FA Aryan Varshney also scored 8.0/9, remained undefeated and secured third position | Photo: Kaviraj Sawant

4th Santu Mondal 7.5/9 | Photo: Kaviraj Sawant

5th Saksham Rautela 7.5/9 | Photo: Kaviraj Sawant

Best Veteran prize winner - 80-year-old Mahabir Parshad Verma scored an impressive 6.5/9 | Photo: Kaviraj Sawant

The tournament attracted 292 players and it was organized by Delhi Chess Association on 21st and 22nd December 2019 at Arya Samaj Bhawan, New Delhi. Total 101000 prize fund was distributed among the prize winners. The prizes were distributed by Deputy Chief Arbiter IA Kaviraj Sawant.

Top three with Arbiters (L to R) - SNA Komal Dahiya, FA Alok Priyadarshi, FA Rupesh Kumar, Aradhya Garg, Akshay Anand, IA Amit Sharma, FM Aaryan Varshney and IA Kaviraj Sawant | Photo: Kaviraj Sawant

Final Standings

Rk.SNoNamesexFEDRtgRtgIPts. TB1  TB2  TB3  TB4  TB5 
110Akshay AnandIND186718678,00,051,555,547,757
26Aradhya GargIND202820288,00,051,056,049,007
315FMAaryan VarshneyIND172717278,00,049,052,545,007
41Santu MondalIND217621767,50,052,556,045,006
531Saksham RautelaIND156815687,50,051,553,541,507
67Sumit GroverIND201820187,50,051,055,044,007
78Srikanth K.IND201320137,50,047,552,041,507
814Rahul LambaIND173617367,50,046,550,540,757
917Yatin KumarIND171117117,00,054,058,543,007
1036AGMSpandan SrivastavaIND151215127,00,052,057,042,507
1138Yashas PessiIND148914897,00,049,053,038,007
1227AGMPrachet SharmaIND162616267,00,048,553,038,506
133Chander PalIND214021407,00,048,051,039,007
1412Ashutosh KumarIND179317937,00,047,550,037,007
1551Khuanna KapoorwIND138113817,00,047,049,536,007
1625Hiridik RajendranIND165916597,00,047,049,535,007
1723Shami Vipin K.IND166416647,00,045,049,038,007
1828Jatinder KapoorIND161416147,00,045,049,036,507
1913Vibhor SharmaIND174717477,00,044,547,535,007
2077AIMYash SrivastavaIND123512357,00,041,543,031,007

Complete standings

Contact Us