chessbase india logo

Bangladesh Police regains Bangabandhu Premier League 2024

by Shahid Ahmed - 18/02/2024

Bangladesh Police regained their Bangabandhu Premier Division Chess League title in a dominant fashion. The defending champion, SAIF Sporting Club did not take part in this edition. Bangladesh Police won the tournament with a round to spare. They still defeated Bangladesh Biman in the last round to finish with 19/20, four points ahead of the runners-up teams. Palli Sanchay Bank and Titas Club scored 15/20 each. They were placed second and third respectively according to tie-breaks. IM Mohammad Nubairshah Shaikh earned his final GM-norm. The reigning National Under-17 and Under-15 Girls champion, Mrittika Mallick secured her maiden WIM-norm. Photos: Bangladesh Chess Federation

Nubairshah earns his final GM-norm, maiden WIM-norm for Mrittika

GM Samvel Ter-Sahakyan (ARM) powered his team Bangladesh Police to a victory with a fantastic 9.5/10. GM Abhimanyu Puranik was the next best performer of the team scoring 8.5/10. Abhimanyu became the champion on his 24th birthday. GM Pranav Venkatesh (Bangladesh Biman) scored 9.5/10, followed by IM Harikrishnan A Ra (Leonine Chess Club), IM Mohammad Nubairshah Shaikh (Titas Club) at 8/10 each. Mrittika Maliick (Rupali Bank Krira Parishad) is the highest rating gainer among Indian players. She is adding 136.8 Elo rating points. Pranav, Harikrishnan and Nubairshah gained 3.1, 5.4 and 20.9 Elo rating points.

Champion - Bangladesh Police 19/20

Runner-up - Palli Sanchay Bank 15/20

Second Runner-up - Titas Club 15/20

4th Bangladesh Biman 14/20

Round 11: Bangladesh Biman - Bangladesh Police: 1.5-2.5

GM Samvel Ter Sahakyan (ARM) 9.5/10 is the top performer for Bangladesh Police, followed by GM Abhimanyu Puranik 8.5/10

Bangladesh Police conceded sole draw against the eventual runner-up - Palli Sanchay Bank in the sixth round

IM Mohammad Nubairshah Shaikh receives his final GM-norm certificate

IM Mohammad Nubairshah Shaikh scored an unbeaten 8/10, performed at 2562, earned his third and final GM-norm in nine games and gained 20.9 Elo rating points

The reigning National Under-17 and Under-15 Girls champion, Mrittika Mallick held GM Makim Chigaev (ESP) to a hard-fought draw in Round 10

Mrittika Mallick scored 5.5/10, performed at 2299 to secure her maiden WIM-norm and increase her Elo rating by 136.8 points

Board prize

Board no.1 - GM Enamul Hossain (Palli Sanchay Bank) 2270, 5.5/10

Board no.2 - GM Pranav Venkatesh (Bangladesh Biman) 2562, 9.5/10

Board no.3 - IM Mohammad Nubairshah Shaikh (Titas Club) 2562, 8/10

Board no.4 - GM Samvel Ter-Sahakyan (Palli Sanchoy Bank) 2636, 9.5/10

Reserve Board 1 - Arpan Das (Sheikh Russel Chess Club) 2356, 7.5/10

Reserve Board 2 - CM Avik Sarker  (Sheikh Russel Chess Club) 2005, 2.5/7

Chief Guest, Md. Aminul Islam, NDC National Sports Council Secretary, made the inaugural first move

The tournament hall at Bangladesh Chess Federation Hall Room in Dhaka, Bangladesh

A total of 58 players including 9 GMs and 9 IMs took part from four countries across the world. The eleven team Round-Robin tournament was organized by Bangladesh Chess Federation from 1st to 11th February 2024 at Bangladesh Chess Federation Hall Room in Dhaka, Bangladesh. The time control was 90 minutes/40moves + 30 minutes/end + 30 seconds increment per move starting from move no.1

Replay all games

Round 11 results

  Rupali Bank Krira Parshid
  Janata Bank Officer Welfare Society
  Uttara Central Chess Club
  Palli Sanchay Bank
  Bangladesh Biman
  Bangladesh Police
  Manha's Castle
  Sheikh Russel Chess Club
  Bangladesh Navy
  Titas Club
  Leonine Chess Club


Final standings

Rk.SNo TeamTeamGames  +   =   -  TB1  TB2  TB3  TB4  TB5 
Bangladesh PoliceBangladesh Police1091019320174,378
Palli Sanchay BankPalli Sanchay Bank106311527,50129,367,5
Titas ClubTitas Club107121525013161
Bangladesh BimanBangladesh Biman1062214250117,363,5
Leonine Chess ClubLeonine Chess Club104241020074,349
Bangladesh NavyBangladesh Navy103431019,518543,5
Sheikh Russel Chess ClubSheikh Russel Chess Club103431019,5180,846
Manha's CastleManha's Castle1032581805347
Janata Bank Officer Welfare SocietyJanata Bank Officer Welfa1020848,502527,5
Uttara Central Chess ClubUttara Central Chess Club10037313025,835,5
Rupali Bank Krira ParishadRupali Bank Krira Parshid10028212016,331,5



Bangladesh Chess Federation

Tournament Regulations

Contact Us