chessbase india logo

Bangladesh Police does a hat-trick of Premier League triumphs

by Shahid Ahmed - 22/03/2022

Bangladesh Police scored a hat-trick of Bangladesh Premier League wins by winning Golden Jubilee of Independence Premier Division Chess League 2021. The team scored an unbeaten 20.0/22. They have not lost a single match since 2019. This was the first time, among their three consecutive triumphs, they conceded two draws against the remaining podium finishers - runner-up SAIF Sporting Club and second runner-up Bangladesh Biman. Both of them scored 18.0/22 each, however they were placed second and third respectively according to the tie-breaks. Top three teams received Tk 125,000, Tk 75000 and Tk 50000 each respectively. Photo: Bangladesh Chess Federation

Harsha, Leon, Abhimanyu and Aronyak are the top Indian performers

GM Harsha Bharathakoti, GM Leon Luke Mendonca, GM Abhimanyu Puranik and IM Aronyak Ghosh - all four of them scored an unbeaten 9.5/11 each for their respective teams. They gained 30.7, 15.9, 14.1 and 15.7 Elo rating points each respectively. Overall, GM Idani Pouya (IRI) was the top scorer. He scored an unbeaten 10.0/11 and gained 17.6 Elo rating points.

Champion - Bangladesh Police 20.0/22 | Photo: Bangladesh Chess Federation

Champion - Bangladesh Police 20.0/22

GM D Gukesh was the top performer of the team 9.0/11, followed by GM Arjun Erigaisi 8.5/11.

Gukesh - Enamul, Round 9

Position after 22.Rg4

Black sacrificed his bishop 20...Bxe4. It actually accelerated White's attack 21.Rxe4 g5 22.Rg4! Kh7 23.Qg3 Nh5 24.Qf3 f5 25.Bxe6! fxg4 26.Qf5+ and it's over for Black. This win by Gukesh was an important one for the team as it helped the team to draw the match against SAIF Sporting Club in Round 9.

Gukesh scored the sole win for Bangladesh Police against SAIF Sporting Club in Round 9 | Photo: Bangladesh Chess Federation

D Gukesh and Arjun Erigaisi anchored Bangladesh Police to victory

Runner-up - SAIF Sporting Club 18.0/22 | Photo: Bangladesh Chess Federation

GM Idani Pouya was the top scorer 10.0/11 for the team, followed by GM Mikheil Mchedlishvili 7.5/11

Second Runner-up - Bangladesh Biman 18.0/22

Bangladesh Biman also scored 18.0/22. However, due to lower tie-break scores, they had to settle for third position and SAIF Sporting Club was placed second. GM Abhimanyu Puranik was the top scorer for his team 9.5/11. He also gained 14.1 Elo rating points.

Abhimanyu - Gukesh, Round 11

Position after 19...Bg6

19...Bg6 active defense cost Black two pawns, which eventually became the deciding factor.

Second Runner-up - Bangladesh Biman 18.0/22 | Photo: Bangladesh Chess Federation

Abhimanyu Puranik's final round victory ensured third place finish for Bangladesh Biman

Board prize

Board no.1 - GM Niaz Murshed (SAIF Sporting Club) 78.6%

Board no.2 - GM Idani Pouya (SAIF Sporting Club) 90.9%

Board no.3 - GM Abhimanyu Puranik (Bangladesh Biman) 86.4%

Board no.4 - GM Leon Luke Mendonca (Manha's Castle) 86.4%

First division

Sultana Kamal Smirity Pathagar won the Golden Jubilee of Independence 1st Division Chess League 2021. They won all their matches 22.0/22 and finished four points ahead of the field. IM Muthaiah Al was the top scorer for the winning team 10.0/11, followed by IM Harikrishnan A Ra 6.5/10.

IM Muthaiah Al (Sultana Kamal Smirity Pathagar) en route his tenth round victory against Marzouq Chowdhury (Mir Chess Club) | Photo: Bangladesh Chess Federation

Top seed of the 1st Division, Palli Sanchoy Bank scored 18.0/22 to secure second place. IM Dhulipalla Bala Chandra Prasad was the top scorer for his team. He scored an unbeaten 10.0/11.

IM Dhulipalla Bala Chandra Prasad (Palli Sanchoy Bank) had a phenomenal run of four and five game winning streak | Photo: Bangladesh Chess Federation

Dhaka Chess Club secured third position with a score of 16.0/22. 14-year-old Alekhya Mukhopadhyay scored an unbeaten 8.5/10. He gained 151.6 Elo rating points. 16-year-old Sourath Biswas was the second-highest scorer of the team 8.0/10.

