chessbase india logo

14-year-old Sreyas Payyappat wins Johnson Pallippatt Memorial 7th Don Bosco Rating Open 2022

by Shahid Ahmed - 21/01/2023

14-year-old FM Sreyas Payyappat scored an unbeaten 8/9 to win Johnson Pallippatt Memorial 7th Don Bosco Rating Open 2022. He finished a half point ahead of the competition. Despite missing the first round, the top seed of the tournament went on to win the next eight games to win the tournament. Marthandan K U and Jake Shanty scored 7.5/9 each and remained undefeated. They were placed second and third respectively according to tie-breaks. Total prize fund of the tournament was ₹301000. The top three prizes were ₹30000 + trophy, ₹20000 and ₹15000 each. A total of 65 cash prizes and 33 trophies were up for grabs. Photo: IA Peter Joseph M

First Rating Open triumph for Sreyas

FM Sreyas Payyappat has won few tournaments before. However, this was his first Classing Rating Open tournament victory.

Champion - Sreyas Payyappat 8/9 | Photo: IA Peter Joseph M

FM Sreyas Payyappat won eight games in-a-row after missing the first round

Ceremonial first move is being made | Photo: IA Peter Joseph M

The tournament was inaugurated by Thomas Unniyaden, Ex Chief Whip of Kerala Government.  Fr. Emmanuel Vattkunnel, Rector, Don Bosco Irinjalakuda presided over the inaugural ceremony. Ms. Lissy Johnson, Premnazir, Govindankutty M S, International Arbiter, were also present. Peter Joseph M, Secretary, Chess Association Thrissur welcomed the gathering and Shaik Dawood, Convenor of the tournament, expressed the vote of thanks.

The tournament hall at Don Bosco School, Irinjalakuda, Kerala | Photo: IA Peter Joseph M

Fr. Emmanuel Vattakunnel, Rector, Don Bosco, presided over the closing ceremony.  Jose Chittilappilly, President, Muriyad Panchayath distributed the prizes to the prize winners. Ravi Srivastava, Member, Madhya Pradesh Chess Ad-hoc Committee, Sasidharan V, President, Chess Association Thrissur, Peter Joseph, Secretary, Chess Association Thrissur, Dr. Govindankutty, International Arbiter, Ms. Lissy Johnson and Shaik Dawood were also present.


Thanks to Chief Arbiter, IA Peter Joseph for sharing the photos and info about the tournament.


A total of 212 players from various states across the country and two from the USA took part in this event. The tournament was organized by Don Bosco Irinjalakuda and Thrissur Chess Academy 29th December 2022 to 2nd January 2023 at Don Bosco School, Irinjalakuda, Kerala. The nine-round Swiss league Rating tournament had a time control of 30 minutes + 30 seconds increment.

Final standings

Rk.SNoNameFEDRtgPts. TB1  TB2  TB3 
11FMSreyas PayyappatIND214584548,542,00
23Marthandan K UIND19677,5485344,25
323Jake ShantyIND15687,54851,539,75
46Abdulkhader A.IND17537505541,25
57Joy Lazar M.A.IND174675054,541,25
64Sreekumar P.IND194275054,540,75
75Anilkumar O.T.IND1824749,553,540,25
835Shrivastava KushagraIND1461748,55239,25
919Giridhar AIND15807464935,00
1011Raju O AIND1700745,55036,50
1113Abdallah M NistharIND16697444833,50
1234Naveen RamdasIND14646,553,556,534,25
1315Mohammed Tharig SIND16276,551,55739,50
1428Kesavan GIND15316,547,549,530,50
1525AGMRutherford SIND15506,54749,534,00
1652Safal FazilIND13366,54749,531,75
1729Pranav Chandra MohanIND15046,5454933,50
1810Karthik KIND17066,544,54831,75
1933AIMAadik Theophane LeninIND14656,5444632,25
2037Surendiraa A SathishIND14456,538,542,530,00


Related news:
Sandeep Santhosh wins 4th ISC Triumph Cup Below 1800 Rating Tournament 2024

@ 11/07/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
FIDE Arbiter Unni Krishnan dominates 33rd CUSAT Rating Open 2024

@ 26/06/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
13-year-old Goutham Krishna dominates 3rd Chessmii Rapid Rating Open 2024

@ 27/04/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Augustin awesome at Anatoly Karpov Legacy Rating Open 2024

@ 17/04/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Christ College Irinjalakuda, Kerala, pioneers Chess Literacy in Physical Education

@ 07/02/2024 by Peter Joseph M (en)
Nimmy A G becomes Kerala's first Woman International Master

@ 01/12/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Che International Chess Festival 2023: Praggnanandhaa beats Nihal 7.5 - 2.5 in their first-ever Blitz match

@ 23/11/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Che International Chess Festival 2023: Kerala wins against Cuba 42.5 - 37.5

@ 19/11/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
केरल VS क्यूबा - पहले दिन क्यूबा नें 21-19 से आगे

@ 17/11/2023 by Niklesh Jain (hi)
Kerala vs Cuba, Nihal vs Praggnanandhaa set to take place at Che International Chess Festival 2023

@ 15/11/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Yash Kulhari wins 1st Dhoni's Trophy Below 1600 Rating Tournament 2023

@ 11/10/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Shadhursshaan clinches 1st Dhoni's Trophy Rating Open 2023

@ 16/07/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Marthandan wins 32nd CUSAT Rating Open 2023

@ 21/06/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
A visit to God's Own Country

@ 14/06/2023 by Aditya Sur Roy (en)
Arpith S Bijoy wins Cademic Chess Carnival Rapid Rating Open 2023

@ 20/05/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Ratnakaran wins Cademic Chess Carnival - 3rd Cademic Blitz Rating Open 2023

@ 19/05/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Simultaneous Chess Exhibition with Grandmaster S L Narayanan

@ 02/05/2023 by Abhijith M (en)
Cademic Chess Carnival 2023 offers a prize fund of ₹1299999, starts this Saturday 22nd April

@ 18/04/2023 by Smitha Selvi (en)
Ravi Teja wins CCS Chess Festival Blitz Rating Open 2023

@ 15/04/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Jubin Jimmy jubilant at CCS Chess Festival Rapid Rating Open 2023

@ 11/04/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Chakravarthi Reddy dominates CCS Chess Festival Rating Open 2023

@ 07/04/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Satheesh wins Chalakudy Chess Academy Below 1600 Rating Tournament 2023

@ 01/03/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Abhijith triumphs at 2nd ISC Below 1700 Rating Tournament 2022

@ 12/01/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Prasannaa wins 1st ISC Rating Open 2022

@ 08/11/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Mithun Anand V wins 1st Cademic International Rating Open 2022

@ 08/09/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Rakesh Kumar Jena does a hat-trick by clinching BYJU's Starwarz Rating Open 2022

@ 01/09/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Manigandan triumphs at 31st CUSAT Rating Open Chess Tournament 2022

@ 26/06/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Hrithickkesh P R clinches 5th Adith Paulson Memorial Don Bosco Rating Open 2021

@ 14/01/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Chandar Raju clinches 58th Kerala State Senior Open 2021

@ 04/04/2021 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Sooraj shines at Adith Paulson Memorial 4th Don Bosco Open

@ 14/10/2019 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
IM Neelash Saha and Samriddhaa Ghosh win 30th National under-17 2019

@ 09/07/2019 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
S Prasanna wins Ananthapuri Parents 1st Open 2019

@ 13/05/2019 by Rejith LR (en)
S Prasanna wins 4 Queens 2nd FIDE Rated Open 2019

@ 10/05/2019 by Shahid Ahmed (en)

Contact Us