chessbase india logo

60th National Championship 2023 R9: Sethuraman inches closer to a triumph

by Shahid Ahmed - 25/08/2023

GM Sethuraman S P (PSPB) drew his game against IM Aronyak Ghosh (RSPB) in Round 9 of 60th National Chess Championship 2023. Five players are in pursuit at 7.5/9 each. They are - Aronyak, GM Vignesh N R (RSPB), GM Vishnu Prasanna (TN), GM Diptayan Ghosh (WB) and IM Neelash Saha (RSPB). Vignesh brought an end to Iniyan's winning streak. Vishnu handed 12-year-old Vedant Garg (CHD) his first loss of the event. Top seed GM Abhijeet Gupta (PSPB) won against CM Soham Kamotra (J&K) after nine continuous moves of capturing pieces. Sethuraman will face Neelash in the penultimate Round 10. It starts today at 3 p.m. IST. Photos: Siddhant Mahajan

Five in pursuit

The number of decisive and drawn games among top ten boards is 50%. As the race towards the finish line gets close, the games are bound to get exciting. GM Vishnu Prasanna (TN) ended 12-year-old Vedant Garg's (CHD) unbeaten run.

GM Sethuraman S P is still at the top 8/9

IM Aronyak Ghosh (RSPB) drew against the tournament leader

GM Diptayan Ghosh (WB) - IM Neelash Saha (RSPB): 0.5-0.5

Iniyan - Vignesh: 0-1

GM Vignesh N R (2501) has never lost a Classical rated game against GM Iniyan P (2502). That statistic remains unchanged.

Position after 27.Re5?

27.Re5? actually turned things in Black's favor Nd7 28.Rg5 g6 29.Rxa6 Nc5 30.Rc6 Qa7 31.Rxd6 Nd3 32.h4 Re1+ and it's over as the queen loss is inevitable.

GM Vignesh N R (RSPB) brought GM Iniyan P's (TN) winning streak to an end

GM Akash G (TN) and IM Srihari L R (TN) had an exciting draw

Abhijeet - Soham

Position after 18...Nxd4

GM Abhijeet Gupta (PSPB, 2625) and CM Soham Kamotra (J&K, 2381) had an interesting sequence 14.exd5 Nxf4 15.d6 Bxg2 16.Nxf7 Bd5 17.Nxd5 Ne2+ 18.Kg2 Nxd4 19.Nxd8 Nxb3 20.Nxe7+ Rxe7 21.dxe7 Nxc1 22.Rxc1 after nine moves of capturing pieces, White arrived at a winning rook and knight endgame.

GM Abhijeet Gupta (PSPB, pictured) - CM Soham Kamotra (J&K): 1-0

Utkal Ranjan Sahoo (ODI) - GM Surya Sekhar Ganguly (PSPB): 0.5-0.5

IM C R G Krishna (RSPB) - GM Visakh N R (RSPB): 0.5-0.5

GM Deep Sengupta (PSPB) - Bhaavan Kolla (AP): 0.5-0.5

IM Anuj Shrivatri (MP) - FM Dhananjay S (CHAT, pictured): 0.5-0.5

Mandar Pradip Lad (Goa) - IM Mehar Chinna Reddy C H (RSPB): 0.5-0.5

Round 9 in progress

Players spectating Magnus Carlsen - R Praggnanandhaa FIDE World Cup 2023 Final Tie-breaks

A total of 352 players including 18 GMs, 17 IMs and a WGM are taking part in this tournament from various states across the country. The eleven-round Swiss League Rating tournament is taking place at Boxing Hall, Shri Shiv Chhatrapati Sports Complex in Pune, Maharashtra from 16th to 26th August 2023. The time control of the event is 90 minutes for 40 moves followed by 30 minutes with an increment of 30 seconds from move no.1


The total prize fund of the tournament is ₹3000000. The top three prizes are ₹600000, ₹500000 and ₹400000 each.

