chessbase india logo

60th National Championship 2023 R4: Praveen Kumar astonishes Akash

by Shahid Ahmed - 20/08/2023

IM Praveen Kumar C defeated his Tamil Nadu statemate GM Akash G in the fourth round of 60th National Chess Championship 2023. Despite being in control for the better part of the game, Akash loosened his grip in the endgame. It was enough for Praveen to turn things around. IM Nitin S (TN) and CM Soham Kamotra (J&K) held GM Surya Sekhar Ganguly (PSPB) and GM Diptayan Ghosh (WB) to a draw each respectively. Dhananjay (CHAT) continues his good form as he drew against the strong GM Venkatesh M R (PSPB). Shriraj Bhosale (MAH) scored a big win over the veteran, IM D V Prasad (KAR). Praveen is the sole IM among the eight leaders at 4/4. Round 5 starts today at 3 p.m. IST. Photo: Shahid Ahmed

Eight players at 4/4

GM Sethuraman S P (PSPB), GM Iniyan P (TN), GM Vignesh N R (RSPB), GM Abhimanyu Puranik (AAI), GM Sayantan Das (RSPB), IM Praveen Kumar C (TN), GM Mitrabha Guha (WB) and GM Deep Sengupta (PSPB) are the eight players who have won all four of their games so far.

IM Praveen Kumar C (TN) scored a big win over GM Akash G (TN) | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

Akash - Praveen

Position after 41...Rc4

GM Akash G (TN, 2456) was in control for the better part of the game against IM Praveen Kumar C (TN, 2167). In the final moments of the endgame, White opened the floodgates 42.Ne2? The d4-pawn does not need protection. Instead, White needed to go 42.f3 gxf3 runs into 43.Nxd5. The other option 42...Kg6 43.fxg4 Bd3 44.Re1 Rxd4 45.Qb8 leads to some sharp position. The game continued 42...Rc2 43.b4 Rb2 44.Nc3 Bg6 45.Qxf6+ Kxf6 and White's unprotected pawns started dropping and Black went on to win the game.

IM Nitin S (RSPB, pictured) - GM Surya Sekhar Ganguly (PSPB): 0.5-0.5 | Photo: Aditya Sur Roy

CM Soham Kamotra (J&K, pictured) - GM Diptayan Ghosh (WB): 0.5-0.5

D V Prasad - Shriraj

Position after 22.Bf4

When you are playing a stronger titled player, you have to take every opportunity you get. Shriraj Bhosale (MAH, 1930) decided to exchange his queen for two rooks against IM D V Prasad (KAR, 2254). 22...Nxd3 23.Bxc7 Nxc1 24.Nf3? allowed Black to escape his knight with ease Ne2+ 25.Kh1 Nd4 Black eventually went on to win the game.

Shriraj Bhosale (MAH) defeated the legendary, Arjuna Awardee IM D V Prasad (KAR)| Photo: Aditya Sur Roy

Top boards | Photo: Siddhant Mahajan

Round 4 in progress | Photo: Siddhant Mahajan

Some notable results

IM Nitin S (RSPB) - GM Surya Sekhar Ganguly (PSPB): 0.5-0.5

CM Soham Kamotra (J&K) - GM Diptayan Ghosh (WB): 0.5-0.5

GM Akash G (TN) - IM Praveen Kumar C (KAR): 0-1

FM Dhananjay S (CHAT) - GM Venkatesh M R (PSPB): 0.5-0.5

IM Anuj Shrivatri (MP) - Bhaavan Kolla (AP): 0.5-0.5

GM Visakh N R (RSPB) - Indrajeet Mahindrakar (MAH): 0.5-0.5

Ram S Krishnan (BSNL) - IM Mehar Chinna Reddy C H (RSPB): 0.5-0.5

IM D V Prasad (KAR) - Shriraj Bhosale (MAH): 0-1

Manas Gaikwad (MAH) - GM Sriram Jha (LIC): 0.5-0.5

Om Nagnath Lamkane (MAH) - IM Anup Deshmukh (LIC): 1-0


A total of 352 players including 18 GMs, 17 IMs and a WGM are taking part in this tournament from various states across the country. The eleven-round Swiss League Rating tournament is taking place at Boxing Hall, Shri Shiv Chhatrapati Sports Complex in Pune, Maharashtra from 16th to 26th August 2023. The time control of the event is 90 minutes for 40 moves followed by 30 minutes with an increment of 30 seconds from move no.1


The total prize fund of the tournament is ₹3000000. The top three prizes are ₹600000, ₹500000 and ₹400000 each.

