chessbase india logo

Mihail Nikitenko conquers CFSL Golden Jubilee Open 2022, Thej Kumar second

by Shahid Ahmed - 13/12/2022

GM Mihail Nikitenko scored an unbeaten 8.5/9 and finished two points ahead of the field to win CFSL Golden Jubilee Open 2022. GM Thej Kumar M S scored sole 6.5/9 to secure second place. Four players scored 6/9 including Sri Lanka no.2 FM Ranindu Dilshan Liyanage. Veteran GM Alexei Barsov (UZB) secured third place due to better tie-breaks. The total cash prize fund of the tournament was LKR 3,650,000 (US$ 10000). The top three prizes were $3000 and a trophy, $2000 and $1000 respectively along with a medal each. This was Thej's third podium finish of the year, first in a Classical Rating tournament. Photo: Chess Federation of Sri Lanka

The tournament was financially supported by FIDE Open Aid Project.

Champion - GM Mihail Nikitenko 8.5/9 | Photo: Chess Federation of Sri Lanka

Runner-up - GM Thej Kumar M S 6.5/9 | Photo: Chess Federation of Sri Lanka

Second Runner-up - GM Alexei Barsov (UZB) 6/9 | Photo: Chess Federation of Sri Lanka

Sri Lanka's top two - #2 FM Ranindu Dilshan Liyanage (left) and #1 IM L M S T De Silva | Photo: Chess Federation of Sri Lanka

The eventual top two finishers faced each other in the fourth round where Nikitenko prevailed | Photo: Chess Federation of Sri Lanka

Players in action | Photo: Chess Federation of Sri Lanka

The CFSL Golden Jubilee International Open Chess Championship 2022 tournament flex | Photo: Chess Federation of Sri Lanka

Replay all available games

A total of 37 players including four GMs and an IM took part from six countries across the world. The five-day nine-round Swiss league Rating tournament was organized by Chess Federation of Sri Lanka at Sports Ministry Pavilion, Torrington Square in Colombo, SrI Lanka from 23rd to 27th November 2022. The time control of the tournament was 90 minutes + 30 seconds increment from move no.1.

Final standings

Rk.SNo NamesexFEDRtgPts. TB1  TB2  TB3  TB4 Krtg+/-
GMNikitenko MihailBLR24848,5202346,55101011,4
GMThejkumar M SIND23936,520234751,5010-1,2
GMBarsov AlexeiUZB2327620344852010-2,6
FMLiyanage Ranindu DilshanSRI23316200645,549,5020-2,8
Sivathanujan SSRI17316195343,54702078,6
Liyanapathirana Pasan VindulaSRI1896619304447,502028,2
IMDe Silva L M S TSRI25215,520104852010-19,1
CMAmarasinghe A A C BSRI18505,5191842,54502025
WCMSanudula K M DahamdiwSRI15675,519094244,5040129,2
GMFominyh AlexanderRUS22855,5190343,547,5010-20,4