Replay Round 9 games

Round 9 results

13GMSethuraman, S.P.2591PSPB½ - ½7IMAronyak, Ghosh2538RSPB7
25GMGhosh, Diptayan2568WB7½ - ½7IMNeelash, Saha2435RSPB16
39GMIniyan, P2502TN70 - 1GMVignesh, N R2501RSPB10
414GMAkash, G2456TN½ - ½IMSrihari, L R2407TN22
521GMVishnu, Prasanna. V2411TN1 - 0Vedant, Garg1529CHD253
61GMGupta, Abhijeet2625PSPB61 - 06CMSoham, Kamotra2381J&K26
719IMSidhant, Mohapatra2420RSPB60 - 16GMPuranik, Abhimanyu2611AAI2
827Sahoo, Utkal Ranjan2367ODI6½ - ½6GMGanguly, Surya Shekhar2583PSPB4
923IMKrishna, C R G2405RSPB6½ - ½6GMVisakh, N R2540RSPB6
1059WGMKiran, Manisha Mohanty2044LIC60 - 16GMMitrabha, Guha2505WB8
1111GMDas, Sayantan2489RSPB61 - 06GMLaxman, R.R.2349RSPB28
1212GMSengupta, Deep2474PSPB6½ - ½6Kolla, Bhaavan1727AP161
1315GMDeepan, Chakkravarthy J.2446RSPB61 - 06CMNayak, Rajesh2194ODI41
1418IMAnuj, Shrivatri2420MP6½ - ½6FMDhananjay, S2133CHAT48
1517GMVenkatesh, M.R.2434PSPB1 - 06Om, Nagnath Lamkane1786MAH133
1613IMShyaamnikhil, P2467RSPB1 - 0Vignesh, Advaith Vemula2018TEL62
1767Mahindrakar, Indrajeet1996MAH0 - 1IMNitin, S.2386RSPB24
1875Lad, Mandar Pradip1954GOA½ - ½IMMehar, Chinna Reddy C.H.2384RSPB25
1929GMKarthikeyan, P.2325RSPB1 - 0Ajay, Santhosh Parvathareddy2034UP60
20125Tadam, Dupit1792ARU0 - 1IMUtsab, Chatterjee2322WB30


Standings after Round 9

Rk.SNoNamesexFEDRtgClub/CityPts. TB1  TB2  TB3  TB4  TB5 
13GMSethuraman, S.P.IND2591PSPB852,55749,7507
27IMAronyak, GhoshIND2538RSPB7,5525646,5006
310GMVignesh, N RIND2501RSPB7,55054,543,5007
421GMVishnu, Prasanna. VIND2411TN7,549,55443,7507
55GMGhosh, DiptayanIND2568WB7,5495343,0006
616IMNeelash, SahaIND2435RSPB7,5485141,5006
72GMPuranik, AbhimanyuIND2611AAI7515641,5006
88GMMitrabha, GuhaIND2505WB7505439,2506
99GMIniyan, PIND2502TN749,553,539,5007
101GMGupta, AbhijeetIND2625PSPB74851,537,5007
1115GMDeepan, Chakkravarthy J.IND2446RSPB747,55239,5005
1222IMSrihari, L RIND2407TN747,551,536,7506
1311GMDas, SayantanIND2489RSPB7475238,5007
1414GMAkash, GIND2456TN7465038,7506
1517GMVenkatesh, M.R.IND2434PSPB6,5515537,7505
164GMGanguly, Surya ShekharIND2583PSPB6,55054,538,0004
1712GMSengupta, DeepIND2474PSPB6,5505435,5006
1848FMDhananjay, SIND2133CHAT6,548,55336,5005
19161Kolla, BhaavanIND1727AP6,548,551,534,7505
2013IMShyaamnikhil, PIND2467RSPB6,5485235,5005


Round 10 pairings

116IMNeelash, Saha2435RSPB8GMSethuraman, S.P.2591PSPB3
27IMAronyak, Ghosh2538RSPBGMGhosh, Diptayan2568WB5
310GMVignesh, N R2501RSPBGMVishnu, Prasanna. V2411TN21
411GMDas, Sayantan2489RSPB77GMGupta, Abhijeet2625PSPB1
52GMPuranik, Abhimanyu2611AAI77GMAkash, G2456TN14
68GMMitrabha, Guha2505WB77GMDeepan, Chakkravarthy J.2446RSPB15
722IMSrihari, L R2407TN77GMIniyan, P2502TN9
830IMUtsab, Chatterjee2322WBGMGanguly, Surya Shekhar2583PSPB4
96GMVisakh, N R2540RSPBKolla, Bhaavan1727AP161
1012GMSengupta, Deep2474PSPBIMSharma, Dinesh K.2203LIC37
1135FMWagh, Suyog2221MAHIMShyaamnikhil, P2467RSPB13
1236IMAbhishek, Kelkar2217MAHGMVenkatesh, M.R.2434PSPB17
1352Apoorv, Kamble2082KARIMAnuj, Shrivatri2420MP18
1448FMDhananjay, S2133CHATIMKrishna, C R G2405RSPB23
1524IMNitin, S.2386RSPBSamyak, Dharewa1789WB129
1682Ram, S. Krishnan1941BSNLSahoo, Utkal Ranjan2367ODI27
17253Vedant, Garg1529CHDGMKarthikeyan, P.2325RSPB29
1877Mukund, Hemant Agarwal1950GUJ66IMSidhant, Mohapatra2420RSPB19
1920IMDas, Arghyadip2413RSPB66Bhosale, Shriraj1930MAH87
2080Setumadhav, Yellumahanthi1942AP66IMMehar, Chinna Reddy C.H.2384RSPB25



Tournament Details

Maharashtra Chess Association

Contact Us