Alekhya Mukhopadhyay (left) and Sourath Biswas (top left) anchored Dhaka Chess Club to a third place finish | Photo: Bangladesh Chess Federation

Replay Premier Division Round 5-11 games

There was one round every day starting at 3 p.m. BST (2:30 p.m. IST) from 10th to 20th March 2022, except the second and ninth round which starts at 4 p.m. BST (3:30 p.m. IST). The time control for the tournament was 90 minutes each for 40 moves + 30 minutes till the end, 30 seconds increment each from move no.1. The tournament is taking place at Asia Hotel & Resort, Dhaka, Bangladesh.

Round 11 results

  Sheikh Russel Chess Club
  SAIF Sporting Club
  Bangladesh Biman
  Bangladesh Police
  Manha's Castle
  Shahin Chess Club
  Janata Bank Officer Welfare Society
  Titas Club
  Leonine Chess Club
  Uttara Central Chess Club
  Bangladesh Navy
  Rupali Bank Krira Parisad


Final standings after Round 11

Rk.SNoFED TeamGroupGames  +   =   -  TB1  TB2  TB3  TB4 
Bangladesh Police119202031,50203,0
SAIF Sporting Club118211831,00179,5
Bangladesh Biman118211828,00191,3
Rupali Bank Krira Parisad115241222,50114,3
Shahin Chess Club115241222,00112,0
Manha's Castle114341123,0099,5
Titas Club113441018,00101,8
Uttara Central Chess Club11326821,0066,8
Leonine Chess Club11245819,5085,3
Sheikh Russel Chess Club11236718,0060,8
Bangladesh Navy11146617,0052,5
Janata Bank Officer Welfare Society111010212,5019,5


Replay 1st Division Round 1-11 games

Final standings of 1st Division

Rk.SNoFED TeamGroupGames  +   =   -  TB1  TB2  TB3  TB4 
Sultana Kamal Smirity Pathagar1111002231,00233,0
Palli Sanchoy Bank119021830,50174,0
Dhaka Chess Club117221628,50162,8
Khelagar Daba Sangah, Gopalganj114341122,50104,5
Esoft Arena Chess Club113441021,0097,3
Access Chess11335921,0088,3
Mir Chess Club11254920,0088,5
Sangbadik Shahnoor Khan Smirity Sangsad11335918,5081,3
Sonali Bank Sports & Recreation Club11326820,5085,5
Kasparov Chess Club11236720,0066,8
Basir Memorial Chess Club11317716,5073,5
Agrani Bank Daba Dal11308614,0057,0




Bangladesh Chess Federation

Related news:
Chiranjit Manna wins a double at Chess Track 5th Classical and 31st Blitz Below 2000 Rating 2024

@ 24/06/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Abhay and Priyanshu spearhead team Little Brothers to win CJKS Premier Division League 2024

@ 17/06/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Bangladesh Police regains Bangabandhu Premier League 2024

@ 18/02/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Rounak Pathak wins Elegant 36th Below 1850 Rating Tournament 2023

@ 12/06/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Srija Seshadri and Varshini spearhead Bangladesh Police to clinch Walton 1st Division Women's Chess League

@ 12/04/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Saurabh Choubey wins 3rd Rangpur Rating Open 2023

@ 07/04/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Diya Chowdhury wins Moulvibazar Deputy Commissioner Rating Open 2023

@ 27/03/2023 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
SAIF Sporting Club ends Bangladesh Police's dominant run at Bangladesh Premier League 2022

@ 11/12/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Bangladesh Premier League 2022 R4: Aditya Mittal stuns Sankalp Gupta

@ 14/03/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Bangladesh Premier League 2022 R2: Gukesh's positional prowess

@ 12/03/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Bangladesh Premier League 2022 R1: Harsha Bharathakoti slays the infallible Arjun Erigaisi

@ 11/03/2022 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Bangladesh Police retain their Bangladesh Premier League championship with a 100% score

@ 30/03/2021 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Indian players will return to the board at Bangladesh Premier Chess League

@ 18/03/2021 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Bangladesh's next hope: Fahad Rahman becomes the youngest IM of his country

@ 23/04/2019 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Stuck on checkmate - the sad reality of chess in Bangladesh

@ 18/02/2019 by Anisur Rahman (en)

Contact Us