chessbase india logo

Neelash Saha dominates 2nd Matrix Cup Rating Open 2024

by Shahid Ahmed - 21/01/2024

IM Neelash Saha scored an unbeaten 8.5/9 to win 2nd Matrix Cup Rating Open 2024. He finished a half point ahead of the competition. Kartavya Anadkat, Om Batra and Suraj Dahiya scored 8/9 each. They secured second, third and fourth place respectively according to tie-breaks. Neelash drew against the eventual runner-up Kartavya and defeated the second runner-up Om Batra. The total prize fund of the tournament was ₹800000. The top three prizes were ₹101000, ₹75000 and ₹50000 along with a trophy each respectively. This is the first tournament Neelash played in 2024 and he won it. Currently, he is sharing the lead with GM Pranav Anand at 1st Bangalore GM 2024. Photos: FM FT FA Prasenjit Dutta/Matrix Chess Academy

Neelash clinches the first tournament he plays in 2024

IM Neelash Saha made a scorching start by winning his first eight games. He went into the final round with a sole lead 8/8. Kartavya Anadkat was the sole player trailing him by a half point at 7.5/8. Neelash drew against Kartavya to finish first, Kartavya secured second place. Om Batra defeated Ashok Gajwani to secure third place.

Champion - IM Neelash Saha 8.5/9

Runner-up - Kartavya Anadkat 8/9

Second Runner-up - Om Batra 8/9

Top 3 (L to R): 2nd Kartavya Anadkat 8/9, 1st IM Neelash Saha 8.5/9 and 3rd Om Batra 8/9

IM Neelash Saha scored an unbeaten 8.5/9, finished a half point ahead of the competition

Vaibhav Gautam scored an impressive 6.5/9 to win the first prize in Best Special Able category

Sonal Rawat, Principal of Bluebells School International, receives a memento from FM FT FA Prasenjit Dutta

Mr. A K Verma, Interim Secretary of All India Chess Federation, Mr. Rajiv Bagga and Mr. Rohit Khullar of DBS Bank Limited, and Mr. Nirmalchandra Rana of Bluebells School gave away the cash prizes and trophies to the winners.

Trophies for the prize winners

A total of 578 players including an IM took part from all over the country and one from USA. The five-day nine round Rating Open tournament was organized by Matrix Chess Academy at Bluebells School International in New Delhi from 3rd to 7th January 2024. The time control of the event was 90 minutes + 30 seconds increment from move no.1.

Final standings

Rk.SNo NameTypsexGrFEDRtgClub/CityPts. TB1  TB2  TB3  TB4  TB5 
IMNeelash, SahaIND2446WB8,555,56056,0008
Anadkat, KartavyaIND2165GUJ8545749,0007
Om, BatraIND1675DEL852,556,548,0008
Suraj, DahiyaIND1803HAR8525647,5008
Ayaan, GargU13IND1680CHD7,55457,546,2506
Pradeep, TiwariIND1809DASCB7,549,55443,7506
Mehul, SondhiU11IND1570DEL7,5495242,2507
Akshat, NegiIND1710DEL7,548,55243,7507
Aarit, KapilU09IND1494DEL7,548,55240,7507
Advik, Singh ChauhanU11IND1306HAR7,5485242,7506
Shaon, ChowdhuryIND1897WB7,545,549,539,2507
Ashok, GajwaniS50IND1853UP75155,541,0006
Arnav, DhamijaIND1475UP75155,540,5007
Aryan, RanjanIND1798DEL750,55539,7506
Vivek, KumarIND1426DEL75052,537,5006
Mahir, TanejaU13IND1598DEL748,55238,5006
Sanyam, SrivastavaU13IND1474UP74852,539,0007
Subramanian, R MIND1828TN747,551,538,7505
Naman, KhandelwalU13IND1268HAR747,55136,0007
Aansh, GuptaIND1991DEL7475238,5007
Priyansh, AroraU13IND1436UP74751,540,0006
Vyom, MalhotraU11IND1455HAR7455039,0007
Tejas, LohaniIND1476ODI74548,534,7506



Official site

Matrix Chess Academy

Related news:
Aronyak Ghosh dominates 3rd Matrix Cup Rating Open 2024

@ 20/04/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Swapnil Dhopade wins 1st Matrix Cup Rating Open 2023

@ 25/10/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
दिल्ली फीडे महिला ग्रां प्री : बीबीसारा की चौंथी जीत

@ 01/04/2023 by Niklesh Jain (hi)
दिल्ली फीडे महिला ग्रां प्री : हम्पी ,हरिका ,वैशाली पर रहेगी नजर

@ 13/03/2023 by Niklesh Jain (hi)
Neelash Saha wins Tata Steel Chess Festival 2022 Rapid Rating Open

@ 15/12/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Neelash Saha and Debashis Das win 2nd G H Raisoni Memorial Rapid and Blitz Rating Open 2021

@ 11/12/2021 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Champions Combat Corona - IM Neelash Saha

@ 28/04/2020 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Akshay Anand wins nurtr DCA Rapid Rating Open 2019

@ 01/01/2020 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
IA Amit Sharma wins C S Sharma Memorial Open Rating 2019

@ 12/12/2019 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Aradhya Garg dominates Nurtr DCA Open Rapid Rating

@ 10/10/2019 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Neelash dominates 30th National under-17 2019

@ 17/07/2019 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Neelash and Samriddhaa win 2nd West Bengal State under-17

@ 01/06/2019 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Prantik and Neelash win 4th West Bengal State Rapid and Blitz 2019

@ 27/04/2019 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
From untitled to IM in six months: Journey of Neelash Saha

@ 26/04/2019 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Delhi GM round 4: Unheralded Neelash Saha leads with a perfect 4.0/4

@ 12/01/2019 by Sagar Shah (en)
Neelash defeats top seed, three-way lead after round 4 in Kathmandu Open 2018

@ 14/04/2018 by Shahid Ahmed (en)

Contact Us