Replay Round 4 games

Round 4 results

12GMPuranik, Abhimanyu2611AAI31 - 03IMDas, Arghyadip2413RSPB20PGN
222IMSrihari, L R2407TN30 - 13GMSethuraman, S.P.2591PSPB3PGN
324IMNitin, S.2386RSPB3½ - ½3GMGanguly, Surya Shekhar2583PSPB4PGN
426CMSoham, Kamotra2381J&K3½ - ½3GMGhosh, Diptayan2568WB5PGN
58GMMitrabha, Guha2505WB31 - 03IMKrishna, C R G2405RSPB23PGN
630IMUtsab, Chatterjee2322WB30 - 13GMIniyan, P2502TN9PGN
710GMVignesh, N R2501RSPB31 - 03Sahoo, Utkal Ranjan2367ODI27PGN
840Aakash Sharadchandra, Dalvi2196MAH30 - 13GMDas, Sayantan2489RSPB11PGN
912GMSengupta, Deep2474PSPB31 - 03CMNayak, Rajesh2194ODI41PGN
1014GMAkash, G2456TN30 - 13IMPraveen, Kumar C2167TN43PGN
1148FMDhananjay, S2133CHAT3½ - ½3GMVenkatesh, M.R.2434PSPB17PGN
1218IMAnuj, Shrivatri2420MP3½ - ½3Kolla, Bhaavan1727AP161PGN
136GMVisakh, N R2540RSPB½ - ½Mahindrakar, Indrajeet1996MAH67PGN
1456Sinha, Sudhir Kumar2050BIH0 - 1IMAronyak, Ghosh2538RSPB7PGN
1560Ajay, Santhosh Parvathareddy2034UP0 - 1IMShyaamnikhil, P2467RSPB13PGN
1670Phatak, Aanjaneya1978MAH0 - 1GMDeepan, Chakkravarthy J.2446RSPB15PGN
1716IMNeelash, Saha2435RSPB1 - 0Gawai, Siddhant1973MAH71PGN
1877Mukund, Hemant Agarwal1950GUJ0 - 1GMVishnu, Prasanna. V2411TN21PGN
1982Ram, S. Krishnan1941BSNL½ - ½IMMehar, Chinna Reddy C.H.2384RSPB25PGN
2032IMPrasad, Devaki V2254KAR0 - 1Bhosale, Shriraj1930MAH87PGN


Standings after Round 4

Rk.SNoNamesexFEDRtgClub/CityPts. TB1  TB2  TB3  TB4  TB5 
13GMSethuraman, S.P.IND2591PSPB491111,0004
9GMIniyan, PIND2502TN491111,0004
10GMVignesh, N RIND2501RSPB491111,0004
42GMPuranik, AbhimanyuIND2611AAI48,510,510,5004
511GMDas, SayantanIND2489RSPB48,59,59,5004
643IMPraveen, Kumar CIND2167TN4899,0004
78GMMitrabha, GuhaIND2505WB47,599,0004
812GMSengupta, DeepIND2474PSPB47,58,58,5004
917GMVenkatesh, M.R.IND2434PSPB3,59119,2503
1048FMDhananjay, SIND2133CHAT3,5910,58,7503
87Bhosale, ShrirajIND1930MAH3,5910,58,7503
1216IMNeelash, SahaIND2435RSPB3,59108,2503
134GMGanguly, Surya ShekharIND2583PSPB3,58,510,58,7503
33IMKonguvel, PonnuswamyIND2250PSPB3,58,510,58,7503
1521GMVishnu, Prasanna. VIND2411TN3,5810,59,0003
1618IMAnuj, ShrivatriIND2420MP3,589,58,0003
175GMGhosh, DiptayanIND2568WB3,589,57,750,53
26CMSoham, KamotraIND2381J&K3,589,57,750,53
1936IMAbhishek, KelkarIND2217MAH3,5897,2503
138Nirnay, GargIND1777HAR3,5897,2503


Round 5 pairings

111GMDas, Sayantan2489RSPB44GMPuranik, Abhimanyu2611AAI2
23GMSethuraman, S.P.2591PSPB44GMVignesh, N R2501RSPB10
343IMPraveen, Kumar C2167TN44GMMitrabha, Guha2505WB8
49GMIniyan, P2502TN44GMSengupta, Deep2474PSPB12
54GMGanguly, Surya Shekhar2583PSPBCMSoham, Kamotra2381J&K26
65GMGhosh, Diptayan2568WBIMKonguvel, Ponnuswamy2250PSPB33
77IMAronyak, Ghosh2538RSPBFMWagh, Suyog2221MAH35
813IMShyaamnikhil, P2467RSPBIMAbhishek, Kelkar2217MAH36
915GMDeepan, Chakkravarthy J.2446RSPBFMDhananjay, S2133CHAT48
1055CMNagare, Kaivalya Sandip2071MAHIMNeelash, Saha2435RSPB16
1117GMVenkatesh, M.R.2434PSPBBhosale, Shriraj1930MAH87
12169Bhoopnath,1706BIHIMAnuj, Shrivatri2420MP18
1321GMVishnu, Prasanna. V2411TNNirnay, Garg1777HAR138
14161Kolla, Bhaavan1727APIMNitin, S.2386RSPB24
151GMGupta, Abhijeet2625PSPB33Ram, S. Krishnan1941BSNL82
1691Kartik, Kumar Singh1925MAH33GMVisakh, N R2540RSPB6
1793Umashankar, A1920PUD33GMAkash, G2456TN14
1819IMSidhant, Mohapatra2420RSPB33Mehta, Naitik R1931GUJ86
1920IMDas, Arghyadip2413RSPB33Jani, Kushal R1913GUJ94
20101CMEbenezer, Joseph1866TN33IMSrihari, L R2407TN22



Tournament Details

Maharashtra Chess Association

Contact Us