chessbase india logo

Diya Chowdhury wins Moulvibazar Deputy Commissioner Rating Open 2023

by Shahid Ahmed - 27/03/2023

Diya Chowdhury scored an unbeaten 5.5/6 to win Moulvibazar Deputy Commissioner Rating Open 2023. She finished a half point ahead of the competition. Tutul Dhar and Golam Mostafa Bhuiyan made 5/6 each. They were placed second and third respectively according to tie-breaks. The total prize fund of the tournament was Tk 40000. The top three prizes were Tk 10000, 7000 and 5000 each respectively. The former National Schools Under-17 Girls champion, Diya has won 13th Manha's Castle Rating Open 2022 in December. She also won a district championship before that. This is her third open tournament triumph in a little over three months, the last two being Classical rated events. Photo: Shahid Ahmed

Diya's second rating open triumph

Diya won her second tournament she took part in Bangladesh this year. In the first event, she scored 5/6, suffered one loss and gained 15.6 Elo rating points. In the second event, she scored an unbeaten 5.5/6 to become champion and gain 57.4 Elo rating points. The teenager won an individual Silver medal on Board no.1 for Adamas University at All India Inter-University Women Chess Championship 2023 last month. She is now the second Indian woman to win an open rating tournament this month, after IM Bhakti Kulkarni won Pilsen Open B 2023.

Champion - Diya Chowdhury 5.5/6

Three Indian participants (L to R) - 1st Diya Chowdhury, M Mosabbir Ali (Organizer), 6th Sneha Halder and 7th Saurabh Choubey | Photo: M Mosabbir Ali

Diya Chowdhury scored an unbeaten 5.5/6 and gained 57.4 Elo rating points

Diya Chowdhury won 13th Manha's Castle Rating Open 2022 in December

A total of 43 players took part in this two-day six-round Swiss league Rating tournament which was organized by District Sports Association of Moulvibazar on 12th and 13th March 2023 at Moulvibazar District Stadium in Bangladesh. The time control for the event was 60 minutes + 30 seconds increment from move no.1.

Final standings

Rk.SNoNameFEDRtgPts. TB1  TB2  TB3 
117Diya, ChowdhuryIND17715,502421,5
27Tutul, DharBAN1938502421,5
34Bhuiyan, Golam MostafaBAN19795021,519,5
43Jabed, Al AzadBAN20574,5023,521
52Md.Abu, HanifBAN20724,502320,5
632Sneha, HalderIND16044,502119
76AFMChoubey, SaurabhIND1956402421,5
811Bikas, Ranjan DasBAN19034022,520
915Asaduzzaman, AhadBAN18224020,518
101FMMohammed Abdul, MalekBAN2100402018


Contact Us