chessbase india logo

Rakesh Kumar Jena does a hat-trick by clinching BYJU's Starwarz Rating Open 2022

by Shahid Ahmed - 01/09/2022

IM Rakesh Kumar Jena won BYJU's Starwarz Rating Open 2022. This was his third consecutive tournament victory. He won the Summer Cup Rating Open on 29th June, Ekagra Rating Open on 17th July and now this event exactly a month after his previous triumph. Despite losing his fifth round game to Dhanush Ragav N S, Rakesh bounced back by winning the next four games. 13-year-old Aswath S and Kaustuv Kundu also scored 8/9. However, Rakesh won the tournament due to better tie-breaks, the remaining two were placed second and third accordingly. Total prize fund of the tournament was ₹1000000. It was the highest ever prize fund at a tournament in Kerala. Top three prizes were ₹105000, ₹75000 and ₹50000 along with a trophy each. Photo: Joby Abraham yt

Top three score 8/9

Reigning MPL 34th National Under-14 Open 2022 champion, John Veny Akkarakaran scored 7/9 to finish ninth. Sunyukta C M N was the highest female finisher scoring 7/9 to secure 12th position.

Champion - IM Rakesh Kumar Jena 8/9 | Photo: Joby Abraham yt

Rakesh Kumar Jena won Ekagra All India Rating Open on 17th July | Photo: Aditya Sur Roy
IM Rakesh Kumar Jena on winning BYJU's Starwarz Rating Open 2022 | Video: Cognizance Academy

Rakesh Kumar Jena had two four-game winning streaks

Runner-up - Aswath S 8/9 | Photo: Joby Abraham yt

Second Runner-up - Kaustuv Kundu 8/9 | Photo: Joby Abraham yt

Inaugural moves are being made | Photo: FA Subha Rakesh
Highlights of the tournament | Video: Joby Abraham

The tournament hall at Lulu Mall in Cochin, Kerala | Photo: FA Subha Rakesh

A total of 405 players including an IM took part from all over the country and two from USA, in this five-day nine round Classical Rating tournament. The event was organized by Cognizance Enterprises Pvt. Ltd. , at Lulu Mall in Cochin, Kerala from 13th to 17th August 2022. The time control of the event was 90 minutes + 30 seconds increment from move no.1.

Final standings

Rk.SNoNameTypsexGrFEDRtgClub/CityPts. TB1  TB2  TB3  TB4  TB5 
12IMRakesh Kumar Jena1067IND2329ORI8525649,5008
26Aswath SU151508IND2101TN851,556,549,0007
31Kaustuv Kundu6462IND2369WB850,554,548,2507
410Nithin Babu2660IND2005KER7,55054,544,0006
519FMAyushh Ravikumar7205IND1928TN7,546,550,541,7507
665Sailesh R4502IND1580TN7,546,54940,2507
73Manigandan S S370TIND2148TN752,55742,5005
855Dharani Kumar M S765TIND1633TN75155,541,0006
917John Veny AkkarakaranU151155IND1930KER750,55540,7506
105AGMVignesh B2248IND2130TN749,554,541,5006
1136Sharnarthi VireshU135846IND1735MAH74952,539,0006
1224Sunyuktha C M NWw1292IND1867TN748,55340,0007
1312Chandar Raju1172IND1980KER(E)74852,539,5006
149Hemanth Raam4534IND2008TN7485239,5006
157Jinan Jomon1032IND2057KER747,55238,2506
1618AGMSa Kannan6421IND1929TN746,55036,7506
1711Marthandan K U1142IND1987KER(E)743,54836,5007
1822Arun R U1206IND1874TN743,547,536,0006
19123Pranav Sai Ram R SU116919IND1444TN74143,532,0006
2086Abhyuday SanthoshU133063IND1517KAR6,551,555,538,0006
214Arpan Das6466IND2138WB6,55155,537,2506
2272Raihaan ZahidU117431IND1550TEL6,550,554,537,7504
2326Dhanush Ragav N S8022IND1819TN6,550,554,537,0005
2440Ayyappan P Santhana Prabu1853IND1690TN6,549,55435,7506
2514Rohan Vijay Shandilya8527IND1970JHA6,54953,536,2506
2656Nihal SwarnaU133692IND1631AP6,5495233,2506
2729Sanjay S Pillai2137IND1802KER6,54852,536,2506
2846Vigneshwaran S4287IND1669TN6,547,551,534,2506
2964Gokulakrishna SU155665IND1585TN6,5475131,7506
3091Aadithya Pradeep3388IND1503KER6,546,548,530,2505


