chessbase india logo

Indrajeet Mahindrakar dominates 12th Kandy Open 2023

by Shahid Ahmed - 13/10/2023

Indrajeet Mahindrakar scored an unbeaten 10/11 to win 12th Kandy Open 2023. He finished a half point ahead of the field. Pesandu Rashmitha Liyanage (SRI) scored sole 9/11 to secure second place. IM Romesh Weerawardane (SRI) scored 9/11 to secure third place according to tie-breaks. The total prize fund of the tournament was LKR 1555000. The top three prizes in the Classical event were LKR 150000, 100000 and 75000 along with a trophy and medal each. Pesandu scored an unbeaten 9.5/10 to win the Blitz event. Three players scored 9/10 each. Indrajeet, 7-year-old A P Chenitha Sihas Dinsara Karunasena (SRI) and G K Pasindu Nimsara Dharmakeerthi shared second place scoring 9/10 each. This was Indrajeet's second tournament triumph of the year. Photos: 64 Squares International Chess Academy

Indrajeet's second tournament triumph of the year

Indrajeet Mahindrakar won a tournament in Nepal in May this year. The top three prizes in Blitz were LKR 40000, 30000 and 20000 along with a trophy and medal each.

Champion in Classical and Runner-up in Blitz - Indrajeet Mahindrakar 10/11 and 9/10

Runner-up in Classical and Champion in Blitz - Pesandu Rashmitha Liyanage (SRI) 9.5/11 and 9.5/10

Second Runner-up in Classical - IM Romesh Weerawardane (SRI) 9/11

Indrajeet Mahindrakar scored an unbeaten 10/11, gained 15 Elo rating points and finished a half point ahead of the field

Inauguration Ceremony

Lighting of the lamp

Players in action

Tournament Director, CEO and Founder of 64 Squares International Chess Academy - FM FT Rajeendra Kalugampitiya

Waiting area at the venue - Mahinda Rajapaksa Auditorium and NICD, Polgolla in Kandy, Sri Lanka

A total of 734 players including an IM took part from various parts of Sri Lanka and five from India in this six-day eleven-round Swiss league Rating tournament which was organized by 64 Squares International Chess Academy at Mahinda Rajapaksa Auditorium and NICD, Polgolla in Kandy, Sri Lanka from 26th September to 1st October 2023. The time control for the tournament was 90 minutes + 30 seconds increment.

Final standings in Classical

Rk.SNo NameTypsexFEDRtgPts. TB1  TB2  TB3  TB4  TB5 
Mahindrakar, IndrajeetIND199010082,576,579,759
Liyanage, Pesandu RashmithaSRI17619,50777171,509
IMWeerawardane, RomeshSRI18719080,574,565,509
FMAlahakoon, IsuruSRI188290797465,257
Insara, S D NadevU16SRI16559076,571,561,508
Tennakoon, Lisara SamadhithSRI14669075,569,564,258
Kulathilake, S M M PU16SRI15669075,569,563,008
De Silva, OsheenSRI16099075,56963,258
Samaranayake, K P R NSRI180590716560,258
Fonseka, C K DSRI1617906963,561,258
Dandeniya, D D L NU12SRI15318,5079,57362,756
Sivathanujan, SSRI18118,50797360,758
CMJayasundara, P K U MSRI18438,5077,571,559,507
CMAmarasinghe, A A C BSRI17598,5075,57059,257
Lavanga, D BinukaSRI14718,5075,56959,508
Lakshitha, H H SasinduSRI14848,5072,56659,007
Dharmasena, W M S S BU16SRI15548,507266,554,758
Yanakan, PU14SRI13528,5071,565,557,006
Peiris, P Gimshan SathsaraU16SRI12808,5071,565,556,758
Gowsalyan, SSRI14518,5069,564,554,508


A total of 622 players including an IM took part from Sri Lanka and four from India in the one-day Swiss League Blitz Rating tournament held on 29th September 2023. The time contol was 3 minutes + 2 seconds increment from move no.1.

Final standings in Blitz

Rk.SNo NameTypsexFEDRtgPts. TB1  TB2  TB3  TB4  TB5 
Liyanage, Pesandu RashmithaSRI17439,506963,568,259
Mahindrakar, IndrajeetIND201790686263,509
Karunasena, A P Chenitha Sihas DinsaraU09SRI136390676162,509
Dharmakeerthi, G K Pasindu NimsaraSRI17169064,55959,509
Sivathanujan, SSRI17318,506863,558,508
WCMSanudula, K M DahamdiwSRI15568,50686257,758
Dickmadugodage, Ravi PrabathSRI17928,5060,55652,758
Galkotuwa, K A R G W S N B IU15SRI14088,5056,551,550,258
Weerasinghe, C CSRI1731806862,554,008
Samaranayake, Pamok MethdinuU13SRI14798066,560,552,008



Official site

Tournament details

64 Squares International Chess Academy

Related news:
Himal Gusain dominates 11th Dhamso International Rating Open 2024

@ 11/06/2024 by Malith Akalanka (en)
Kumar Gaurav wins 6th SSC Rating Open 2024, Tejaswini Sagar second

@ 26/05/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Nikhil M clinches 2nd Queenstar Rating Open 2024, Indrajeet Mahindrakar second and Swapnil Dhopade third

@ 18/05/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Indrajeet Mahindrakar wins a double at 2nd Super Knights Rating Open 2024

@ 09/05/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Sri Lanka's Premier Chess event 2nd Queenstar Open 2024 starts in a week

@ 20/04/2024 by Himank Ghosh (en)
SKCA invites you to 2nd Super Knights Rating Open 2024 in Sri Lanka

@ 02/04/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Anup Deshmukh wins Jaffna Open 2023, Sekhar Sahu second

@ 05/01/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
JDCA invites you to Jaffna International Chess Championship 2023 in Sri Lanka

@ 19/10/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Swapnil Dhopade dominates 7th Negombo International Chess Festival 2023

@ 20/09/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
The next big thing in Sri Lankan Chess - Thehas Rithmitha

@ 19/06/2023 by Sagar Shah (en)
Kushagra Mohan wins a double at 10th Dhamso International Chess Festival 2023

@ 17/06/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Old Boys' Chess Association of Dharmasoka College invites you to 10th Dhamso International Chess Festival

@ 07/05/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Deepan Chakkravarthy wins 1st Queenstar Rating Open 2023, Raahul V S third

@ 06/05/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Raahul V S wins 1st Queenstar Blitz Rating Open 2023

@ 05/05/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
An all expense paid trip to Sri Lanka for Queens Star International

@ 10/04/2023 by Sachini Ranasinghe (en)
Mihail Nikitenko conquers CFSL Golden Jubilee Open 2022, Thej Kumar second

@ 13/12/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Isuru Alahakoon - Four time Sri Lanka National Champion

@ 17/05/2019 by Marlon Fernando (en)

Contact Us