Related news:
13-year-old Goutham Krishna dominates 3rd Chessmii Rapid Rating Open 2024

@ 27/04/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Augustin awesome at Anatoly Karpov Legacy Rating Open 2024

@ 17/04/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Christ College Irinjalakuda, Kerala, pioneers Chess Literacy in Physical Education

@ 07/02/2024 by Peter Joseph M (en)
Nimmy A G becomes Kerala's first Woman International Master

@ 01/12/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Che International Chess Festival 2023: Praggnanandhaa beats Nihal 7.5 - 2.5 in their first-ever Blitz match

@ 23/11/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Che International Chess Festival 2023: Kerala wins against Cuba 42.5 - 37.5

@ 19/11/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
केरल VS क्यूबा - पहले दिन क्यूबा नें 21-19 से आगे

@ 17/11/2023 by Niklesh Jain (hi)
Kerala vs Cuba, Nihal vs Praggnanandhaa set to take place at Che International Chess Festival 2023

@ 15/11/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Yash Kulhari wins 1st Dhoni's Trophy Below 1600 Rating Tournament 2023

@ 11/10/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Shadhursshaan clinches 1st Dhoni's Trophy Rating Open 2023

@ 16/07/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Marthandan wins 32nd CUSAT Rating Open 2023

@ 21/06/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
A visit to God's Own Country

@ 14/06/2023 by Aditya Sur Roy (en)
Arpith S Bijoy wins Cademic Chess Carnival Rapid Rating Open 2023

@ 20/05/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Ratnakaran wins Cademic Chess Carnival - 3rd Cademic Blitz Rating Open 2023

@ 19/05/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Simultaneous Chess Exhibition with Grandmaster S L Narayanan

@ 02/05/2023 by Abhijith M (en)
Cademic Chess Carnival 2023 offers a prize fund of ₹1299999, starts this Saturday 22nd April

@ 18/04/2023 by Smitha Selvi (en)
Ravi Teja wins CCS Chess Festival Blitz Rating Open 2023

@ 15/04/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Jubin Jimmy jubilant at CCS Chess Festival Rapid Rating Open 2023

@ 11/04/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Chakravarthi Reddy dominates CCS Chess Festival Rating Open 2023

@ 07/04/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Satheesh wins Chalakudy Chess Academy Below 1600 Rating Tournament 2023

@ 01/03/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
14-year-old Sreyas Payyappat wins Johnson Pallippatt Memorial 7th Don Bosco Rating Open 2022

@ 21/01/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Abhijith triumphs at 2nd ISC Below 1700 Rating Tournament 2022

@ 12/01/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Prasannaa wins 1st ISC Rating Open 2022

@ 08/11/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Mithun Anand V wins 1st Cademic International Rating Open 2022

@ 08/09/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Manigandan triumphs at 31st CUSAT Rating Open Chess Tournament 2022

@ 26/06/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Hrithickkesh P R clinches 5th Adith Paulson Memorial Don Bosco Rating Open 2021

@ 14/01/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Chandar Raju clinches 58th Kerala State Senior Open 2021

@ 04/04/2021 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Sooraj shines at Adith Paulson Memorial 4th Don Bosco Open

@ 14/10/2019 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
IM Neelash Saha and Samriddhaa Ghosh win 30th National under-17 2019

@ 09/07/2019 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
S Prasanna wins Ananthapuri Parents 1st Open 2019

@ 13/05/2019 by Rejith LR (en)
S Prasanna wins 4 Queens 2nd FIDE Rated Open 2019

@ 10/05/2019 by Shahid Ahmed (en)

Contact Us